We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem for an affordable price.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Islander Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Islander Resort to your Saves list
Islander Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Mile Marker 82.1 Oceanfront, P.O. BOX 766, Islamorada, FL 33036   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Islamorada
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem for an affordable price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I can remember the first year my husband & I went to Islamorada, we kept seeing this very retro looking sign for the Islander Resort from the road, & we passed by it several times throughout our stay. We kept making fun of how 70s looking the sign was, saying how the place was probably a total dump that hadn't been redone in decades. So one day to amuse ourselves, we decided to pull in to take a look. All you can see from the road is the sign, so we thought we'd be in for a good laugh as soon as we went back into the resort. Well, we were sure wrong and in for a big surprise when we saw how beautiful this resort is. Set on a beautiful property, the hotel rooms each have their own screened in porches, that lead to the beautiful yard I guess I'll call it, which is a large area with hammocks and beautiful foliage. You keep going, & it takes you down to the pool/beach/bar area, which is just amazing. The rooms are nice, the prices are affordable. We actually made the decision to pack up our stuff & change hotels! Since then, it has been kind of our place, & we go back again and again. It really is a great resort for an affordable price-you won't be sorry if you choose the Islander!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    295
    91
    42
    41
See reviews for
256
317
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Billerica, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed at the Islander for 2 nights, paying much more than we usually would $558. The place was clean, but my biggest complaint was the pool area. First there was no shade, but there was an option to rent an umbrella for $10 half day or $15 for a full. I would not expect that I would have to pay for an umbrella. There was no food or drinks allowed in the pool area at all. People all around were sneaking water & snacks in their bags. We had a diet coke & were told to get rid of it or stand outside the fence & drink it. It was ridiculas for grown people to be sneaking snacks. One woman had a snack size bag of chips & was spoken to. It was explained they wanted us to buy everything from them. A small glass of coke was $6 & a small rum runner was $9. You could not even bring in juice boxes for kids. The continental breakfast was similar that you would get at any Red Roof Inn. The beach was large, but the sand very coarse & hard. I felt they were trying to get every last nickle they could. We are not ones to complain but at these prices we were expecting more. We would not stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islander123, Director of Sales at Islander Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments.

It seems at $558 you were most likely in one of our ocean front suites and April is one of the busier times of the year in the Keys. You will find more economical rates during the week and in the summer months.

With 2 pools, 1,300 feet of oceanfront, scattered palm trees, and covered seating by the upper pool in the Tiki Bar area, we like to think we can accommodate people's desire for sun or shade. However, based on your comment, we will certainly reconsider this and discuss it with our owners. Currently, we have an outside vendor in charge of renting umbrellas, snorkel gear, bicycles, etc…

We will definitely speak with our staff to be sure they explain our policies to guests in a more professional manner, as it is mandated by our state food and liquor license to not have outside food and drinks within the pool / Tiki Bar service area.

We're sorry you felt that we were "trying to get every last nickel from our guests." Many of our guests take advantage of the full kitchens in each of our guest rooms, the picnic areas and grill stations. As well as, our complimentary daily continental breakfast.

We have a natural sand beach. In the Florida Keys, sand is primarily made up of fine particles of coral rock. That is why it seems coarse and hard.

We are sorry we did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Islander for 4 nights. The resort was perfectly located for exploring the Keys ( we went to Key West on a day trip and also visited the Bahia Honda Park) and relaxing. The resort offers both pools and a secluded beach - though I need to point out that the beach is not sandy and to get into the water one can either use some steps or the boat landing area, but be careful there were some rubbish like plastic bottles and even broken glass on this stretch which was in contrast to the otherwise really well kept resort. The rooms are spacious and the kitchen area well equipped. What was surprising was the fact that the breakfast (which was offering a good selection) was served on plastic plates and with flimsy plastic cutlery.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atkinson, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Hubby and I stayed here for 3 nights two years in a row. Our only wish was that we could have stayed here for so much longer. The Resort is beautiful and the room was amazingly large with it's own kitchen. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. We had our own private screen porch that opened into the garden area. It was so relaxing opening up our sliding doors and listening to sounds of the ocean. We hope to make this our yearly tradition and can't wait to come back again, as we feel we found our very own paradise!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and we wished for more... the rooms are adorable and have kitchenette. We loved the pool area. It was perfect for relaxing. The bar had delicious drinks and also a nice variety of meals. The beach is very pretty, but the sand is not fine.The sand is very course and will tear up your feet. Snorkeling is very good especially a short boat ride away. We loved the location as it is near Robbie's (where you can feed the
tarpon) and great restaurant across the street. Fun place and definitely a must see location.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islander123, Director of Sales at Islander Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Tracey - We appreciate you taking the time to post your great comments. Thank you so much ! Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This property is beautiful, the rooms are spacious and perfect for extended visits to the keys. The beds were comfortable and the room was fairly clean. There were dark finger prints on the bathroom door that wouldn't take much to clean, see picture (room 447). My problem was for the price we paid, the room should be spotless. The room has a great screened in porch and lots of space on the property to chill. You can swim and snorkel off the property and rent boats. If we didn't have problems with booking and our noisy room I would give this property 4 stars. I booked it over 2 months before arrival and our room was the first room by the front office, where families arrive early for breakfast and housekeeping staff take the carts up and down the walk in front of the room chatting loudly waking us up at 7:30AM. A call was placed to the front office regarding the noisy staff, there was no apology, just agreement that the housekeeping staff can be noisy in the morning. When booking I asked for a king room, they were taken, no problem, but I also asked for a quieter room. AHHHH yeah, that wasn't granted. It appeared that the hotel was booked but it looked like they moved our room around as people arrived before us. We checked in at check in time (3pm). Too bad..... the front desk, reservation and housekeeping staff should be better trained. I will not be back at this property. Next time in Islamarada I will find a place via airbnb. It is however, a beautiful spot for a wedding.

Room Tip: Avoid room 447 and near there, the housekeeping staff arrive early and are noisy walking to pick up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islander123, Director of Sales at Islander Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Our General Manager has spoken to the housekeepers , as well as, the Executive Housekeeper, about gathering outside the guest rooms. That is in no way acceptable. I apologize we were unable to move you to another room, the hotel has been running sold out or with very high occupancy all during our high season, I feel certain we simply did not have another room that met your requirdments for bed type, smoking preference, etc... If you would like to discuss further, please give our General Manager a call at your convenience. We sincerely hope you will decide to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Pictures on the hotel web site were a true representation of the property. Property was BEAUTIFUL ,private, and quiet. Feel of the resort was very cottage like with louvers on the doors and windows. Screened Lanai was huge. Was hoping grill was gas but it was charcoal (my only dissappointment) Room interior looked identical to the photo on web site. Paid for a std courtyard lanai and got a free upgrade to an oceanview (rm 115) We loved eating poolside at the Bluewater Tiki Bar - salads and seafood were awesome (was our favorite place to eat based on price and convenience). Waitstaff was great- even served us oceanside as we lounged. Loved walking out on the dock and from one end of the property to the other. Loved the saltwater pool. Stayed 5 nights CANT WAIT TO GO BACK

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Islander Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Resort

Address: Mile Marker 82.1 Oceanfront, P.O. BOX 766, Islamorada, FL 33036
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Islander Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Islander Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Islamorada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Islander Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.