We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost to your Saves list
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Mile Marker 82.1 Oceanfront, 82100 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Wichita, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I spent a week at The Islander for our honeymoon. I can't say enough good things about this resort. We had a beachfront room with kitchenette. The room was clean and spacious. I was a little concerned initally because there was construction going on behind our room, but that was never a problem. We were able to go to the local fish markets and then come back and grill and cook. We felt like we were on a private island the whole time we were there. All though there were other people around, it was still very quiet. The beach is man made, but it is still beautiful. We spent many afternoons laying in the lounge chairs reading. We liked that we could hear a little bit of music coming from the bar. The restaurant was delicous. And the people at the water sports rental area were very accomodating. I joked often that it felt like we were at Kellermans only at the beach instead of the mountains. I would love to go back!

Room Tip: We were in room 521. There is construction going on behind the room, but it was never a problem. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    347
    112
    46
    46
See reviews for
316
379
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a nice resort. Rooms are dated but clean. Excellent water sports availability. Took out a power boat and had a sailing lesson with David, who was really helpful. Pool area is nice and poolside restaurant served decent enough food. Disappointed that the bar closed at 10.15pm when we had been told 11pm. Seems odd to shut a bar when there are customers sitting there wanting a drink!!
Breakfast was not up to standard. No meats, cheeses or eggs - only sweet stuff. We did not bother with it after the first day.
Only other negatives were that the room was not cleaned every day, which was quite a surprise. We had an oceanview room but a marquee had been put up which put paid to that.
Acid test is whether we would stay again and I think we would. Feel able to give it a good recommendation but just be aware that this is not high end accommodation but the overall amenities in the resort and the location are hard to fault.
Weather was great.

Room Tip: room 213 is oceanview but you are not close to the sea. However, it is well located, away from the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We spent a night and day here on the way down to Key West. The room was fine with a kitchenette and large bathroom, although a little tired in places. The inside was definitely better than the outside, which was very basic. It led out into a lanai and a patio with sunbeds and a hammock. The resort is right on the sea and has a beach with activities available. There is a Tiki bar next to the pools and the lunch we had there was very good. The staff were very helpful and obliging. We decided to sit by the pool; there were lots of sunbeds but whilst here were umbrella bases, there were no sun umbrellas to go with them. As the sun was very strong and I burn easily, I asked if we could have one. By this time I had chased the little shade available and was on the point of burning. I could have an umbrella but the charge was $10. In an age where skin cancer is on the rise and we are constantly exhorted to keep out of strong sun, I thought this was unthinking and mercenary, given the lack of natural shade around the pool. I have sat under sun umbrellas from Jordan to Australia in many resorts and this is the first time anyone has ever. charged me. Very disappointing attitude

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was at the resort for an event with many people. The grounds were well laid out, spacious, and visually appealing. The sunrise was beautiful, the beach was clean and large. They have a watersports area right on the beach to rent various sports apparatus, 2 pools + a hot tub, a good variety for breakfast, and very friendly staff. Easy walking distance to many restaurants, art galleries, and shopping. Great place to enjoy your stay while in Islamorada!

Room Tip: When setting up a room location, let the staff know your request as the grounds are spread out and o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Clean, spacious, all the conveniences. Terrific place, has everything you could need. Wold definitely go back there again. Great for families too. very convenient To Lerelei's restaurant & Bar, also The Sportsman,

Room Tip: all are good, nearer the beach the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Great location to get a taste of Florida Keys, a place with many out door activities and best of all fresh seafood restaurants near by. This is definitely afamily resort, you can easily spend the whole day swimming in their private beach, participate in their on-site beach activities and jump in the pool (2). Their bar offer great food selections. I live in Miami and love to escape with the family here. Never disappointed, never get tired... It's always a place I look forward to :)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I were a little put off by the look of the outside of our room. We both thought it looked like a detention center. The inside was somewhat better, although the bathroom area was pretty dated. There was major rust around the metal overflow in the tub, and some black mildew around the caulking. Not exactly top notch. I also am not a big fan of having the sink and vanity outside of the bathroom, which in this case was in the kitchenette. But....other than that, the room was large, lots of storage space, and looked right out to the pool area. There is a screened in porch with a table and some plastic chairs. That could be made so much more comfortable with some lounge chairs. The pool area and beach are really beautiful. Don't expect to do any real swimming as the water is rocky. You can snorkle though. The tiki bar is very nice, although expensive. Probably won't stay here again, but it's nice enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
2.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#7 of 20 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 stars 765 reviews
2.7 mi away
Coconut Cove Resort and Marina
2.1 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#9 of 20 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 stars 2,088 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Moorings Village and Spa
The Moorings Village and Spa
#2 of 20 in Islamorada
5.0 of 5 stars 181 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort Marina Hotel Islamorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost

Address: Mile Marker 82.1 Oceanfront, 82100 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Islamorada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.