We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for this price point” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn
Save
You added Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn to your Saves list
82150 Overseas Highway, PO Box 484, Islamorada, FL 33036   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 13 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good for this price point”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We have stayed in Islamorada many times, but this place consistenly delivers on cleanliness which is a lot to ask for down in the Keys. If you want a clean, no frills place to crash between dives or fishing trips this is your place. The innkeepers are very nice too. No mold problems like other Keys lodging...

Room Tip: The room next to the innkeeper is large and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    47
    32
    14
    11
See reviews for
21
52
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This is a fifty's style Mom & Pop type motel. I stayed there in April for the first time and will stay there on my future trips to the Keys. This is an excellent place to stay if you take your bicycle as it is all flat land and there are all kinds of restaurants and attractions within easy cycling distance. This is a $45-$65 motel in an area where most motels start at $90-$100 and average about $200 a night and up so it pays to call ahead for reservations. The owners are very friendly and helpful and if you just walk in they will try to accommodate you but with their prices they tend to fill up fast.
All the rooms are on the ground floor and you can park in front of your room so you don't have to lug you baggage onto an elevator or up a set of stairs.

Room Tip: The Blue Fin has better parking for RVs and large SUVs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, TX
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

The room was large and clean as was the bath. There is no ambiance here, but just a block away is the Lorelei Restaurant & Cabana Bar right on the water with good music and drinks. If you just want a place to spend a night or two without any frills, this is a good value.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

... not for great cleanliness and freshness of rooms. Floor and table seemed kind of greasy and pillowcases had stains on them.

However, the room was huge and we had a full kitchen (could not use the oven though, because dishes and grills were so so dirty).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

If you are looking for low cost shelter this is the place for you.

Other than price, little to recommend this motel. Rooms are beaten hard, bathrooms are run down and beds are old.

Like ambiance with your stay? Yard has broken down lawn furniture, no phone in the rooms, and the air conditioner blew fumes all night that smelled like a fermenting tub of unknown origin. Don't turn on the heat with A/C unit, it set off the fire alarm in the room.

In hindsight, I would recommend sleeping in the car.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there are any good rooms. The ones on the north side, with two beds, at least had r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Wow. Not sure where to start. I suppose depressing is a good description of this hotel. Run down also works.

Paid $60 per night, but the hotel is worth about $30, provided you can put up with the smell in the rooms. Bring sandals because you won't want to go barefoot in the bathroom.

Lovely landscaping. Very turn of the century abandoned trailer park chic. Not for children unless they have had a tetanus booster.

Concrete block walls in the rooms. Don't see that very often.

I recommend this hotel for stays involving ex-wives and in-laws.

The comments above are meant to be humorous, but this hotel is grim. Take a pass.

Room Tip: To get the best room, stop at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

The Keys are way expensive - like $250 for a good room. For $68 the Blue Fin gives you a kitchenette with old double beds that have lost firmness and there will be little ants and spiders on the counter tops and tub and bathroom sink. If you are really squeemish about bugs you best spend $250 somewhere else. If you don't mind you can save a bundle staying there. We stayed 4 nights so we saved a huge amount. The kitchenette works well.I don't think i would go to the keys if i had to spend $200+ on a room so we make do there. I'm giving it an average due to the price. I don't think you can do any better for that price but i could be wrong.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
2.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#7 of 20 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 stars 791 reviews
19.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#3 of 18 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 stars 2,307 reviews
2.1 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
1.7 mi away
Pines and Palms Resort
Pines and Palms Resort
#3 of 13 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 stars 467 reviews
7.1 mi away
Conch on Inn Motel
Conch on Inn Motel
#7 of 13 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn

Address: 82150 Overseas Highway, PO Box 484, Islamorada, FL 33036
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Key Lantern Motel And Blue Fin Hotel Islamorada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.