We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mini paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chesapeake Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chesapeake Beach Resort to your Saves list
Chesapeake Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   83409 Overseas Highway, P.O. Box 909, Islamorada, FL 33036   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Connecticut
Level Contributor
151 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“mini paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

a good way to describe this place is like a " beach compound." its snuggled nicely within its property boundaries and even though your near the road and the neighbors on the sides, you wouldn't know it. pretty large beach area with large tiki hut where you can use the kayaks and paddleboats, also a small marina where you can stroll and watch the boats and talk to the captains and see the catch of the day. beautiful view of the sunrise and plenty of lounge chairs to sit by the water and relax or enjoy a cold beverage. also a nice pool, hot tub and respectable breakfast spread in the morning. eggs, bacon, toast, muffins, coffee, juice, fresh fruit and friendly staff. rooms were clean and room service comes from the restaurant next door called "wahoo's" and was fast and although not cheap, was very good food. no complaints!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachbum393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Columbia City, Indiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife and recently stayed at the Chesapeake Beach Resort on Islamorada for 3 days following a business conference in Miami. It's an older, smaller hotel with a bit of wear and tear, but overall a great value. The rooms were clean, breakfast was good, and the staff very friendly and helpful. The beds in our room were a bit on the hard side, but I slept well. The setting on the Atlantic side was beautiful, uncrowded, quiet and relaxing. I spent the better part of one afternoon reading and snoozing in a hammock about 30 feet from the shore. Just what we needed after being in Miami for several days. Plenty of good, close restaurants, including several with beautiful sunset views. Key West was approx. 1.5 - 2 hour drive away. We would definately go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I am from Toronto, Canada and here at the Chesapeake Beach Resort for two weeks “working”. My room is overlooking the lagoon, there are hammocks between the palm trees, and the views are spectacular. I come every year to recharge my batteries. I love to swim in the lagoon; I have seen manatees and dolphins. I spend many leisurely hours on the point taking pictures, enjoying the sunrise and getting inspiration for my writings. The room is clean; the staff is so friendly and helpful. This is a wonderful place. A # 10 for me. it is a piece of Paradise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank birgittemelnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I can't think of anything but excellent to say about this resort! The staff was friendly, rooms wer'e spotless and very comfortable. My husband and I make a trip to the keys several times a year for the last eight years wev'e stayed at alot of places. This is now are favorite place to stay! Book a room here and you won't regret it !!!! FANTASTIC.

Room Tip: We had a suite it was waterfront view excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this sleepy resort with beautiful ocean view. The rooms are slightly outdated, but very clean. The pools were nice, one with view of the ocean since in the Keys no places have very nice beaches. Enjoyed using the kayaks that were included in the resort fee. I'm not sure what some people expect reading some of these other reviews, but we very much enjoyed our stay. Walkable to restaurants and short car ride to charter fishing and snorkeling fun.

Most importantly, we left our iPad in the safe and the staff made sure it was returned to us!!!

Will stay here again..
Will definately come back again. Go for the ocean view rooms.

Room Tip: Choose ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirstin_S_Milw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed in the two bedroom villa with kitchen. There was mold in cabinets and rat poop under the sink. I had three young kids and they didn't even have a bath tub. The kitchen had only four plates and we were a family of five. The place when we walked in smelled like mildew. The only thing good about the place was the view. My son got so sick the last night we were there we had to bring him to the emergency room. We still are not sure why he got sick. We complained about the mold and told them where it was they said they would clean it and never did. I would never go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Just canceled a reservation I made over 9 months ago. They have held my 1 nights deposit [~$200] for that time and now are popping me $25 cancellation fee even though the confirmation says it is 30 days before arrival. I even have a replacement guest waiting to take this room. BEWARE their hidden charges!

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank dhastie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
3.6 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 stars 905 reviews
17.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#4 of 17 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 stars 2,576 reviews
0.6 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#9 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 stars 2,431 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#8 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
2.4 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesapeake Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesapeake Beach Resort

Address: 83409 Overseas Highway, P.O. Box 909, Islamorada, FL 33036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chesapeake Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Islamorada's famous beach and fishing destination, Chesapeake Beach Resort, rests on 6.5 Acres of oceanfront sands and gardens halfway between Miami and Key West, in the Florida Keys. Our property delivers state-of-the-art amenities and luxurious accommodations to our guests. We are proud to offer HDTV, Stereo radio/CD/alarm and wireless internet connection, along with carpeting, furniture, bathrooms and kitchens including granite countertops and vanities; all to make your stay more enjoyable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Chesapeake Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesapeake Beach Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing