We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stay...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Islander Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Islander Resort to your Saves list
Islander Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Mile Marker 82.1 Oceanfront, P.O. BOX 766, Islamorada, FL 33036   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Islamorada
Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A nice stay...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were upgraded to a beach side unit for our 33 wedding anniversary, it was very nice of them! The staff is outstanding and very accomodating, making a reservation was a bit of a challenge, I could not understand the gentlemen on the other line (India call center) after two attemps I hung up and booked on line with Expedia, other than that it was a great trip!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    295
    91
    42
    41
See reviews for
257
318
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

WE WOULD definately stay here again! Perfect Location! We took our 15 yr. old son and had a great time! Awesome HUGE beach area, not the best for swimming, but there are plenty of other places to swim in the ocean around the area. We took a day trip to Key West, which is 77 miles South, Robbies is awesome and the Lorilie right across the street is an inexpensive place to eat, with good food! Tower Of Pizza also delivers to the Islander and their food was good too!

Room Tip: Don't stay by the pool unless you love to hear screaming children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We came for a family reunion and had a GREAT time. The front desk staff of Krissy and Trisch were a pleasure to see every morning with the complimentary breakfast. Anything you need, they are there with a smile on their face ready to help. The Tiki bar and restaurant was a big surprise. We expected a place to get a drink and have some OK food, but it was much better than that. Andy (The head chef) is fantastic and had great specials every night. We caught enough yellow tail snapper for two night’s meals and he made it four different ways that were all fantastic. (The sides were great as well) Vern the bartender was super and more than willing to accommodate special requests. He seemed to read your mind and just did things before you even knew you needed them; but of course a few minutes later you would ask and he was already on it!! We ate at many other restaurants while we were there, but the food at the Tiki bar was as good as anywhere else we ate. (We just like variety, so of course we would mix it up)
Be sure and check out the water sports on site for snorkeling,jet skis, large paddle boats and sailing. David & Joe were so good, we ended up jet skiing four times and that's only because we ran out of time. We could have gone several more times, since they are ready to mix up your trips and never made you feel you were a bother. The snorkeling trip to the reef's were a big hit with lot's of beautiful coral fish and they did not hurry you at all. My young grandson went out once and then wanted to go right back out. David made it all happen and watched over him, even snorkeled with him!!! These guys are just great!!! The swimming pools were clean and overall the staff were always friendly.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are much better and have a cool breeze on the patio all the time. The rooms in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had our wedding here on June 20th. The location is gorgeous. Upon getting here we wished that we would have made reservations to stay here (we stayed at a home rental). The property is awesome! Big pool area, great bar and nice beach area for the kids! The food at our reception was out of this world! Everyone was great and accommodating. I would not change a thing about our day, especially not the location! Thank you to Karly and Corie!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islander123, Director of Sales at Islander Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Your wedding was just perfect ! We're so happy you spent your special day with us. Hope to see you back for your anniversary celebration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Spent two nights for a short vacation the resort was immaculate,the onsite tiki bar and dining were fantastic and the rooms were great. There was plenty to keep the kids buzy and it was close to everything that we like to do in Islamorada.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islander123, Director of Sales at Islander Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Your post is so nice - thank you very much ! Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandjunction
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

All suites have full kitchens, Includes breakfast, Fishing off the Pier without a license, 2 pools. Very clean, huge bathroom and master bedroom and storage galor. Grills outside for charcoal, On the beach. However there is no real, sandy beach. Its great to walk on cause its hard sand. No digging in the sand here. For that subject, we really found no great, sandy beaches in all the Keys. Johnpenny camp state park came close. The Tiki bars food and drinks are outrageous prices. Staff was great and always helpful. Very clean units. Sunset across street was incredible at the Lorilei. . Burgerking within walking distance to save food bill. Very nice 8 day stay. Fly to Miami and rent a car to save money. Expedia flew us into Keywest and we had to drive 81 miles North to the hotel. Didn't make alot of sense to us. I would stay there again but don't plan to return to the Keys again because of beaches. Fishing capital of the world.

Room Tip: All the beach suites were great!!! We stayed in 524 on the end of the 4 plex
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Hello
Came down to Islamorada for a quick little stay in The Keys. Drove down from central Florida and it took about five hours to get there. Of course once you hit Florida City and get on The Overseas Highway heading south you don't really want to rush because there is a lot to see. Before you head to the keys do yourself a favor and look up some of the history down there because there is a lot of it ! Makes the trip more fun ! Heading south from Fl City the mile markers will start at 128 and count down all the way to Key West. FYI. People use the mile markers as reference for directions and tell you ocean side or bay side to make it easy. The Islander is at mile marker 82 Ocean Side. It is a Keys Resort that's been around a long time and it sets on a very large piece of land. The property is covered in natural plants and tress and has plenty of sun or shade, which ever want and when you want it. It has and amazing view of the ocean with its Turquoise green water out to the reefs and deep blue beyond the reefs, and also you can see the beautiful 128' tall lighthouse a few mikes offshore marking the reef. It has two pools which both were kept very clean at all times. The grounds that I explored also were kept very clean. Outside every rooms back porch was a very comfy lounge recliner in the shade and also placed everywhere were purple wide strong large hammocks for your relaxation. I also noticed many charcoal grills place all over for
Your convenience. Then every room had a large screened in back porch with a ceiling fan and patio tables and chairs for all kinds of fun. Inside my room I found it to be very roomy with a full kitchen including large fridge and oven and stove and dining room furniture. My bed was so
Comfortable with many soft pillows and a perfect mattress ! The bathroom was all modern and redone but yet still feeling like you are staying on am island. I always felt safe day and night. Plenty of ice at the ice machines and the free breakfast in the lobby was just right. All the employees I ran into were very friendly and helpful. So as you can see I had a nice time ! People my last advice is when visiting somewhere like the keys don't stay in a hotel that feels like you could be anywhere once you enter it. You know like your at the brand name hotel by the mall by your house. Stay in a place that is the very essence of where you are and came to vacation ! The Islander Resort to me is the perfect Florida Keys Experience ! Do yourself a favor and check it out. Till next time. Enjoy life ! LWJohnny

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Islander Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Resort

Address: Mile Marker 82.1 Oceanfront, P.O. BOX 766, Islamorada, FL 33036
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Islander Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Islander Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Islamorada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Islander Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.