We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret on Islamorada” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caloosa Cove Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Caloosa Cove Resort
Save
You added Caloosa Cove Resort to your Saves list
73801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 73.8, Islamorada, FL 33036   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Islamorada B&B and Inns
New York City
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best kept secret on Islamorada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

For many years, my husband and I have been vacationing on Islamorada. We finally stayed at Caloosa Cove. This place is terrific. There is a great deck and pool. Their beach had bbq grills. You can rent bikes at the front desk. Their rooms are so spacious and so clean. And we had 2 full bathrooms. We could not find anything wrong. Stop at Publix or Winn Dixie on your way down from Miami and pick up all the groceries you want. There is everything you need in the well stocked kitchen!! We enjoyed out stay so much!! the decks on the ocean side are well maintained and there are private areas where you can sit and have a meal or a drink undisturbed. There is a lovely outdoor garden in front which is lovely to stroll thru - Plus tennis courts, shuffle board, ping pong and basketball. It's tucked away on a quiet part of lower Matacumbe Key (an island of Islamorada) and walking distance to a great cuban restaurant, Gas station/bait & tackle/grocery store. Walking distance to Anne's Beach is a treasure. Adjacent to the pool is a bar called the Safari. Great inexpensive drinks and even with a live band it was still quiet around the resort. Do a lot or do nothing - Caloosa Cove has it all. We've already booked for next year! Take a look at our pictures - the pictures on their website does not do the place justice.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 226 it had a great view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    13
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My husband and I spent a week at Caloosa Cove. The room was quiet clean and comfortable. It is nice having a kitchen in the room. Saves money as you don't have to eat out for every meal. The resort has a nice pool and deck area. There is also a small beach area with grills chairs and great views of the ocean. Anne's Beach is a short walk. The decor and some furniture is dated but comfortable. I really don't care about decor as long as the rooms are clean and comfortable which ours was. Internet was easily accessible and fast enough for me to work. I look forward to my visit next year or maybe sooner (depending on winter) :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pt Pleasant Beach
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The property is a bit dated but what isn't in the Florida Keys! The Staff were very friendly and everything was as clean as could be. The unit we stayed in was afforded plenty of room for our family of 4 with a 3 year old and 11 year old boys. The pool was huge and the little beach was empty and well maintained.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamorada, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed at Caloosa Cove for a (2) Night Meeting. The resort is kept very clean and neat. Out on the beach the day is peaceful with the sounds of palm trees and the occasional fishing boat coming and going. The resort has many tiki huts that add to the tropical feel of the resort. We had dinner at Havanos, drinks at the Safari Lounge, and fished with Roy Lindback on the Tiki Charter boat. It is nice to have these services right there. What a great time :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I rented a week for April 2012 from Charles Roberts who advertises on Craigslist quite heavily.
My wife and I thought we might like to buy a timeshare week at this location. So, we visited the Florida Keys in October of 2011. We found Caloosa Cove to be very dated and unattractive. The landscaping looks like it hasn't been maintained for decades. The building exteriors are old and worn. The pool looked nice, but the decking had been replaced with simulated wood and the railings were splintered wood...not at all what you would expect around a swimming pool. Six months before our reservation, we cancelled our reservation with Charles Roberts and asked for a refund of our $200 deposit. He has refused to refund any of our deposit. So, beware of who you are dealing with when booking reservations for the Caloosa Cove resort.

We are very happy that we took the time to check out Caloosa Cove before attempting to buy a timeshare week there. It would have been a major mistake. There are many nicer places to stay in the Florida Keys.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Great Atlantic Ocean views. Room that I had was a one bedroom, two bath unit with 2 patios overlooking the ocean. My son and wife stayed in a studio unit. Both units were clean and modern compared to other resorts that we stayed at in the Keys. Been going there for over 20 years and enjoy the "do nothing - or do as much as you want" atmosphere. Caloosa Cove Resort has one of the largest pools and party decks in the Keys. Great staff and very friendly. Looking forward to my next trip there in 2013.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

This place is really nice, quite, very helpful staff, squeaky clean top to bottom. The Cuban food at the restaurant is outstanding. They have plenty of parking including on site parking for boats and trailers, charter fishing next door, bait, tackle and grocery's. I'll go there again.

Room Tip: The charter boat "Tiki" next door at marina, Capt Roy, best skipper in area, knows where t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caloosa Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caloosa Cove Resort

Address: 73801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 73.8, Islamorada, FL 33036
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Caloosa Cove Hotel Islamorada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caloosa Cove Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.