We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy at times if u like that” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TIKI BAR

TIKI BAR
Mile Marker 84, Islamorada, FL
305- 664-2321
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 80 Restaurants in Islamorada
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Busy at times if u like that”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I expected RUM RUNNERS to be the busier bar here, but THIS was where the action was for sure, so if you like a little "crazy" this is the spot, although during the day,nits fairly quiet!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    40
    24
    1
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Birthplace of the Rum Runner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

So this is where the Rum Runner was invented. This legend is what brought us here, but it was also our least favorite part of the experience. I like my rum runners freshly made and on ice, not out of a slurpee machine. Lesson learned though, and I'll definitely be more specific with my order the next time we visit. I find it hard to give any place in the Keys and on the water less than 4 stars. Beautiful scenery and plenty of room to roam around while you enjoy your drink. Definitely worth a stop.

Also, the hotel is no longer "Holiday Isle". Look for the "Postcard Inn" instead.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“tiki bars galore”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The Florida Keys seem to have many tiki bars, some claiming to be the original one. They all seem to offer similar alcoholic drinks; and at night some offer other entertainment. Ours, on the grounds of the Postcard Inn, offered karaoke one night. Few performed well.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelius, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fun in the sun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Cool setting, bar tender was spot on with recommendations for drinks. Service and setting was awesome! From what we learned, if you want to beat the crowd and have a more romantic time in the Florida Keys, vacation in mid-August. Paid $24 for two drinks.

We actually had a better time at another Tiki bar on SugarLoaf Key. Lots of outside seating, not a lot of people. We had a table by the water with a grass roof for shade, and did some snorkeling. I was going to write a review for Sugarloaf Lodge Tiki bar but Tripadvisor couldn't find it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hopping place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

a great place with nice tables and music and dancing, fire pits near the water. Very fun! Drinks were awesome! Live Music was Fabulous!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TIKI BAR also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to TIKI BAR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TIKI BAR, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.