We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value located in the middle keys” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn
Save
You added Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn to your Saves list
82150 Overseas Highway, PO Box 484, Islamorada, FL 33036   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 13 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Coconut Creek, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great value located in the middle keys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

This central location brings you stumbling distance from the live music and great sunsets at the Lorelia, short cab ride to Morada Bay, tower of pizza and Islamorada Bakery. The money you save can be spent on gas for your boat, bait for the fish or drinks for fun.

Room Tip: Book ahead and get the kitchen for 10 dollars more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    41
    28
    13
    10
See reviews for
18
45
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Big studio suite, kitchen equipment was old but clean. No WIFI signal in the room, but if you stay for 1-2 nights, its not a big deal. For 88 bucks incl tax great deal for Islamorado. Will stay there next time on the way to Key West

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

I was more miffed by the whole Keys experience than this motel to be honest, but I can't ignore the fact that it was a run-down building sandwiched inside an extremely sketchy trailer park. I don't think the locks would have done much if someone had decided to walk into our room from outside, and the walls were so thin that we forced to join in on our neighbours' Jeopardy festivals and constant hacking.

My wife and I had never been to the Keys before, but we had been to Cuba, Cozumel and Costa Rica. I thought that no matter how grubby this motel was, at least we'd be close to the sea. All we really needed was a bed to sleep on for a few hours each night.

It turns out that unlike some of the other southern places we have stayed, almost all oceanfront property in the Keys is private (with the exception of a few state parks). When we wandered down to the water's edge, we were greeted with welcoming signs such as "STAY AWAY!" and "GET OUT!". Nice. The only place near the motel that we could even sit by the water was Lorelei restaurant, which was actually kind of a nice bar and grill.

The room itself smelled a bit musty, but nothing that we hadn't expected for $65/night. There was a TV with poor reception, a mini-fridge, and a decent bathroom. No frills beyond that. The trailer park that the motel is nestled into was seriously run down, and was comedically juxtaposed to the mansions and yachts lining the oceanfront only hundreds of metres away.

The whole island is all about "bigtime sportfishing". We were pretty disturbed and confused when the motel gave us brochures that advertised dolphin hunting, but when we asked around, they're actually talking about dolphinfish, which is another name for mahi mahi. I don't think that the confusion is unintentional, as a lot of the people on the island seemed like they were looking to harpoon everything that moved.

A strange place, and not our cup of tea. Thankfully we only did this at the tail end of our actual trip, which was a 5-day paddling tour of the Everglades. Interesting to see what the Keys are about, but we likely won't be going back.

Room Tip: No matter which room you choose, it's going to seem like you're staying in a low-grade trail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
402 reviews 402 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Nothing fancy here - but a clean and cozy room. The location is great as you can walk a short distance to a cabana bar where we sat and watched the sun set while the band played. Great value for the $$
Owners are great and very helpful. Nice people who seem to care.

Room Tip: We had a room at the Blue Fin Inn tho we booked a room for the Key Lantern Inn. I am not sure if on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed here between January 2 and 5, 2012. Our room (#22) was clean, bright, and comfortable. The rates are inexpensive and the location is good. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pineville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed in Dec 2011 during the Holiday breaks so we paid a little more BUT well worth it and still I think the best bargain on the keys! We had a room on the Blue Fin side with the kitchen. We had service items for 4 which was what we wanted. We could spend our money other places instead of eating out! Floors clean, room clean, bathroom clean. Water pressure in our shower was lower than we have at home BUT that is personal - we like high pressure so. . . It is NOT on the water but so what, we saved money to use elsewhere and it was well worth it. Also, get the FREE WIFI code from office. Place on entering room had a "bleach-chlorox" smell so it was clean. Opened windows and turned ceiling fan on high and within 5 minutes air was just fine!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, FL
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

My friend Annette and I stayed one night at the Blue Finn side of this motel. We had room 21, right next to the road and the soda machine. I have to say, for the price, $49 with a full kitchen, the room was immaculate and roomy. Only drawback was frequent visits to the soda machine by others staying here, so we kept the blinds shut. Also, in the morning, you could hear the traffic very early. It also is NOT on any beach, but behind it just down the road is the Lorelei Cabana Bar And Restaurant with dining next to the beach and a canal with boats and live music. We walked in, took some photos and left. It didn't seem to bother anyone. If you don't mind a room without being next to the beach, this is definitely a good value. We were suppose to stay 3 nights but decided we wanted something beachside to do some snorkeling.

Room Tip: Choose the Blue Finn side if possible, further from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn

Address: 82150 Overseas Highway, PO Box 484, Islamorada, FL 33036
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Key Lantern Motel And Blue Fin Hotel Islamorada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.