We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed pier style dining-fun and delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smugglers Cove Restaurant and Bar

Smugglers Cove Restaurant and Bar
85500 Overseas Highway, Islamorada Fl., Islamorada, FL 33036-3400
+1 305-664-5564
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 83 Restaurants in Islamorada
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Barbecue, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Smugglers Cove Restaurant and Bar located at mm 85.5 Bayside is one of the locals favorite with convenient access by car or by boat.Framed by the beautiful marina with a view where you will get a glimpse of an occasional dolphin or tarpon, this restaurant has gained a reputation as the place for delicious food and great entertainment. A menu that offers a blend of cuisines and influences mixing Maine with American, Italian and Floridian Seafood dishes….Chef Maria is constantly creating new daily specials for the menu, which is sure to please every guest even vegetarians. Also available is a kids menu that is sure to please every kid even the fussiest!A late nite menu is available that reflects the freshest local fish and burgers as well as the finest variety of appetizers. Open Seven Days a Week from 11am to 12midnight, with entertainment every Monday through Sunday makes Smugglers Cove not only the best place to eat, but also the best entertainment too!
Port Isabel, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Relaxed pier style dining-fun and delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Friendly relaxed Key's atmosphere. We had several great appetizers and drinks. The grilled ahi tuna was super as well as the baguette bread-sort of an "island" brushetta. The marina portion is currently under renovation and the owners are there to please you. I also thought the prices were very reasonable.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan L, Manager at Smugglers Cove Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
We are very glad to hear that your experience at Smugglers Cove was very pleasent. Are soon to be done 33 slip marina will accommodate all guests and boat sizes, so hang in there, almost finished! It was very pleasent to sit and spend some time with. Hopefully, see you soon, again thank you so much...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    41
    12
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Islamorada, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“You have to check it out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Smugglers is under new ownership this year. I am a local and found Smugglers is one of the best bar / restaurants in Islamorada. They have a great Happy Hour... 4 to 8. The service is superb. They have a HH menu. My favorite is Mahi Skewers. My sig other prefers Hot Dog Sliders (see pix of other).

I had Thanksgiving Dinner there and their Turkey Dinner was great for only 12.95. My kids were traveling so why cook?

Definitely check it out.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan L, Manager at Smugglers Cove Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
Thank you for spending Thanksgivivg with us at Smugglers Cove, hopefully we get a chance to see you all again. Thnak you so much for taking the time to write this review, its always good to hear from our customers and how we are doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sea Horse sport fishing team family and friends love smugglers cove”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Had a great meal tonight. Have had many great meals over the last year my friends and family have truly enjoyed themselves at Smugglers. Great customer service great prices the best kept secret in the Islamorada area.
Capt Rick

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan L, Manager at Smugglers Cove Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Always good to see you captain!!! Glad you had another great dinner at Smugglers Cove, and always nice to hear fishing stories... We appreciate you and your guests, thanks so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavernier, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“The chef is amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

For everyone who thinks Smugglers is just a bar with casual food, you have to try it again. Maria is probably one of the best chefs in the Upper keys. All her dishes are from scratch and absolutely delicious! The new owners are making many upgrades and improvements to the old Smugglers. I advise everyone to go on down and try the new Smugglers Cove, I promise you will not be dissapointed!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan L, Manager at Smugglers Cove Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
I thank you for taking time and writing this review. I am so pleased you had an awesome experience at Smugglers Cove. I appreciate that customers can see that the new owners are making many changes to restore Smugglers Cove to what it once was (the place to be).... We are happy to say thank you for your time, and will see you soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamorada, Florida
1 review
“My Favorite Place in Islamorada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I've lived in Islamorada for nearly a year, and have been to just about every restaurant/bar in the area, and Smugglers is definately my favorite. The service is always great, and the food and drinks are better. Everything here is pretty cheap (in cost, not quality), and the atmosphere is great. Its right across the road from Hogs, but the food is better and the drinks are cheaper. This place really is my favorite place in Islamorada, and once the docks are finished, it'll be the perfect place for a stop on the booze cruise.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan L, Manager at Smugglers Cove Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
So glad to hear that this is your favorite place in Islamorada... We thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate and value you as a customer... Again thank you and see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smugglers Cove Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Smugglers Cove Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smugglers Cove Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.