We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh, why did I have to leave!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean View Inn and Sports Pub

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean View Inn and Sports Pub
Save
You added Ocean View Inn and Sports Pub to your Saves list
84500 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ohio City, Ohio
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Oh, why did I have to leave!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Our stay at Ocean View was one of the highlights of our vacation. After several busy days, it was great to simply relax by the pool, take the short walk to the bar, sip our drinks, and just enjoy the sun. Our room was great, clean, and had a coffee pot (with enough coffee for 16 cups), a fridge and a microwave. There is no alarm clock, nor is there a hair dryer - no big deal, though.

We didn't eat at OV, but we did have drinks - very reasonably priced after what we experienced at Key West. We enjoyed talking with the other friendly visitors - a nice couple from England that we shared the sunset and drinks with.

A great find was the little boardwalk that took us to the water. Walk from the pool, past the fire pit and horse shoe pits, and you will discover your pathway to the water. There are benches to sit and relax as you watch the boaters or the sun. Take two drinks with you.....one won't be enough!

We will be back to visit Ocean View Inn, it just won't be soon enough!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    36
    9
    7
    3
See reviews for
21
68
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Really enjoyed our short stay. Clean well presented room with a small kitchen area, private walkway to pool a great idea. Food at the inn was ok but choice of menu could have been better. Too much fast food. Whilst we enjoyed the friendly relaxing atmosphere, the motel would benefit from a maintenance schedule, the gardens need a gardener. My only negative comment is that visitors to the bar are allowed access to the private pool and the area is not big enough to cope. Generally good value for money. The rooms would benefit by having more utensils and plates, dishes etc

Room Tip: If you like your nights peaceful avoid rooms 1 to 3 as there is noise from the busy and lively bar a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

What a great stop - A great little motel, clean, comfortable, great outdoor poolbar and super sports bar for those who prefer neon tans. Rooms are bright with some amenities ( coffee pot, microwave,) end rooms are a little larger. This was an excellent spot for our overnight stay.

Room Tip: End rooms are nice - a little bigger but they all have outside patios to sit and watch the day go by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

What else can I say. There's an inside bar, outside bar, fire pit, and outside dining area. Bar tenders are friendly, bar food above average, at least the burgers and Cubans. Rooms have patios the connect to a path the the pool and outside bar. Huge NFL Sundays both inside and out. Rooms a very clean. The only reason it's not 5 is the age. They have done a good job with upgrades, but it's old and there is only so much they can do. Unless you are used the high end hotels, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Whether you are lucky enough to snag one of the 6 rooms at the OV or you just enjoy the back patio and Sports Bar - this is an Islamorada tradition that must be savored. If you are passing thru to Key West or further South, time your trip for lunch here. Lars and staff run a casual but well organized venue where the drinks are generous and the food delicious. Try the Mahi Mahi sandwich. The rooms are always spotless and each room has a patio./ Lanai in the Palmettos with trails leading to a surprisingly nice pool out back. Lars has the most amazing array of digital screens out back so if you are watching sports you have truly arrived. Congratulate him on his recent marriage if you go soon. Gulf out back and Atlantic across the street. A gem

Room Tip: I like the one next to the bar but that would only save you a few steps LOL
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I had a very nice stay at this property with my family. The first night we got locked out of our room and the owner was not too happy to let us in. You get just what you see in the pics, and free WiFi. I did find this to be a hang out for locals and they sometimes hang out drunk at the pool. Nothing close by, so a car ride to anything of interest.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and it was a really nice, comfortable "home" to come back to after our day trips to Annes beach, Robbies for kayaking, Key West and Looe Key snorkel. The pool is perfect after such hot days and the bar is great to just walk up from the pool to get a drink. We got the chili fries and they were delicious! We walked out to the boarwalk and pier to watch the sunset and although it's off to the side, it is still beautiful. The firpit was also great. My husband is a very early riser and enjoyed going out on the private patio with his book to wait for me and our daughter to finish sleeping. The outdoor shower was a nice addition and kept the sandy floors to a minimal. The only drawback was on our last morning, we had run out of coffee provided in the room so I went to the bar to ask and she did not seem happy to get up to get me some, but it was good just the same. The evening bartender was very entertaining and the housekeeper was such a nice lady :) A great stay overall. Extra info: we stopped at the Lobster trap art gallery nearby and they have some great unique items by local artists and my hubby bought me a gorgeous sea glass pendant there!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean View Inn and Sports Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Inn and Sports Pub

Address: 84500 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Islamorada
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Ocean View Inn And Sports Pub Hotel Islamorada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean View Inn and Sports Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.