We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small mom and pop operations - highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sands of Islamorada

Save Saved
You added Sands of Islamorada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sands of Islamorada
80051 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 80, Islamorada, FL 33036   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 hotels in Islamorada
North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Small mom and pop operations - highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Stayed here over spring break 2012. Comfortable well appointed rooms, friendly and responsive staff, beautiful pool, quiet loaction. I have not one complaint, and would absolutely stay here again. Our room was large and contained a full size fridge which was great for our snacks and drinks during the day (and freezing some of our fishing bounty) and it was a great mid point to explore the keys from (it is about 20 miles south of Key Largo). While swimming off the beach didn't look so appealing, I don't know that I saw anywhere down there that had a fab beach - hence the lovely pool area. This is our spot whenever we go back t the keys - thanks to Bob and Kathy

Room Tip: there are 2 larger suites closest to the beach. All rooms are quiet - we were closest to HWY 1 and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    39
    7
    0
    9
See reviews for
31
47
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Stayed there memorial day weekend 2012 , the grounds and rooms were very clean and well maintained. Better than many no pet resorts I have seen . Their website does not do this place justice . Bob and Kathy were very caring and helpful during our stay . They definatly go above and beyond for their guests . We will definatly be staying there when we visit the keys ! Marina is well maintained. It's a little shallow but was easily navigable with my medium sized boat . Overall , it's a great place to stay !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Sadly we stayed for one night only at this wonderful motel on our way back from the Keys enroute to Miami. You reach the hotel directly off the main road and the minute you enter the car park the road outside seems to disappear and you are in beautifully planted gardents which lead out onto a small private beach and jetties. There is a pool and hot tub and two beautiful parrots called Tela and Dolly. We noted that the locals had brought their own dogs. A very family friendly place for older children and if we had more time we would definitely have spent more nights there. Cathy was very helpful and made great recommendations for dinner and breakfast. There is a beautiful sunset view from the jetties and I have to say this far surpassed our experience down in Key West.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Stayed for a week in early April on a visit from the UK, in room 13 - which was quiet, clean and comfortable, with two double beds ( fabulous mattresses!), a full sized fridge /freezer, microwave and coffee maker a/c unit (noisey) and fans, with a small ensuite washroom (shower, WC and sink). There are plenty of drawer units, a walk in cupboard, sofa and small table and chairs

The grounds are very prettily landscaped, with palm trees and flower borders, a large (clean) pool and big hot tub, decking with hammocks and plentiful chairs and shade areas, along with a barbecue.

There is a clean, coarse sand 'beach' area, boat launch ramp, jetty and boat moorings ( tricky, shallow, access at low water) overlooking the ocean and sufficient (but tight) parking for guests.

The owners,Bob and Kathy, were very friendly and most helpful - and are clearly concerned to maintain the well deserved reputation reflected in other reviews on this site.

This is not a motel for those looking for modern, five star luxury (or averse to dogs!) - but is certainly a clean, comfortable, characterful, friendly haven - with a full range of restaurants/ fast food outlets, marina and local shops very close by. We will be back!

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the highway may suffer from traffic noise, try for 18 / 19 with sea views if you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East coast
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed at Sands of Islamorada one night, as we were attending the nearby Full Moon party at Morada Bay Beach Cafe. This motel is small (9 rooms) but very nice, with many nice touches. There is a pool and a (covered) hot tub. There were several picnic tables, one of which was by the gas grill (which we used). And I remember hammocks, but I don't remember how many there were. The owners Kathy and Bob were most helpful to us, pointing out different features of the place, including the fact you could wade out quite far into the water along sand bars.

The room was nice and fit our needs. The only problem we had was the small parking area. Backing up the van in the morning, I managed to hit a palm tree, and broke our back window. But Kathy spent a lot of time on the phone finding a glass repair place that was open on Saturday morning, and could fix the problem. Many thanks, Kathy.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Stayed in room 16 - husband, Shih Tzu & Me. The room was spotless when we arrived and we were greeted warmly by the Manager. Had a microwave & full size fridge in the room. Our dog was able to walk around freely and lay in the shade next us while sunbathing. Very relaxing experience! The only thing keeping me from a 5 rating is that the room could use some updating.

Room Tip: We were in room #16. The two rooms closest to the water appear to have best view and are larger tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We enjoyed staying here in spite of how small it is. We stayed in #19. We wouldn't have wanted any other room. It has a hammock on the deck with an awesome view of the ocean and sunrise. Very laid back which is what we wanted. There was a tame squirrel that greeted us every day and we got a kick out of hand feeding her nuts. This is a dog friendly place. The managers are super nice and so are their dogs which we enjoyed since we didn't have ours. There's a nice dock to sit at the end on. You can watch the sunrise from this room/deck. The only complaint, if you'd call it that, is the parking which is very tight. The hot tub was really exceptionally nice, also. Overall for a small hotel this is quite nice.

Room Tip: Room #19 or #18. They are at the end and the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sands of Islamorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands of Islamorada

Address: 80051 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 80, Islamorada, FL 33036
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Islamorada
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An awesome, intimate escape right in the center of the Keys. All of our rooms have recently been refreshed from top to bottom. For a pet & people friendly tropical retreat...This is the spot. This is the kind of place Jimmy Buffett sings about. We are very Keysee and very clean! A sparkling pool and hot-tub with a view of the beach, boat launch and pier, await you. Our rooms and efficiencies can accomodate from 1 to 6 people very comfortably. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sands of Islamorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Of Islamorada Hotel Islamorada
Sands Hotel Islamorada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands of Islamorada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.