We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very, Very, Nice ! Met our needs and more,didn't want to leave but my wife made me come home !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Islander Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Islander Resort to your Saves list
Islander Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Mile Marker 82.1 Oceanfront, P.O. BOX 766, Islamorada, FL 33036   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Islamorada
Shoreham, New York
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Very, Very, Nice ! Met our needs and more,didn't want to leave but my wife made me come home !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

As first time visitors to the Keys my wife and I Loved Islamorada and the Islander Resort the most. We just returned home from an extended vacation (celebrating my wife's retirement). I researched on-line and the Islander caught my eye. Never,being interested in reviews I ignored all to make my own decisions. As I write for both of us we both already have agreed that we will definitely be coming back with the rest of the family next year. Ellen and Krissy, couldn't have been nicer for making reservations with and room assignments. We found all staff friendly and helpful for that matter. We actually stayed here twice, first we had a garden view with views of the ocean for four days,then again for another three (this time directly on the ocean and next to the pool)after returning from Key West. We found that both times our rooms were very clean. All the appliances in the mini kitchen worked in fact it looked as if the toasters were ever used. The rooms were bright and comfortable the lanais were also an extra perk we didn't expect. Both pools (1salt,1fresh walk in,and hot tub)were meticulously maintained,so were the grounds. The food and the drinks at the poolside Tiki bar and restaurant were fantastic, Andy was particularly helpful and entertaining. The Islander is centrally located to other sites,shopping and entertainment. I can understand that this Resort isn't to everybody's liking,but if you can get by with a simple, layed-back, No-worry life then this Resort is for you and your family. If any improvement was needed I would suggest firmer bedding (for us old timers) other then that we can't express how much we enjoyed our stay on Islamorada and at the Islander Resort. Can't wait to see them again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    306
    94
    42
    42
See reviews for
263
328
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

The rooms aren't plush but they have all you need and the bed is comfortable. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The pools are fab but don't count on a sandy beach. We went out snorkelling with Dennis (the resident watersports contractor) and he was the best!

The Tikki bar is relaxed and serves good food. We were glad we chose the Islander and would happily return one day. Islamorada is in my opinion the best place in the keys to stay, just enough there but not too much!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

My wife, 4-year old son and I stayed in a king bed room a stone's throw from the Bluewater Tiki Bar. Upon arrival we were immediately impressed by all the amenities including a quite large lanai, a shuffleboard court right behind our room, free Wi-Fi, and our proximity to the pools. On our first night, we literally had the Bluewater to ourselves enjoying drinks and watching the wind blow through the tall coconut tree branches. Don't be misled by the description "tiki bar". The menu at the Bluewater is rather diverse and I believe the one online has not been updated. Chef Paul did a great job as our meals were delicious.

The grounds staff does an excellent job keeping the large open areas neatly raked and free of debris. However, it just so happened that Tropical Storm Nicole paid a visit on our second day which flooded the parking lot and blew up a lot of sea grass up unto the boat launch and beach front. It was cleaned up immediately. We did some snorkeling around the Resort's pier and saw beautiful schools of fish and even a small lobster. The Tiki Bar staff does enforce a rule of not allowing outside drinks around the pools, but hey, they sell beer and make terrific drinks so it's really not worth complaining about even from guests like us who brought a packed cooler. Oh, and be sure to let your kids pet "Tiger" the gentle resident cat who rules over the lobby area.

The cons, and there are not many, would include the tile floor needing a bit better cleaning in our room. Also, there really isn't much of a gym. It's affectionately referred to as the "sweat box" so don't count on being able to do your routine without some significant modification. There is a quiet, shaded, 2 lane road that runs between the Resort and US 1 that is good for a morning jog. That takes me to the continental breakfast. Though it does offer plain Cheerios, bananas and skim milk, there's little else for diet conscious guests. That's all for the negs.

We really, really liked the Islander and although the Lorelei across US 1 is only a shell of its former self (it was never the same after FK sold it), there's plenty to do with kids off property a short right ride away including feeding the tarpon at Robbies, Theater of the Sea, the Green Turtle restaurant for breakfast, the Lazy Days restaurant and, of course, Key West. We were delightfully surprised by our experience and will be back!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

My husband and I just returned from 5 nights at the Islander. We were totally happy with this hotel! We got to the hotel early because we were just coming from Key Largo but we stopped hoping we would be lucky enough that they would let us check in early. The clerk was very nice and gave us our room! Check-in was quick and accurate.
We had a courtyard view room with a full kitchen, screened in porch w/table and chairs and a patio with lounge chairs. The room was spacious with a comfortable king size bed, table and chairs, plenty of drawer space and an in-room safe. Parking was right outside our door. There were charcoal grills scattered throughout the property along with picnic tables and hammocks. One night we grilled out steaks and made baked potatoes after a trip to the grocery store for supplies.
The beach was nice, long and wide, with 4 steps down to the ocean where they cleared out an area of sea grass for swimming. There were a few palm trees for shade. The pool and hot tub area was very nice with plenty of lounge chairs (extra $ to rent an umbrella). They had a bar/restaurant by the pool which was next to the beach.
They had books to borrow in the lobby, free breakfast every morning til 10am and Tiger, the hotel tabby cat, who was very sweet. Employees were kind and courteous. The hotel grounds and room were well maintained. Our room was straightened and restocked with towels each day.
We liked the location of this hotel because there were shops and restaurants within walking distance as well as the Hurricane Monument.
I chose this hotel for the large beach and I know I made a good choice after seeing some of the other "beaches". My only complaint is it is on the wrong side of the island for the sunset! We will stay here again next time we're in Islamorada.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

After much online research, we chose The Islander as our 'home base' to take our kids (9& 11) on their long-overdue and much-anticipated first visit to the Keys. And it was easily the best choice we made for the entire week!

When we missed out on an awesome Expedia rate and the next available rate was *double* what we'd seen, I called the hotel in a panic. Connie helped me out with a great rate and got our 5-day vacation back on track. Upon arrival, The Islander was everything we'd expected ... and more!

The room was "courtyard view" and about as far back in the resort as you could get, but we could see the ocean from our patio and from the hammock shared between our four connected units. The room itself was comfortable and clean with plenty of storage space for our clothes and suitcases. The full-size fridge was a nice surprise, and the stove/oven/microwave were great to have for reheating left-overs to snack on during the day. The air conditioner was a little noisy, but it worked wonderfully and after a couple of nights we had found a setting that was less distracting. In all, we rested well each night.

Two pools and the water recreation center were plenty to keep us busy on site. The kids loved the aqua bike rental, and enjoyed just snorkeling around the beach area and dock there at the resort. (The guys at the water rec center were awesome with tips for safety AND fun.) Food and drink at the tiki bar were no more expensive than any other casual restaurant in the area, and the jacuzzi was a nice 'getaway' from the busy-ness of the pool sometimes. The grounds were always clean and tidy, and the staff was nothing short of welcoming, friendly and accommodating.

The continental breakfast off the lobby was always pleasant, with hot coffee, tea and cocoa, apple/orange juice, instant oatmeal, five dry cereals, skim and 2% milk, bagels and waffles to toast, butter/jelly/cream cheese, and the requisite fruit and pastries -- all fresh and nice.

Suggestions for evening meals were always winners, with food and atmosphere for the whole family to enjoy -- and of course sunsets that stopped even the chattiest of 9YO girls in her tracks night after night.

Note on evening activities: We were caught off-guard by the mosquitoes the first night out! Loaded up on Off! Deep Woods the morning after we arrived and had no problems the rest of week. Most dining locations had most (if not all!) outdoor seating. Everyone smelled like bug repellent.

The Islander isn't the fanciest place you'll ever stay, and it's oceanside you need to cross the road for 'the big' sunsets, but it was a lovely resort operated by a wonderful family and staff, and we can't wait for the chance to return!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

The Islander Resort is a hidden gem. We were very concerned about staying in the keys and getting a good value for out money. Look no further...The Islander Resort is in a great location with 2 nice pools, a bar and a restaurant. The one pool is salt water and the other is chlorine.
The rooms are kept immaculate and each have a whole kitchenette. They also have a screened in porch. The whole room was newer and was cleaned daily.
We had an issue with the air conditioner in our room-at 7:15 workers came in and at 7:30 they were done and had installed a whole new unit!!! I can't get that kind of service anywhere even at home.


The continental breakfast was a real money saver. We are a family of five and this was included in the price of the room.

Go to Ma's for Key Lime Pie-I think one of the best on the island.

Rember there are no real beaches on the keys. Don't expect soft sand. The beach is very nice and the ocean is beautiful but has a lot of seagrass in it.

The keys are for relaxing, snorkeling,diving and fishing. If this is what you are looking for The Islander is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010 via mobile

Nice room. Great pools. Tiki bar is awesome. Wasn't at the place much since we were fishing most the time we stayed. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Islander Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Resort

Address: Mile Marker 82.1 Oceanfront, P.O. BOX 766, Islamorada, FL 33036
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Islander Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Islander Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Islamorada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Islander Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.