We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Fine Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caloosa Cove Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Caloosa Cove Resort
73801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 73.8, Islamorada, FL 33036   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 14 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Estero, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a Fine Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We rented for a week, while my wife rode in the Miami MS200 charity bike ride. I fished on a charter out of Robbies' Marina, just 3 miles north on US Hwy 1. Great location, with easy access to boating, beaches, restaurants, beach bars for happy hour, and local attractions. The units are a bit dated, but are spotless and well-maintained. The pool is excellent as well, and there's a pub right off the pool deck. The units have a very reasonable nightly rate, but you can find whole weeks available from unit owners at an even better rate if you search the "usual" sites.

Oh yeah...there are other amenities...tennis being one. Check out their website to investigate.

You can find fancier and newer resorts, but I don't think you can match the value at Caloosa Cove!

Room Tip: All the units are good, but on the first floor, I like 115 & 116 because they're right at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    10
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers Beach
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Our family recently stayed at this hotel and were ready to pack up and leave after only 2 days of our total week holiday. There is a bar located right in front of the hotel and plays very loud music nightly until 2:00 am.. It felt that the band was right in our livingroom. Management tried to help but to no avail as the next sleepless night came and went with the same thumping noise.I would not recommend this hotel for a family. Too bad as the place itself would have been fine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

If you are not looking for a lot of "frills" but want a place that is clean and has a beautiful ocean views, this is the place. We have stayed here two years now, in the January/February timeframe and had a very nice stay. Last year we stayed for a week, this year for 5 nights. We stayed in a studio and it was great having a kitchen. Our only complaint might be the bed could be a little more comfortable, but the room is well stocked with dishes, the applicances work well and the balcony which overlookes the pool was great for morning coffee and evening relaxation. The pool is also heated and very clean. The property is located in a beautiful and quieter area of the Keys yet close to lots of great restaurants. We very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

For many years, my husband and I have been vacationing on Islamorada. We finally stayed at Caloosa Cove. This place is terrific. There is a great deck and pool. Their beach had bbq grills. You can rent bikes at the front desk. Their rooms are so spacious and so clean. And we had 2 full bathrooms. We could not find anything wrong. Stop at Publix or Winn Dixie on your way down from Miami and pick up all the groceries you want. There is everything you need in the well stocked kitchen!! We enjoyed out stay so much!! the decks on the ocean side are well maintained and there are private areas where you can sit and have a meal or a drink undisturbed. There is a lovely outdoor garden in front which is lovely to stroll thru - Plus tennis courts, shuffle board, ping pong and basketball. It's tucked away on a quiet part of lower Matacumbe Key (an island of Islamorada) and walking distance to a great cuban restaurant, Gas station/bait & tackle/grocery store. Walking distance to Anne's Beach is a treasure. Adjacent to the pool is a bar called the Safari. Great inexpensive drinks and even with a live band it was still quiet around the resort. Do a lot or do nothing - Caloosa Cove has it all. We've already booked for next year! Take a look at our pictures - the pictures on their website does not do the place justice.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 226 it had a great view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My husband and I spent a week at Caloosa Cove. The room was quiet clean and comfortable. It is nice having a kitchen in the room. Saves money as you don't have to eat out for every meal. The resort has a nice pool and deck area. There is also a small beach area with grills chairs and great views of the ocean. Anne's Beach is a short walk. The decor and some furniture is dated but comfortable. I really don't care about decor as long as the rooms are clean and comfortable which ours was. Internet was easily accessible and fast enough for me to work. I look forward to my visit next year or maybe sooner (depending on winter) :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pt Pleasant Beach
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The property is a bit dated but what isn't in the Florida Keys! The Staff were very friendly and everything was as clean as could be. The unit we stayed in was afforded plenty of room for our family of 4 with a 3 year old and 11 year old boys. The pool was huge and the little beach was empty and well maintained.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamorada, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed at Caloosa Cove for a (2) Night Meeting. The resort is kept very clean and neat. Out on the beach the day is peaceful with the sounds of palm trees and the occasional fishing boat coming and going. The resort has many tiki huts that add to the tropical feel of the resort. We had dinner at Havanos, drinks at the Safari Lounge, and fished with Roy Lindback on the Tiki Charter boat. It is nice to have these services right there. What a great time :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Caloosa Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caloosa Cove Resort

Address: 73801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 73.8, Islamorada, FL 33036
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Also Known As:
Caloosa Cove Hotel Islamorada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caloosa Cove Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Caloosa Cove Resort to your Saves list