We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great off season get-away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sands of Islamorada

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sands of Islamorada to your Saves list
Sands of Islamorada
80051 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 80, Islamorada, FL 33036   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Islamorada
Jourdanton
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great off season get-away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We had a great stay in Unit 19, the upstairs unit overlooking the bay. It has a private deck. We were here in September, though so very few vacationers. This small property is older, but well maintained. There is a pool and hot tub. The other cottages are downstairs units which do not overlook the bay. Would definitely stay in this unit again!

Room Tip: Upstairs Unit 19
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    50
    9
    1
    11
See reviews for
42
57
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toms River
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stayed here since we brought our dog. I like that on the website it shows you the actual room. Owners were very friendly and willing to help and answer any questions. Dog friendly property, they even supply bags so you can clean up after your dog. Very laid back atmosphere. Rooms were older key west style, but were very clean. Bathrooms were small. Parking is a little tight. The pool area is very nice and they have a dock with areas to sit. Two parrots are on the property which makes it more key west-ish. There are nicer hotels but when you come here you feel comfortable and at home. Much ambiance and def key west style! Thanks Bob and Kathy!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Stayed here July 13-15, 2012 and it was exceptional. Very clean, quiet and just perfect. We stayed in one of the complete rooms (efficiency) and it had everything you need to be comfortable on a long weekend - kitchen w/all the essentials, central air, beach towels, dining room, living room and bedroom...the pool and hot tub were inviting; BBQing with a perfect view, couldn't be more relaxing and My dog love it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Stayed here over spring break 2012. Comfortable well appointed rooms, friendly and responsive staff, beautiful pool, quiet loaction. I have not one complaint, and would absolutely stay here again. Our room was large and contained a full size fridge which was great for our snacks and drinks during the day (and freezing some of our fishing bounty) and it was a great mid point to explore the keys from (it is about 20 miles south of Key Largo). While swimming off the beach didn't look so appealing, I don't know that I saw anywhere down there that had a fab beach - hence the lovely pool area. This is our spot whenever we go back t the keys - thanks to Bob and Kathy

Room Tip: there are 2 larger suites closest to the beach. All rooms are quiet - we were closest to HWY 1 and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Stayed there memorial day weekend 2012 , the grounds and rooms were very clean and well maintained. Better than many no pet resorts I have seen . Their website does not do this place justice . Bob and Kathy were very caring and helpful during our stay . They definatly go above and beyond for their guests . We will definatly be staying there when we visit the keys ! Marina is well maintained. It's a little shallow but was easily navigable with my medium sized boat . Overall , it's a great place to stay !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Sadly we stayed for one night only at this wonderful motel on our way back from the Keys enroute to Miami. You reach the hotel directly off the main road and the minute you enter the car park the road outside seems to disappear and you are in beautifully planted gardents which lead out onto a small private beach and jetties. There is a pool and hot tub and two beautiful parrots called Tela and Dolly. We noted that the locals had brought their own dogs. A very family friendly place for older children and if we had more time we would definitely have spent more nights there. Cathy was very helpful and made great recommendations for dinner and breakfast. There is a beautiful sunset view from the jetties and I have to say this far surpassed our experience down in Key West.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Stayed for a week in early April on a visit from the UK, in room 13 - which was quiet, clean and comfortable, with two double beds ( fabulous mattresses!), a full sized fridge /freezer, microwave and coffee maker a/c unit (noisey) and fans, with a small ensuite washroom (shower, WC and sink). There are plenty of drawer units, a walk in cupboard, sofa and small table and chairs

The grounds are very prettily landscaped, with palm trees and flower borders, a large (clean) pool and big hot tub, decking with hammocks and plentiful chairs and shade areas, along with a barbecue.

There is a clean, coarse sand 'beach' area, boat launch ramp, jetty and boat moorings ( tricky, shallow, access at low water) overlooking the ocean and sufficient (but tight) parking for guests.

The owners,Bob and Kathy, were very friendly and most helpful - and are clearly concerned to maintain the well deserved reputation reflected in other reviews on this site.

This is not a motel for those looking for modern, five star luxury (or averse to dogs!) - but is certainly a clean, comfortable, characterful, friendly haven - with a full range of restaurants/ fast food outlets, marina and local shops very close by. We will be back!

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the highway may suffer from traffic noise, try for 18 / 19 with sea views if you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
0.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#7 of 20 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 stars 792 reviews
4.7 mi away
Coconut Cove Resort and Marina
4.1 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Siesta Resort & Marina
La Siesta Resort & Marina
#17 of 20 in Islamorada
3.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
1.1 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
3.5 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#14 of 20 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 stars 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands of Islamorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands of Islamorada

Address: 80051 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 80, Islamorada, FL 33036
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Islamorada
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An awesome, intimate escape right in the center of the Keys. All of our rooms have recently been refreshed from top to bottom. For a pet & people friendly tropical retreat...This is the spot. This is the kind of place Jimmy Buffett sings about. We are very Keysee and very clean! A sparkling pool and hot-tub with a view of the beach, boat launch and pier, await you. Our rooms and efficiencies can accomodate from 1 to 6 people very comfortably. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sands of Islamorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Of Islamorada Hotel Islamorada
Sands Hotel Islamorada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands of Islamorada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.