We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every thing you want in the keys” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle to your Saves list
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   84001 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Islamorada
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Every thing you want in the keys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great resort hotel with awesome staff . Especially Abner in the raw bar and Kim at the pool bar. Nice beach area to the salt water nice fresh water pool lots of amenities. Jet skis paddle boards fishing guides and boat rentals. Very decent food. But there are so many good places to eat in the area it is good to go out and explore

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WISH_U_WERE_HERE305, Director of Operations at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear HMCHUGH430,

Thanks for stayings with us and for writing the nice post. We enjoy providing the authentic Keys experience that many of the staff and guests grew up with. There are many activities to take advantage of without leaving our resort - and as you mentioned many terrific dining options throughout the island. Our Chef, Benjamin, is creating a lot of new dishes at our own restaurants and we're anxious for you to try them on your next visit. Wish You Were Here, Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    399
    204
    124
    69
See reviews for
282
513
27
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My wife and I have been here a few times before and always thought it was ok but had so much potential but was just lacking some upgrading and better management. We were sent several e-mails that they had upgraded the rooms along with a lot of other stuff.Before we booked again I called and was told about all the work they had done on rooms etc.. Then I inquired about my biggest complaint from my previous stays; can anyone from outside the resort come use the beach and pool area if they are not staying at the hotel ? I was told no they changed the pollicy and now it was guests only could use the beach and pool area. They lied and there were people sneaking in from the adjacent beach. Another rule that we complied with but not everyone else did was no outside alcohol. When we checked in we were sent to a old room that was not renovated and the AC didnt work and the room smelt terrible. When I told them I called ahead to make sure our room and the policies here were changed I was offered a renovated room at a higher price. After a long day of travel I just paid and told my wife we would never come back. To finish up ,this is a nice place but management is terrible.

Room Tip: make sure you ask the questions I wrote about in my review before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WISH_U_WERE_HERE305, Director of Operations at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Good Day Sharky888, Thanks for returning to our resort to experience all that we've added and improved since your last visit. I'm disappointed to learn that you weren't able to enjoy yourself fully during your stay. Our beach and pool areas are indeed private for our resort hotel and marina guests only, along with a handful of local beach club members. We attempt to be unobtrusive and discreet with the enforcement of our policy. If someone sneaks in, we'll typically find them soon enough. Additionally, we ensure the environment is fun, friendly and relaxing. Outisde food and beverage is not permitted on our beach and pool areas. Our management team is extremely engaged and passionate about creating a welcoming environment for our guest. We are always open to suggestions and I appreciate your feedback. Feel free to contact me directly if I can ever be of service. Best Regards, Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

We only stayed here one night, but we wished we could have stayed longer. Once we saw the view, we felt like we were in paradise.

The building's exterior appearance and hallways looked a bit dated and our room was fairly small, but it was clean and recently updated so we didn't mind.

The property is right on the water and absolutely gorgeous. A perfect place to get some rest and relaxation. We enjoyed a few drinks at the Rum Runner's bar which had an awesome view. The Rum punch was delicious.

Later in the night we went to the Tiki Bar for game night. They had beer pong, cornhole, and pool. The drink special of $5 pitchers of domestic beer was a great deal. We met some friendly people also staying on the property and had a lovely evening watching the sunset over the marina.

We will be back soon!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WISH_U_WERE_HERE305, Director of Operations at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Greetings Jessmore26, Thanks for staying at our Islamorada resort! And thanks for taking the time to post a review. We're happy you had a great time enjoying the views and our bars. Our goal is to provide a true Keys experience and can't wait for you guys to come back! Wish You Were Here, Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend during the last weekend in October. The hotel and beach were quiet because of the off season and from the previous days when Hurricane Sandy came through. The front desk staff was kind and cheerful. The room (we stayed in an ocean front room - totally worth the extra money) was tastefully decorated with an ocean theme and was very clean. The bars/restaurants on site where perfect for a low key breakfast/lunch and happy hour drinks. We will certainly be coming back to the Postcard Inn!

Room Tip: Ocean front room a must on a higher floor - in building one or two. Beautiful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WISH_U_WERE_HERE305, Director of Operation at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Greeting Rebecca G, We thank you and your husband for staying with us. Our thoughts and prayers are with those in the Caribbean and in the NorthEast who were most affected by Sandy. We appreciate you taking the time to post the nice review. Glad you guys are in Miami so you can pop down frequently - we hope! Cheers, Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

First and foremost, the rooms are relatively nice and for the most part clean. Now on to the details that you will not see in the advertisements. The management team has overlooked the smallest of details that matter to those people on vacation. Ants in the "rooms", we had several rooms and each one had the same issue. The maintenance staff, set aside JR, are not at all informed on how to fix the most basic of issues. We had problems with the cable, remotes and the insect problem. It was actually sad to have a maintenance guy/gal show up and you could tell that they had no idea what they were doing and it was obvious that they had not been trained to deal with the issues to begin with. That was almost comical in all seriousness.

I had a chance to speak with some of the room staff and they were not happy, ill compensated (yes I asked as that speaks volumes to the trickle down quality of service) and one lady told me that they were treated as second-class citizens and talked down to by the mgmnt team. I could tell that she was sincere and I felt for her. The room staff were excellent in dealing with what they could.

This place has such potential, and I mean that. If the management team would focus on the details and staff I can see this place being the best in the area.

On principal alone, outlined above, I do not plan on staying here again. I will simply move further south and stay somewhere that focuses on customer service being number one and taking care of their staff in a proper way.

PCI, no need for a member of your team to respond to this email. Damage is already done at this point.

Room Tip: There are several places a few miles south that will be a better value. This is not a family vacatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WISH_U_WERE_HERE305, Director of Operations at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear WKU-Wanderer, Thanks for staying with us during your recent trip to the Florida Keys. I'm extremely disappointed by the perception you have of our resort, particularly if it was created by experiences interacting with a staff member. Our housekeeping team (along with all of our team members) is the heart and soul of our resort. The majority of our housekeeping staff members have been with our resort for over a decade, and exceed industry average compensation. Additionally they are assigned to clean less rooms than the industry standard per shift. Our houskeeping manager is extremely hands on in supporting the team, particularly on busy weekends. They have a challening job day in and day out and we are always looking for ways to make their jobs easier. Please accept my apologies for the t.v. issues. We just switched from cable to Direct TV and it's possible the issue that was in your room had simply not been encountered before. Thank you for the kudo's for JR and feel free to contact me directly if I can ever be of service. Best Regards, Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is the NEW Holiday Isle. Yes, the 80's & 90's were hot then the property started getting trashy and really going downhill. It has a new feel in the same great spot so don't miss out on this super location, great staff, terrific pool and beach (they don't charge for pool and beach loungers anymore) great drinks and a perfect spot. Fishing, snorkeling, sun and party fun. (I do miss the old reggae shack though.)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WISH_U_WERE_HERE305, Director of Operations at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Greetings GoJill, thanks for checking us out and for the nice review! The 80's and 90's were a very special time at Holiday Isle and the Keys for all of us. We're glad you like what we're doing now as Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle and look forward to you coming back soon. Would love to meet you personally next time so look me up. Best Regards, Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncks Corner
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We booked this with a Living Social coupon, wish we would have gotten more days. We arrived a couple of hours before check in and took a chance. Not only did the very nice woman check us in, she gave us a ocean front upgrade which we loved. The rooms were clean, not sure how with all the sand from the great beach just steps away and fairly newly remodeled. There is something for everyone at this resort from sunbathing to swimming in the ocean or pool, jet ski,kayak,small sailboat rentals. Charter boats right there or rent your own boat for the day. The island is about 2 hrs from Key West ( 45 miles an hr is why) We are saving to go back as we speak! Thanks for a great time

Room Tip: Waterfront is the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WISH_U_WERE_HERE305, Director of Operations at Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear akrider1956, We wish you were here right now as well! Thanks for staying with Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina. And thanks for the nod to our hardworking houskeeping crew. I'm glad we were able to get you fixed up with a great view and that you enjoyed your stay. We're adding even more watersports and activities in the coming month so come back real soon! Wish You Were Here, Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle

Address: 84001 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Isle Resorts & Marina Hotel Islamorada
Holiday Isle Resorts And Marina
Holiday Isle Hotel Islamorada
Holiday Isle Islamorada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.