We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chef Michael's

Chef Michael's
81671 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036
+1 305-664-0640
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 82 Restaurants in Islamorada
Price range: $15 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A warm, inviting dining room with colorful local art adorning the walls. Small, sleek bar serving fine wine and beer. Tropical veranda seating for a lovely alfreso dinner or Sunday brunch. Fresh Local fish and seafood, Prime steak, attentive, friendly service.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This was one of our favorite restaurants in Islamorada - better for when you want a nice, date night. A little pricier than other places, but worth it! The seafood pasta was excellent!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    452
    92
    30
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
America
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food, Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I went to Chef Michael's twice during a fishing trip. The captain said that they would cook our catch so we went. And let me say that the food was amazing. As an appetizer I had the black bean soup. Defiantly not something that you want to miss! When the main course came out (kingfish and tuna the first night, mahi and tuna the next) not only did it look good, but it tasted superb. And that's coming from somebody who is not the biggest lover of seafood. My one complaint is that at the end after we ordered desert, it lagged a little, but they made up for that with an amazing dessert. Good food, good atmosphere, good staff. Defiantly not something to miss. One tip. MAKE A RESERVATION! We saw people getting turned down because the did not have a reservation. So make one or you will not get in.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The place for fresh fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I had the hog fish, wife had the snapper. Both perfectly cooked with interesting preparations. The portions were generous. The service was friendly and efficient. The restaurant serves only beer and wine and while the wine list is small it is well chosen with a number of interesting wines at fair prices. We shall certainly return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice Dining Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

During a recent visit to Islamorada, enjoyed dinner at Chef Michaels (they are only open for dinner) Very nice setting - outside deck seating is nice as it is off to the side and quiet. Small inside about 7 tables, but dining at the bar area too. Due to a last minute reservation, we ate at the bar. Bartender very friendly and knowledgeable on wines - gave us several wine samples before we decided on a bottle, which turned out to be a new wine that we probably would not have otherwise tried. A nice touch. Food was excellent - fresh fish available in their own special preparation - was delicious. Served with a cuban/spanish style rice - mild and flavorful. Salads are large and suggest splitting it if you are having an entree as well. Friday and Saturday nights there is a cowboy ribeye for steak lovers, HUGE and delicious. Dessert was carrot cake - fantastic. If you want more of a romantic setting, definitely request an outside table!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We had the stone crab claws (pricey) and then I had yellowtail snapper and my wife had the hogfish. We tasted each other's dishes and agreed my choice was better. It was perfect with the caper sauce. Service was friendly, although I would prefer waiters NOT to smoke in between serving, as they reek of smoke afterwards. Hence not quite perfect. Not cheap at $150 for 2 claws, 2 fish dishes, a bottle of wine and 1 espresso, before tip.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef Michael's also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Chef Michael's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chef Michael's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.