We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Secret Snorkeling Spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Islamorada Library Beach

Islamorada Library Beach
Islamorada, FL
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 49 things to do in Islamorada
Attraction details
Islamorada, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A Secret Snorkeling Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Very few people except for locals. Beware of the current and boaters - but at slack tide, you can see some interesting critters close up.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    13
    9
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“cool little place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

funny lil channel behind the library north of the highway in Islamorada. There's not any kind of "beach" there and there are boats coming through, but I can see how you would swim there...we just waded, but saw lots of cool fish, etc.

If you were staying within walking distance, this would be a gem, but not exactly a destination.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockledge, Florida
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

After driving by this library several times and not realizing there was a beach behind it, we discovered it on our last full day of our trip.
We signed up to do Stand Up Paddle Boarding with Otherside Boardsports and this is the location where we started the guided tour! It's a very small, quiet beach with a playground and some showers. Great for relaxing (and paddle boarding)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“aFTER 10 YEARS WE FINAL FOUND A SWIMABLE BEACH IN ISLAMORADA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My wife an I go down to Islamorada for 2 weeks every year for the past 10 years. We finally found Library Beach after going buy it millions of times. It is Bayside behind the Library. Across the street from the Hurrican Memorial. Sign for the library is a little hidden by a tree. Pull behind the library for parking. Not hugh but real nice. Bathrooms, park with play ground for kids. Covered picnic pavillion. The water is pretty much a cut through the mangroves. It offers protection from the wind and doesn't see much tidal changes. The water moves through here pretty well. That keeps it clean from silt and sediment. You can wade out to you chest and still not be in seagrass! There were people snokling who were seeing fish. I like it. it is quiet and swimable. More then you can say for other Keys beaches.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“paddle board”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Great little secluded beach for paddle boarding and relaxing. It is protected from the wind and rough waters, but you can easily paddle out to the gulf and open waters.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Islamorada Library Beach also viewed

 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Islamorada Library Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Islamorada Library Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.