We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great old-timey Keys escape” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Best of Both Worlds

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Best of Both Worlds
Save
You added Best of Both Worlds to your Saves list
75700 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Islamorada B&B and Inns
ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great old-timey Keys escape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is a wonderful Keys experience- great location just south of Islamorada in central Keys; very nice old style Keys accommodations; peaceful with great view of water and sunset-and Linda is a great proprietress. There are several different size lodgings and they have all kinds of stuff to make your vacation easy (kayaks, inner tubes, bikes, grills, coolers.etc.)-so you don;t have to worry about over packing or leaving something behind. VERY laid back. My only critiques: 1- bikes not in very good shape 2-we were there is a real cold spell (high 40s at night) and there is no heat- but we used oven to warm place up just fine 3- the house rental has really bad water pressure in the shower (I checked with the other guests and the other units seem to be fine). This is really a great romantic place to enjoy the Keys!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

This was my husband and i's second time staying here and we loved it! The first time we stayed in the cottage by ourselves and this time we rented the house and invited my mother in law and brother in law. It's a very charming property with old Florida lodging that is kept very clean. I didn't say anything to my host because I wasn't terribly bothered by it but I did find a piece of chewed gum on the rug moments after we arrived so I know it wasn't from us, otherwise I would have given 5 stars for cleanliness. A note for families or non couples is that this house is listed as sleeping 5 but that meant for max comfort my brother in law had to share a king bed with his mom and my husband and I stayed in the other divided off room area which has another king bed. There is only one private bedroom and it Strangely has a whole in the wall covered by a curtain. The bed in the pull out wasn't fit for sleeping on. Al that said the value is amazing. They have bikes and kayaks and snorkel equipment that you can use. I loved cooking the food that we brought from home In the kitchen and using the grill. Linda, the hosts very pleasant and easygoing. She wants you to have an excellent and relaxing time. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Our stay for three nights was in the townhouse. It was clean and roomy...although a bit out dated. We wern't there to live, just needed a place to bathe and sleep Mike and Linda who care for and run the place are very accomodating and friendly. Mike took us sailing at sunset and gave us a quick lesson on how to sail...it was very relaxing and beautiful at sunset. ... Keys Diving is just four miles north and great people to spend the day with!, there is also a "beach" called Annes beach about a mile or so south that had covered picnic tables and bathrooms...Robbies Hungry Tarpon has awesome breakfast and dinner best food we had in the keys so far!!!! During the day they have outdoor vendors and Kayak rental which we did...beautiful trip through the mangroves and we even seen the croc! This part of the keys is as of right now my favorite, centrally located and lots to see and do and shop! Also make sure you stop at Publix in Key Largo or WinnDixie in Tavernier. Gas is also cheaper in Key Largo. Overall we had a relaxing stay at Best of Both Worlds and would go back again.

Room Tip: They own one townhouse in the complex,and next door the cottage and house are "old florida"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diedorf, Bayern, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

If you are looking for a place that's affordable but apart from the usual stereotype motels this is it. Everytime I think about it, the song Don't worry be happy by Bobby McFerrin comes to my mind and I wish I could be there again. We are a family of 5 from Germany and we stayed there for a few days in December of 2011. We all loved the Carribean flair that surrounds this place. It reminded me of those Bacardi rum commercials showing happy people on a beautiful beach. The place is just totally relaxing and peaceful. We had rented the big house, where we felt very comfortable. It was clean and airy with a full sized kitchen, where we cooked some of the seafood we had bought during our outings. In the evening you just wanted to sit and watch the sun set. Mike and Linda, the couple who runs the place, are wonderful people and helpful in every way. One evening, when we ran out of wine, I just mentioned it to Mike, and a few minutes later, he was there with a bottle to help us out. When we couldn't crack the stone crabs that we had bought, he showed us a little trick how to do it. In a very short time it felt as if we had known them for years and they were good friends. When we finally had to leave again we all wished we could have stayed longer. Mike and Linda, watch out, we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We stayed a few nights and I can only recommend Mike & Linda cottage. Clean, quiet, convenient and ideally located.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We rented the Cottage (one of the 3 units) at the resort and I would have to say it was just perfectly set up with all the perfect necessities...Our cottage was very clean and comfortable and just perfect in every way~ The Innkeepers Linda and Mike made us feel right at home and went over and above making us feel so very comfortable. They took us out on their sail boat for a day of snorkeling and ended up at Robby's a wonderful restaurant just a short sail away for the resort. There were plenty of tiki shops all around and loads of fishing boats coming and going with very happy tourist bringing home their humungust amounts of "catch" for the day. This resort "Best of Both Worlds" is perfect for a nice quiet getaway with out all the fluff and stuffiness that the bigger resorts have. If you like privacy and serenity in a low key "Island Style" getaway .... take it from us this was a perfect getaway from the hustle of our busy lifestyle. The resort offered us kayaks, bicycles, hammocks, lounge chairs a sail boat and power boat that we put to good use. Mike and Linda we will be back and send all our friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We can't say enough about our month vacation with Linda and Mike at The Best Of Both Worlds. We were able to bring our German Shepherd Kelsey and had total freedom in everyway. I could go on and on, but if you stay here you will discover for yourselfs how truly woderful of a vacation we had last Jan, 2011.

We met a great couple, Nanc and George who have become very good friends. You will also love Linda and Mike and they will also become your friends.

We are returning to the Best of Both Worlds Jan, 2012 and can't wait to see Linda and Mike again (Linda, I want to say to you, that you work to hard) and when the four of us get there in Jan, 2012 we will have to slow you down.

See you IN THE WINTER

Connie and Jay

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Best of Both Worlds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best of Both Worlds

Address: 75700 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a quarter mile off the highway, this 1.75 Acres of private waterfront property is quiet, secluded, and lush with coconut palms and papaya trees. A slice of Old Keys-style paradise, there are only three units on the property, all of which have beautiful views of the Gulf of Mexico and the many mangrove islands in the distance. Three of the units on the property are efficiency units and come with everything you need. Two are perfect for couples, and one is great for larger groups. The old conch-house style units are very clean and comfortable, with just a hint of the old quirky, "Keys-ee" decor. Have you ever wanted to try sleeping on a boat? We have one of sailboats waiting for you. Need room to spread out? Consider staying at the townhouse on the property next door. Only steps away from the water, you will not find accommodations that offer more peace, quiet, privacy, and amenities. Experience the beautiful sunsets every night, and take advantage of our complimentary bicycles, kayaks and snorkeling gear. Have your own boat? We've got plenty of room to dock it during your stay at no extra charge. Maybe you'd like to try sailing? We also have sailboats on the property available to rent. When you are not out sailing, snorkeling or kayaking, there is always plenty to see and do at the Best of Both Worlds, Islamorada. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best of Both Worlds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.