We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value located in the middle keys” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn
Save
You added Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn to your Saves list
82150 Overseas Highway, PO Box 484, Islamorada, FL 33036   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 13 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Coconut Creek, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great value located in the middle keys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

This central location brings you stumbling distance from the live music and great sunsets at the Lorelia, short cab ride to Morada Bay, tower of pizza and Islamorada Bakery. The money you save can be spent on gas for your boat, bait for the fish or drinks for fun.

Room Tip: Book ahead and get the kitchen for 10 dollars more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank polans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Big studio suite, kitchen equipment was old but clean. No WIFI signal in the room, but if you stay for 1-2 nights, its not a big deal. For 88 bucks incl tax great deal for Islamorado. Will stay there next time on the way to Key West

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

I was more miffed by the whole Keys experience than this motel to be honest, but I can't ignore the fact that it was a run-down building sandwiched inside an extremely sketchy trailer park. I don't think the locks would have done much if someone had decided to walk into our room from outside, and the walls were so thin that we forced to join in on our neighbours' Jeopardy festivals and constant hacking.

My wife and I had never been to the Keys before, but we had been to Cuba, Cozumel and Costa Rica. I thought that no matter how grubby this motel was, at least we'd be close to the sea. All we really needed was a bed to sleep on for a few hours each night.

It turns out that unlike some of the other southern places we have stayed, almost all oceanfront property in the Keys is private (with the exception of a few state parks). When we wandered down to the water's edge, we were greeted with welcoming signs such as "STAY AWAY!" and "GET OUT!". Nice. The only place near the motel that we could even sit by the water was Lorelei restaurant, which was actually kind of a nice bar and grill.

The room itself smelled a bit musty, but nothing that we hadn't expected for $65/night. There was a TV with poor reception, a mini-fridge, and a decent bathroom. No frills beyond that. The trailer park that the motel is nestled into was seriously run down, and was comedically juxtaposed to the mansions and yachts lining the oceanfront only hundreds of metres away.

The whole island is all about "bigtime sportfishing". We were pretty disturbed and confused when the motel gave us brochures that advertised dolphin hunting, but when we asked around, they're actually talking about dolphinfish, which is another name for mahi mahi. I don't think that the confusion is unintentional, as a lot of the people on the island seemed like they were looking to harpoon everything that moved.

A strange place, and not our cup of tea. Thankfully we only did this at the tail end of our actual trip, which was a 5-day paddling tour of the Everglades. Interesting to see what the Keys are about, but we likely won't be going back.

Room Tip: No matter which room you choose, it's going to seem like you're staying in a low-grade trail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terryhbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Islamorada hotels

Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
471 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Nothing fancy here - but a clean and cozy room. The location is great as you can walk a short distance to a cabana bar where we sat and watched the sun set while the band played. Great value for the $$
Owners are great and very helpful. Nice people who seem to care.

Room Tip: We had a room at the Blue Fin Inn tho we booked a room for the Key Lantern Inn. I am not sure if on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Riverliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed here between January 2 and 5, 2012. Our room (#22) was clean, bright, and comfortable. The rates are inexpensive and the location is good. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pineville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed in Dec 2011 during the Holiday breaks so we paid a little more BUT well worth it and still I think the best bargain on the keys! We had a room on the Blue Fin side with the kitchen. We had service items for 4 which was what we wanted. We could spend our money other places instead of eating out! Floors clean, room clean, bathroom clean. Water pressure in our shower was lower than we have at home BUT that is personal - we like high pressure so. . . It is NOT on the water but so what, we saved money to use elsewhere and it was well worth it. Also, get the FREE WIFI code from office. Place on entering room had a "bleach-chlorox" smell so it was clean. Opened windows and turned ceiling fan on high and within 5 minutes air was just fine!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, FL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

My friend Annette and I stayed one night at the Blue Finn side of this motel. We had room 21, right next to the road and the soda machine. I have to say, for the price, $49 with a full kitchen, the room was immaculate and roomy. Only drawback was frequent visits to the soda machine by others staying here, so we kept the blinds shut. Also, in the morning, you could hear the traffic very early. It also is NOT on any beach, but behind it just down the road is the Lorelei Cabana Bar And Restaurant with dining next to the beach and a canal with boats and live music. We walked in, took some photos and left. It didn't seem to bother anyone. If you don't mind a room without being next to the beach, this is definitely a good value. We were suppose to stay 3 nights but decided we wanted something beachside to do some snorkeling.

Room Tip: Choose the Blue Finn side if possible, further from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank 321AreaFemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
2.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 stars 905 reviews
19.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#4 of 17 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 stars 2,576 reviews
12.0 mi away
Dove Creek Lodge
Dove Creek Lodge
#2 of 17 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 stars 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle
0.9 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
1.7 mi away
Pines and Palms Resort
Pines and Palms Resort
#2 of 13 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 stars 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Lantern Motel and Blue Fin Inn

Address: 82150 Overseas Highway, PO Box 484, Islamorada, FL 33036
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Key Lantern Motel And Blue Fin Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing