We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent view, extensive menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy Days

Lazy Days
79867 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036
305-664-5256
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 80 Restaurants in Islamorada
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Columbia SC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent view, extensive menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Very enjoyable dinner at Lazy Days, per the recommendation of the staff at our hotel. I had the broiled seafood dinner, which included a lobster tail. It was all very nicely prepared and delicious. Husband had grouper, topped with a crabcake, which he enjoyed as well. A very typical seafood restaurant, but things seemed to be done well.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    920
    419
    137
    62
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Indiana
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“On being lazy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

...We asked the check-in person about her recommendations for a good place to eat in Islmorada. She named a few and said her guests especially liked the Lazy Days Restaurant at MM(mile marker) 80. Since we were at MM81, this was nearby. When I said this sounded interesting, our host offered to make a reservation for us.
...We had a bit of a problem finding the restaurant. We knew where it had to be but the foliage had almost obscured the sign for the restaurant but the large number of cars parked around this building gave it away. We parked in one of the few places available.
...The restaurant was quite busy and we had trouble identifying someone to seat us because the help was not wearing easily identifiable clothing. However, we were quickly approached by the proper person who escorted us to our reserved location on the balcony. The weather was great and the view was excellent. The restaurant has many places to eat including inside, the balcony and on the beach. We were able to watch families eating at beach tables and see how the kids enjoyed playing in the sand.
...We were not interested in a heavy meal and both ordered a drink, some bisque and salads (Key West and Billings). My wife had a glass of Oyster Bay Sauvignon which she really liked. I had Blue Moon on tap which was also quite good. Service was rapid and the waitress quite friendly. It was fascinating to watch a couple of the waiters wend their way through the aisles and carry trays of food down to the beach area without spilling anything. Our food was excellently prepared with the right amount of seasoning and a good presentation. I believe this restaurant is worth seeking out if you are driving through the keys or saying near Islamorada. And I believe that the balcony is the best place to be served during nice weather.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“They cooked our catch.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

The Charter Captain made reservations for us and told us to bring some our catch to make into an appetizer. We did, and they did...for $15. The portions were generous, the setting casual and friendly, the staff was nice, the view was nice and the prices were not insane. This is certainly one I would come back to and send friend to. Reservations need to be made early during the weekend as this is both a visitor and local favorite.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bluff, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Dinner on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Walked in without a reservation and wanted to eat outside. They were setting up for a huge party that soon would be taking over most of the downstairs and outside areas. The hostess went out of her way to get us a beachside table. The cocktails were generous. The service was fast and adequate. Our server was dedicated to the tables not associated with the group and we enjoyed good service. We had the tuna appetizer which was very good and shared a seafood and pasta dish. They charged $1.99 for the spilt and gave us each generous portions of salad and the split serving was more than enough for both of us with left overs for lunch. There was plenty of seafood and the sauce was delicious. My only complaint was that a few of the mussels were not opened. The kitchen should ck this prior to sending out the food. Our server quickly replaced them for us I was leery this might be a tourist trap. But they proved me wrong

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Average ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

My husband and I went here for dinner after reading the recommendations.
We had an average meal. We both went for a meat dish-I think the fish dishes would have been the better choice.
Unfortunately not much flavour to my dish and his was very very sweet, he had teriyaki beef! The service was very quick, and the server seemed nice. We took some dessert away with us which was lovely. We wouldn't return again, wasn't awful at all just wasn't great. Shame really.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lazy Days also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Lazy Days? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lazy Days, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.