We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sands of Islamorada

Save Saved
You added Sands of Islamorada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sands of Islamorada
80051 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 80, Islamorada, FL 33036   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 20 hotels in Islamorada
U.K.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A little gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Stayed for a week in early April on a visit from the UK, in room 13 - which was quiet, clean and comfortable, with two double beds ( fabulous mattresses!), a full sized fridge /freezer, microwave and coffee maker a/c unit (noisey) and fans, with a small ensuite washroom (shower, WC and sink). There are plenty of drawer units, a walk in cupboard, sofa and small table and chairs

The grounds are very prettily landscaped, with palm trees and flower borders, a large (clean) pool and big hot tub, decking with hammocks and plentiful chairs and shade areas, along with a barbecue.

There is a clean, coarse sand 'beach' area, boat launch ramp, jetty and boat moorings ( tricky, shallow, access at low water) overlooking the ocean and sufficient (but tight) parking for guests.

The owners,Bob and Kathy, were very friendly and most helpful - and are clearly concerned to maintain the well deserved reputation reflected in other reviews on this site.

This is not a motel for those looking for modern, five star luxury (or averse to dogs!) - but is certainly a clean, comfortable, characterful, friendly haven - with a full range of restaurants/ fast food outlets, marina and local shops very close by. We will be back!

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the highway may suffer from traffic noise, try for 18 / 19 with sea views if you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    39
    7
    0
    9
See reviews for
32
47
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
East coast
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed at Sands of Islamorada one night, as we were attending the nearby Full Moon party at Morada Bay Beach Cafe. This motel is small (9 rooms) but very nice, with many nice touches. There is a pool and a (covered) hot tub. There were several picnic tables, one of which was by the gas grill (which we used). And I remember hammocks, but I don't remember how many there were. The owners Kathy and Bob were most helpful to us, pointing out different features of the place, including the fact you could wade out quite far into the water along sand bars.

The room was nice and fit our needs. The only problem we had was the small parking area. Backing up the van in the morning, I managed to hit a palm tree, and broke our back window. But Kathy spent a lot of time on the phone finding a glass repair place that was open on Saturday morning, and could fix the problem. Many thanks, Kathy.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Stayed in room 16 - husband, Shih Tzu & Me. The room was spotless when we arrived and we were greeted warmly by the Manager. Had a microwave & full size fridge in the room. Our dog was able to walk around freely and lay in the shade next us while sunbathing. Very relaxing experience! The only thing keeping me from a 5 rating is that the room could use some updating.

Room Tip: We were in room #16. The two rooms closest to the water appear to have best view and are larger tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We enjoyed staying here in spite of how small it is. We stayed in #19. We wouldn't have wanted any other room. It has a hammock on the deck with an awesome view of the ocean and sunrise. Very laid back which is what we wanted. There was a tame squirrel that greeted us every day and we got a kick out of hand feeding her nuts. This is a dog friendly place. The managers are super nice and so are their dogs which we enjoyed since we didn't have ours. There's a nice dock to sit at the end on. You can watch the sunrise from this room/deck. The only complaint, if you'd call it that, is the parking which is very tight. The hot tub was really exceptionally nice, also. Overall for a small hotel this is quite nice.

Room Tip: Room #19 or #18. They are at the end and the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We've stayed at the Sands several times in the last ten years, most recently for two days in February. We choose Sands because of its quiet location, clean and practical rooms and relaxing atmosphere.
The rooms are clean, comfortable and decorated with tropical "stuff" that makes the place charming. While the AC is a little loud, we just shut it off and opened the windows and engaged the ceiling fan.
The innkeepers have changed over the years, but are always friendly and helpful. This current couple are no exception.
The oceanside dock and beach area are wonderful for morning coffee and sunrise watching with lots of chairs and a Tiki table. Sands has an unheated pool--refreshing most of the time--and a hot tub. I've never seen anyone swimming from the dock, I expect you could. But Anne's Beach just down the road a few miles is very nice.
The grounds are pretty and well kept and the cages parrots are talkative and a fun addition.
Sands is a great value in a great location.

Room Tip: Interior rooms are a little more quiet than the big room on the end, but the big end room has a grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Once again, I trusted my friends here on TA, and we were pleased 100%.. We stayed here for 3 nights, 2 weeks ago.. This place is the cutest,cleanest little place.. I love homey Mom and Pop places.. and the Sands fills that bill.. Only 18 or 19 rooms, I think ,and on a small property but they make wonderful use of their grounds.. Outside is well kept and freshly manicured,,, The pool/hot tub area is clean, though the water was too cold for our taste. Dock and small beach area were clean ,too. Inside is decorated "beach" and had plenty of room.. Not one bug noted! Our room had a small kitchen, although we didn't use it.. The bed was comfortable. The caretakers were pleasant and helpful.. No complaints with them... Oh yes, and good strong WiFi! We were able to walk to Outback ,next door and then one night down to Lazy Day's ( Excellent food, by the way)..

If I had to say anything negative, I would only say, obtain some better pillows and maybe put up a light blocking shade on that window facing the ocean.. Awfully bright 1st thing in the AM
We would definitely stay here again! Photos on the internet don't do this place justice!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Admidedly,we were restricted to a place that would accept our small dog, but Sands of Islamorada was a most pleasant surprise. We love smaller,clean and loveingly kept up older places and Sands fits the bill plus it is right on the water with a dock,pool and hot tub right outside your door ( only nine units). Add super friendly,helpful managers and a great restaurant within walking distance ( Lazy Days - one of the best meals on out trip), super walking across the street for you and your pup (crossing US 1 is not fun) and you have a special place to stay.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sands of Islamorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands of Islamorada

Address: 80051 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 80, Islamorada, FL 33036
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Islamorada
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An awesome, intimate escape right in the center of the Keys. All of our rooms have recently been refreshed from top to bottom. For a pet & people friendly tropical retreat...This is the spot. This is the kind of place Jimmy Buffett sings about. We are very Keysee and very clean! A sparkling pool and hot-tub with a view of the beach, boat launch and pier, await you. Our rooms and efficiencies can accomodate from 1 to 6 people very comfortably. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sands of Islamorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Of Islamorada Hotel Islamorada
Sands Hotel Islamorada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands of Islamorada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.