We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the beach...nearly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor Lights Motel

Save Saved
You added Harbor Lights Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbor Lights Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   84951 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 20 hotels in Islamorada
Southern England
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“On the beach...nearly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Great for overnight stay. Had to go outside near reception to get internet connection. Pool although small was nice and clean and not too cold. Just off overseas highway so easy access. The Dolphin Research Centre is a must.......fantastic experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We are so very happy that you stopped in!

Thank you for your great review. We hope that next time you cross the "pond" and visit, you will stay with us again! We see that you stayed in one of the smaller queen rooms. Remember to book the larger kitchen units for your next stay, as they are twice as big!

Thank you again for your patronage and kind words.

Todd & Becky Chandler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    50
    31
    27
    49
See reviews for
52
68
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Celebrating our 27th wedding Anniversary, we decided to try a new place after going to Islamorada before. The place was old, rooms were okay. The price was too high for the rooms. We DID NOT enjoy it. Yes, the hammock was nice. Just wasn't welcoming enough for $274..! Stove not clean, had to ask for our room to be cleaned. Just not for us. You be your own judge, ijs.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We are so sorry that you did not fully enjoy your stay. We would like to point out to the readers that we do not have any rooms priced at $274 per night! Perhaps the traveller was referring to the price for the entire stay (two or three days it sounds like) with taxes included. We pride ourselves on being a great value and we do offer a clean and comfortable room for a fraction of what other oceanfront resorts charge here in Islamorada.

We will review your comments about the stove with housekeeping, so that we may better serve our future guests!

Thank you again for your comments.

Todd & Becky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Affordable, clean motel. Nothing fancy. Good location, off overseas highway, easy access to hotel. Small beach outside, nice to relax in hammocks and chairs provided by hotel. Clean swimming pool, for a morning dip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We thank you so much for finding us, and are so very glad you enjoyed the stay! We are proud to say that out pool is heated during the winter months as well, so that you can enjoy relaxing year round!

Todd & Becky Chandler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We arrived late in the day, the girl at the front counter was very nice. We got a small cottage over looking the ocean, it was old and in need of alot of work as you have read in other reviews. But non of that mattered to us, just a place to sleep, We paid $169.00 way to much for the quality of the room. We stayed at new resorts in Key West for less, but at the last moment had to do it. Anyway my advice is GET OUT ON TIME!! Check out is at 11:00 and at 11:02 they were knocking on our door, give me a break they wouldn't leave until we opened the door.
I mentioned this to the girl in the front and she said that they had rules to follow, I just dropped $169 there and a few minutes wouldn't kill anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Bob,

Thank you for your recent comments. We are so very sorry that you felt that you were inconvenienced. However, we are pleased to have the opportunity to respond so that future travellers may make informed decisions.

First, we would like to remind you that when you checked in we mentioned our check out time several times. In fact, you acknowledged and initialed the time on the registration sheet. You also initialled that you agree that at 11:01 you would be subject to additional charges for a late check out. Note: We did not charge you for a late checkout even though you left nearly an hour past our posted checkout time. Our staff does not enjoy waking up guests that feel that the checkout times do not apply to them, but it is a necessary part of our job to insure fairness to all.

Second, the time that your door was knocked on was closer to 11:45, not 11:02. Please understand that with a small staff, it is a considerable strain to turn over rooms in such a short amount of time. We do our very best to accommodate all of our guests. On the holiday weekends (like Labor Day when you stayed) we have a great deal of incoming reservations, and many of them try and check in even before the standard time. We run on a very tight schedule these weekends, and an additional hour can be quite a strain on our small housekeeping staff.

Finally, you chose to travel to the Florida Keys on one of the busiest weekends of the year (Labor Day) without any reservations. We can guarantee that Key West and any other location in the Florida Keys did not have a $169 oceanfront kitchenette room on this holiday weekend! We know this because we keep an extensive list of area hotels' availability and rates during the busy weekends. At the time you checked in (7:02 PM on Saturday) there were only a handfull of rooms left in Islamorada, and every single one was over $275 per night!

We are very sorry you felt you had to give us a bad review based on your recent experience here at the hotel. We strive to provide clean, comfortable rooms located right on the Atlantic Ocean that will not break your wallet. We have rules and policies in place so that all our guests have the same opportunity to enjoy the resort, and we strongly feel that we are fair to all of our guests.

Todd Chandler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarac, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

My boyfriend and I recently stayed here and we had a wonderful time. The room was clean and the bed was soft. We had a great view of both the Atlantic and the Gulf. The owners of the motel were very nice and accommodated us in every way. The only thing that I would suggest is the walls need a little paint and the pictures need updating.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your recent review and stay here at the Harbor Lights!

You will be happy to know that we are already halfway done with the third floor walls (re-texture and paint) and the paintings have recently arrived as well! You read our minds! We very much appreciate the comments, and strive hard to provide a comfortable, clean room without breaking the bank!

We hope to see you again soon!

Todd & Becky Chandler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This motel was okay, the room was alright and the bathroom was dirty. It as kind of gross for the children but for me it was okay. Yes, the pool was small but still relaxing, the area with tanning beds was very nice and it was very relaxing. Everything worked fine. The only major problem i had was that while i was at the pool i was bothered by people in the pool are who made a complaint. My family and I were not making noise not bothering anyone yet they complained. The motel workers did come to complain to us even though we were already leaving.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the property! We will share your comments about the bathroom with the cleaning staff. We appreciate all criticism, as it allows us to focus on improving the property as much as we can.

We do try and keep the pool area as quiet and relaxing as possible. There are instances when we have to remind guests that screaming or loud music might be normal at their own homes, but people come to Islamorada to relax and enjoy the sounds - like the ocean breeze rustling through the palm fronds. Please know that if one of our staff asked that the noise be kept down it was for the enjoyment of all our guests and was most likely in response to a complaint we had. We try and please everyone, and know that different people relax in different ways!

We hope to see you again soon!

Todd Chandler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Pool is very small and was dirty. Hotel rooms are clean. It was definitely just an average hotel. However, even though they were picky about what time we could check in, they let us earlier than expected. Good service.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Lauren,

Thank you for your comments and review of the hotel. We strive hard to stay ahead of the debris at the pool area, and can say in truth that we do not regulary have a problem. Unfortunately, some guests do not pick up after themselves, and even though we check the pool regularly we sometimes see the results of misuse.

The week you stayed we even had childeren tear up several "noodles" we had in the pool into small pieces and scatter them around the pool and pool area. The amzing this is that this occurred right in front of the parents who were sitting there watching the whole time!

We really do appreciate all the comments, and hope you give us another try soon!

Todd & Becky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbor Lights Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Lights Motel

Address: 84951 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Harbor Lights Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Harbor Lights Motel in the gorgeous Florida Keys. We are located at Mile Marker 85, which is right in the middle of the best fishing, diving, dining and entertainment in the area. The motel offers standard rooms, efficiencies and cottages. All our guests enjoy the fabulous water views, free boat ramp, dock, barbecue area, private tropical pool and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Harbor Lights Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Lights Hotel Islamorada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor Lights Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.