We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trailer Park? Motel?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn
82150 Overseas Highway, PO Box 484, Islamorada, FL 33036   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 13 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Trailer Park? Motel?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

If you are looking for low cost shelter this is the place for you.

Other than price, little to recommend this motel. Rooms are beaten hard, bathrooms are run down and beds are old.

Like ambiance with your stay? Yard has broken down lawn furniture, no phone in the rooms, and the air conditioner blew fumes all night that smelled like a fermenting tub of unknown origin. Don't turn on the heat with A/C unit, it set off the fire alarm in the room.

In hindsight, I would recommend sleeping in the car.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there are any good rooms. The ones on the north side, with two beds, at least had r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    37
    25
    11
    10
See reviews for
17
41
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Wow. Not sure where to start. I suppose depressing is a good description of this hotel. Run down also works.

Paid $60 per night, but the hotel is worth about $30, provided you can put up with the smell in the rooms. Bring sandals because you won't want to go barefoot in the bathroom.

Lovely landscaping. Very turn of the century abandoned trailer park chic. Not for children unless they have had a tetanus booster.

Concrete block walls in the rooms. Don't see that very often.

I recommend this hotel for stays involving ex-wives and in-laws.

The comments above are meant to be humorous, but this hotel is grim. Take a pass.

Room Tip: To get the best room, stop at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

The Keys are way expensive - like $250 for a good room. For $68 the Blue Fin gives you a kitchenette with old double beds that have lost firmness and there will be little ants and spiders on the counter tops and tub and bathroom sink. If you are really squeemish about bugs you best spend $250 somewhere else. If you don't mind you can save a bundle staying there. We stayed 4 nights so we saved a huge amount. The kitchenette works well.I don't think i would go to the keys if i had to spend $200+ on a room so we make do there. I'm giving it an average due to the price. I don't think you can do any better for that price but i could be wrong.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Review is based on price paid.

Our room was on the Key Lantern side.

Room was absolutely huge, with 2 double beds. The tv was an old tube style, but picture was clear and there were tons of channels. Walls were white brick - odd but didn't bother us. Floor was polished cement or something - odd again but didn't bother us. One bed was quite comfortable, but the other had a very old not great mattress.

Bathroom was huge too with a stand up shower (no bathtub). The shower didn't drain well at all, which was kind of gross since you were standing in ankle deep water by the end. There was a door out the back from the bathroom that we didn't like at all - the only lock on it was a little pin thing that slid a tiny bit into the door frame. This made us feel insecure enough that we didn't leave any valuables at all in the room.

Room had a small fridge in it which was very nice to have.

Room seemed to be quite clean - no issues there for us.

Room had wifi, which worked fine for us. They seem to know that it might not work in all rooms though because I was told that if I had a problem they have a screened in room at the front that I could sit in to get better reception.

Located a very short stroll from Loreilei in a trailer park sort of. Didn't really sit outside but did walk back after dark and never felt unsafe.

The price is great for the keys. I would stay here again if in the area.

ktown

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

This central location brings you stumbling distance from the live music and great sunsets at the Lorelia, short cab ride to Morada Bay, tower of pizza and Islamorada Bakery. The money you save can be spent on gas for your boat, bait for the fish or drinks for fun.

Room Tip: Book ahead and get the kitchen for 10 dollars more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Big studio suite, kitchen equipment was old but clean. No WIFI signal in the room, but if you stay for 1-2 nights, its not a big deal. For 88 bucks incl tax great deal for Islamorado. Will stay there next time on the way to Key West

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

I was more miffed by the whole Keys experience than this motel to be honest, but I can't ignore the fact that it was a run-down building sandwiched inside an extremely sketchy trailer park. I don't think the locks would have done much if someone had decided to walk into our room from outside, and the walls were so thin that we forced to join in on our neighbours' Jeopardy festivals and constant hacking.

My wife and I had never been to the Keys before, but we had been to Cuba, Cozumel and Costa Rica. I thought that no matter how grubby this motel was, at least we'd be close to the sea. All we really needed was a bed to sleep on for a few hours each night.

It turns out that unlike some of the other southern places we have stayed, almost all oceanfront property in the Keys is private (with the exception of a few state parks). When we wandered down to the water's edge, we were greeted with welcoming signs such as "STAY AWAY!" and "GET OUT!". Nice. The only place near the motel that we could even sit by the water was Lorelei restaurant, which was actually kind of a nice bar and grill.

The room itself smelled a bit musty, but nothing that we hadn't expected for $65/night. There was a TV with poor reception, a mini-fridge, and a decent bathroom. No frills beyond that. The trailer park that the motel is nestled into was seriously run down, and was comedically juxtaposed to the mansions and yachts lining the oceanfront only hundreds of metres away.

The whole island is all about "bigtime sportfishing". We were pretty disturbed and confused when the motel gave us brochures that advertised dolphin hunting, but when we asked around, they're actually talking about dolphinfish, which is another name for mahi mahi. I don't think that the confusion is unintentional, as a lot of the people on the island seemed like they were looking to harpoon everything that moved.

A strange place, and not our cup of tea. Thankfully we only did this at the tail end of our actual trip, which was a 5-day paddling tour of the Everglades. Interesting to see what the Keys are about, but we likely won't be going back.

Room Tip: No matter which room you choose, it's going to seem like you're staying in a low-grade trail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn

Address: 82150 Overseas Highway, PO Box 484, Islamorada, FL 33036
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Key Lantern Motel And Blue Fin Hotel Islamorada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn to your Saves list