We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bar...Remember it's a bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean View Inn and Sports Pub

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean View Inn and Sports Pub
Save
You added Ocean View Inn and Sports Pub to your Saves list
84500 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Islamorada
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
393 reviews 393 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
338 helpful votes 338 helpful votes
“Good bar...Remember it's a bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Didnt stay at the hotel, but had lunch at the bar outside. Seems friendly enough, lot of local regulars. Waitress was not good, but I understand that Gloria is the star there, and wasn't here this day. Good burger and wing stop, keep your expectations in check.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    35
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
20
64
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denton
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We wanted to stop for the night in Islamorada on our way to Key West, this place was recommended by someone on one of the forums here. I called, talked to one of the (friendly) owners, and booked over the phone . . .$179 for a large room with tile floors, two beds, small table w/two chairs, microwave, minifridge, coffee maker, large TV, bath w/shower and extra towels, private patio outside w/large table and chair. They had a heated pool and a large outdoor patio off the bar. They also had a bunch of playground equipment for kids . . . and a pathway down to a pier in case you wanted to arrive in your boat!

Our room was very cute . . . it was done up in a beach motiff and everything was colorful and spotless. We were very surprised. There is only eight rooms here and we had #8, the farthest away from the bar area. We slept great, heard no bar noise, and only a faint highway noise.

Nice place to stay, we would return.

Sandy (in Denton)

Room Tip: Room 8 is quiet and farthest from bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The rooms are fantastic I like #4 the best. Heated pool, dock, its just a great place one of the last vestiges of old florida. Tell Lars and Gary that Chris says hi. I was there for the lobster mini season

Room Tip: I like #4 the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stopped here on the way down to Key West. Thursday was Steak night and one of the best NY strip(and cheapest !)steaks I had on my trip. Great Sports bar, if you enjoy watching on tv with a beer. Rooms were fine and although quite close to the road we had no noise at night. If I went back to the keys I would make certain i stopped here again .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavernier, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stopped at the sports bar. When it was time to go, we got the check. She told us the card didn't work. So we gave her a new card. She ran the new card and I walked out. My husband stayed another 5 minutes. She came running back saying the check was wrong (it was not). She added another $15 to the total. Then asked him to increase the tip. He said no. Then we left and found three different charges on our cards. We had tipped her 20% she didn't think that was enough and so she increased the check to give herself more funds. We are protesting two of the charges.

We won't return. She's a bad waitress to begin with, she gets to you when it's convenient to her. She's been there too long and so the customers are getting strong armed by her.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Nice little out of the way hotel,,,,, Clean, great pool, and terrific sports bar. Great staff. Just right for a single night or several. ....each room has a lot of conveniences if your stay a few days, or just the night.

Room Tip: I prefer the very end room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio City, Ohio
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Our stay at Ocean View was one of the highlights of our vacation. After several busy days, it was great to simply relax by the pool, take the short walk to the bar, sip our drinks, and just enjoy the sun. Our room was great, clean, and had a coffee pot (with enough coffee for 16 cups), a fridge and a microwave. There is no alarm clock, nor is there a hair dryer - no big deal, though.

We didn't eat at OV, but we did have drinks - very reasonably priced after what we experienced at Key West. We enjoyed talking with the other friendly visitors - a nice couple from England that we shared the sunset and drinks with.

A great find was the little boardwalk that took us to the water. Walk from the pool, past the fire pit and horse shoe pits, and you will discover your pathway to the water. There are benches to sit and relax as you watch the boaters or the sun. Take two drinks with you.....one won't be enough!

We will be back to visit Ocean View Inn, it just won't be soon enough!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean View Inn and Sports Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Inn and Sports Pub

Address: 84500 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Islamorada
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Ocean View Inn And Sports Pub Hotel Islamorada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean View Inn and Sports Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.