We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in the Keys, clean and pet friendly.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor Lights Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Harbor Lights Motel to your Saves list
Harbor Lights Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   84951 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Islamorada
Florissant, Missouri
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in the Keys, clean and pet friendly.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

My sister and I stayed here just a week ago. We were able to get a room with just a few hours notice. The receptionist was really nice and helpful. The building is an older one, 2 stories, right on the shore. Its painted white with yellow trim. Our room was on the second floor, it had 2 queen beds, a kitchenette,with a fridge, dishes, microwave and a table with chairs, cable tv, large window that opened. The bathroom was fairly small, the bottom of the door was worn, there were plenty of towels but you will need to bring your own shampoos and blow drier. The closet only had a few hangers. the inside was battered but not dirty. The floors, carpet and bathroom were very clean, no odors.
The beds were in good shape, as were the sheets and pillows, We inspected for bed bugs, no bugs anywhere, Yay! I slept like a rock. Outside, wow. The pool was clean, there is a small boat ramp, and kayaks are available for 20 dollars for the whole day. If you want to swim, snorkle, just walk down the ramp and go. The keys have very few sand beaches so know that all the fun is in the water. We loved the sunset, we could see fish swimming around too.
This hotel is pet friendly too, the people next to us had their golden retriever with them.
All this for only 80.00 a night. I only wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
Wow! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay! We also wish you could have stayed longer!

Folks may notice from your great pictures that our little hotel recently went yellow! We have a btand new paint job! Thank you so very much for the great review!

Todd & Becky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    58
    45
    32
    52
See reviews for
61
85
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

We stayed at one of the small condos on the property that face the water. They were definately dated with old furnishings - a little run down and neglected (biggest problem was non-working electrical outlets) but nice and clean with easy access to the water. There was no internet access from the condo but was available at their office. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Very reasonable rates compared to other comparable places in the area.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
Thank you so much for your good review. We do have a challenge sometimes with our 50+ year old property, but we hope that it did not inconvenience you too much during your stay!

Thank you again, we hope to see you soon!

Todd & Becky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

This hotel is not anything fancy but it has a great view, nice clean spacious room with a fully supplied kitchen. We loved staying there and just talking to the guests by the pool ..very down to earth place. Good price! No hidden costs or fake pictures... some work being done around the hotel at this time but still the people made up for any inconvenience.. you just feel very comfortable there!

Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review, February 25, 2011
Thank you so much for the great review! So everyone knows, we have completed a rennovation of teh exterior and we are now YELLOW! As soon as we can figure out how to laod some new photos we will put them up! We appreciate everyone's patience that week we painted, and it now looks awesome! Come back and see us soon!

Todd & Becky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

Clean, quiet older motel. Needs some TLC but good value. Excellent staff.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review, February 25, 2011
Thank you so much for trying us out!

Todd & Becky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

It's always so nice when something is even better than we expected. Obviously this isn't a deluxe resort, so we had lowered our expectations, but for a vintage, budget motel, this place is great. We loved opening our blinds in the morning and watching the sun rise over the Atlantic. Location was convenient to the best things in Islamorada. Staff was friendly and helpful. My only gripe - spring for some bathroom amenities. Can't you use 25 cents of the room rate for a miniature shampoo?

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review, February 25, 2011
You nailed it! Thank you for the great review! Come back soon!

Todd & Becky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

Stayed at the Harbor Lights for a few nights during a brief trip to the Keys recently. As others have noted the motel is currently being renovated. The room we were in (26) was not done yet, but it was OK. They have a nice pool, some dock space and a boat launch ramp too as well as kayak rental which I took advantage of. It was kinda' windy though during our stay as a cold front had recently passed through, but we still had fun. The motel staff was simply awesome. If you are in need of a room in Islamorada at a decent price, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review, February 25, 2011
We appreciate the great review! Thank you again for staying with us and we will try and order up some calm, warm weather then next time you are down!

Todd & Becky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira NY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

We stayed at Harbor Lights over Columbus Day weekend. My sister was getting married at the resort next door and they had no rooms so we ended up staying at Harbor. This is definitely an old hotel. Rooms are very roomy, but need updating asap. The previous owner did not put much time into updating the place...however the new owners seem to be making great efforts to update this place. Bathrooms are very small and there were a few plumbing issues, which the owners tried to fix. The pool area and location are perfect....beautiful place to stay right next to the ocean. Be aware....the Keys are beautiful but there are no wide, sandy beaches-- they are mostly rocky. You must go to Key West--what a great time- shopping, restaurants, beautiful sunsets.... With a bit of updating, Harbor Lights could and will be a very nice place to stay. The owners are very friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review, February 25, 2011
We agree! We are improving every day, and lots have been done since October even! We have a brand new paint job, new hammocks on our great beaches, new pool furniture and much more! We will always continue to make sure that we present the very best that we can, and look forward to seeing you againb your next trip!

Todd & Becky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbor Lights Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Lights Motel

Address: 84951 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Harbor Lights Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Harbor Lights Motel in the gorgeous Florida Keys. We are located at Mile Marker 85, which is right in the middle of the best fishing, diving, dining and entertainment in the area. The motel offers standard rooms, efficiencies and cottages. All our guests enjoy the fabulous water views, free boat ramp, dock, barbecue area, private tropical pool and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Harbor Lights Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Lights Hotel Islamorada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor Lights Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.