We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chef Michael's

Chef Michael's
81671 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036
305-664-0640
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #2 of 78 restaurants in Islamorada
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A warm, inviting dining room with colorful local art adorning the walls. Small, sleek bar serving fine wine and beer. Tropical veranda seating for a lovely alfreso dinner or Sunday brunch.
Key Largo, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Special Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I went to Michaels for our 5th anniversary and not only had an excellent meal and great service from Shell, but their special touch made it even more special. When I made the reservation, I was asked whether I wanted to do something special and I inquired about their Champagne by the half bottle and a specific one. Unfortunately, they did not carry that particular one, but when we arrived found it in a wine bucket by our table. Chef Michael had arranged to have it brought in just for us!! That's WOW factor at it's best!! Will definitely be telling everyone I know and will return again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    336
    72
    26
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Islamorada, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sunday Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Downtown Islamorada has Chef Michael's. You"ll leave a better person for your experience with their cuisine Absolutely amazing. I know I need to go back soon. Do yourself , your family and friends a lovely jester and eat at Chef Michael's. Like me you'll want more.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“I Had to Return for More”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Okay I don't know if Cafe Michael is the best restaurant on Islamorada, but I can see it is very popular with the wealthier locals. Friendly service and if you prefer sitting at the bar for good conversation than Michael's is your place.

I would only say that I wish the entrees were served with something more than a large portion of rice and a few veggies. The fish was fresh and prepared well but the flavors lacked the wow factor. I would like to see more interesting desserts.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This was my favorite restaurant (out of 8 on Islamorada) with great food, cozy atmosphere, great service!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metamora, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The Best Fish We've Ever Eaten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

After eloping with my wife in Key Largo, we needed a place to enjoy our wedding night dinner. Our photographer recommended Chef Michael's very highly and I'm happy to report that our food and experience was excellent.

Before arriving in The Keys, I made reservations and let the staff know that this would be our wedding dinner. When we got to the restaurant we were immediately seated and brought two complimentary glasses of champagne to celebrate our nuptials. Our midwestern taste buds had never experienced hogfish before, but since Chef Michael's seems to specialize in this particular type of fish, my bride and I decided to try it two different ways. We ordered the Juliette and the Ambassador style of hogfish and started with a fried lionfish appetizer. The appetizer and the bread were fantastic. The breading of the fish was crunchy and hot while the bread was crusty on the outside and tender on the inside. I wisely turned down the offer of additional bread which I could have eaten all night long, because the generous portions of fish to come were prepared expertly and with the care and attention to detail I would expect from the finest restaurants.

Do yourself a favor and seek this place out. You will love the food and the service. When we return to The Keys I guarantee you we will be back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef Michael's also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Chef Michael's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chef Michael's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.