We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lookout Lodge Resort

Save Saved
You added Lookout Lodge Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lookout Lodge Resort
2.5 of 5 Ranch   |   87770 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036   |  
Hotel amenities
Colorado
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“We love this place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is not the fanciest place. It is a smaller property and intimate in nature. If you want a real "Keys experience," this is it! I've stayed here MANY times. If anything, it gets better each time. Greg, the front desk person on many night, is first class. He goes out of his way to take care of his guests and really works overtime to make our stay great. We love the small beach they have. You can snorkel right off the beach here if weather cooperates.

Marker 88 (restaurant) is right next door and you can walk over on the beach. Many nights they have a guitarist outside and the music carries over to Lookout Lodge. This trip we danced on the beach at Lookout while listening to the music at Marker 88.

We went on a guided backcountry fishing trip and the guide was able to pick us up at the dock here at Lookout.

You can sit out on the beach and sun, drink a beer, read a book or just hang out. It is QUIET and "old Keys style." It's not fancy, but what a fabulous laid back experience.

Most units have full kitchens and we cooked a bit of the time. They have gas grills out on the beach if you want to use them to barbeque up dinner.

We will return again and again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off US 1 .... we like Room 105.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    21
    5
    7
    6
See reviews for
18
34
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
IL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We rented this hotel d/t the cute pictures on the web. Unfortunately it was not that cute when we got there. The room was dirty. The wall was covered in dust from the air return, the kitchen counter needed wiped off, the bathroom floor was filthy, especially behind the door, the bed linen had stains on them and then there was the lizard crawling up the wall...... We were shown another room which was in better shape until the 2" roach crawled out of the stove. Needless to say, we found a different room, which was upsetting because we had really looked forward to staying here.

Room Tip: We ended up staying at the Drury Inn for $50.00 more a night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I recently got married at Lookout Lodge, and it was a perfect experience. Lookout Lodge was just the right size for our group of about 50 people. Of course, not everyone could stay there because it is a little place, but that is one of the reasons we loved it. Everyone at the location was there for us, so we didn't have to worry about strangers participating in our special day. The other main reason we picked this location is because we were allowed to basically do whatever we wanted. There weren't a lot of restrictions put on us about food and music and time and people like a lot of the larger resorts tend to impose. We are laid-back people, so we just wanted a laid-back wedding, and Lookout Lodge really was the perfect place for this. Everything went better than we even planned because of the staff at Lookout, too. First of all, their event planner/wedding coordinator, Laurie, is amazing at what she does. We didn't need a lot of her help with the planning because we had so much help from others, but she offered it all along the way. And when we got there, she went above and beyond anything we had asked of her to make sure everything looked beautiful and "just right". She helped us set up and clean up and really took care of everything, so that we did not have to worry about anything. Plus, all of our vendors (baker, DJ, steel drummer, caterer) were recommended by her, and we were impressed with all of them and the services provided. Furthermore, Greg was a great bartender for us. He fit right in with our casual, island theme. Before and after the wedding, when he was working at the front desk, he did everything he could to ensure that all our guests were comfortable in their rooms and had everything they needed. In addition, Hector was an amazing help to us. He made sure the place was spotless before the wedding started, and he helped in any way he could. Lastly, Don oversaw everything, so that we could all have the best experience possible. I would HIGHLY recommend this little cozy resort for any special event. But even if you don't have anything special to celebrate, it is also just a great place to stay for a relaxing vacation. All the rooms had plenty of amenities and were very clean. Overall, it was a perfect weekend for us!

Room Tip: If you have a large group and can afford a little more or you might be staying for a while, request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Recently had my wedding at Lookout Lodge Resort and it was amazing. More than my new wife and I could have ever expected. The accomidation were great. Rooms were so comfortable it felt as if my home was relocated in paradise. The exceptional staff, Laurie, Don, Greg, and Hector made the biggest impression. Hard working, friendly and all around great folks, they went above and beyond to make sure that we had a good time, and all our needs were meet. My wife and I have stayed all over the Keys and send as much time there as we can, and because of our wedding experience, Lookout Lodge Resort will be added to our places to stay. All ready making plans to return to them for our anniversary. Thanks again to Lookout and their staff for a great time.

Room Tip: If you have a larger group and going to stay a while, choose their apartment over the office. For t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We were traveling as a couple with two single friends and the two-bedroom suite was perfect for the four of us. One room had a queen bed and the other had two double beds. The beds were not new, however they had very nice foam mattress covers that made them very comfy. The kitchen was fully equipped with everything we needed to cook in the room as well as at the convenient grills down by the water. The room was clean and there were several extras, like oil and salt scrub in the shower and soap and sponge in the kitchen for dishes. On top of all this, the location was perfect with beautiful sunsets and great snorkeling right off the beach area. To top the entire stay off, the staff was friendly and helpful! We will stay here again as soon as we get a chance!

Room Tip: If you are going to spend time in your room get one with a water view, if not don't pay the extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Seven of us went to Islamorada for a five day fishing trip. Lookout Lodge was a perfect home base. We had two rooms, each with a full kitchen and living room and two bedrooms. Everyone had their own bed and it cost us each about $60/night. Rooms are clean. There are also gas grills where we cooked our catch. Nice little beach and great sunsets. Plus, Marker 88 restaurant and bar is right next door. Overall, nothing fancy, but exactly what we needed and a great value.

Room Tip: Room 206 gives you a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrington, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Spent a few nights with three friends at Lookout Lodge in the past week or so. Not a real fancy place, but friendly, very comfortable and homey (just right). The rooms were very clean and well stocked with everything we needed to cook and prepare picnic lunches. The grounds were fantastic - quiet, private and beautiful sunsets. Coffee in the early morning sitting on the beach was "the best". We enjoyed using the gas grills for evening meals after days of swimming, snorkeling, and buying "fresh" at the fish markets. I would recommend Lookout Lodge to anyone and would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
Free internet...
Show More
7.8 mi away
The Islamorada Resort
The Islamorada Resort
#7 of 20 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 stars 660 reviews
Charming, Bouti...
Show More
7.7 mi away
Sands of Islamorada
Sands of Islamorada
#9 of 20 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
3.6 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
5.7 mi away
Islander Resort
Islander Resort
#11 of 20 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 stars 754 reviews
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
2.8 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#5 of 20 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 stars 311 reviews
Free Parking, B...
Show More
3.5 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort Marina Hotel Islamorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lookout Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lookout Lodge Resort

Address: 87770 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty lodging in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lookout Lodge Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lookout Lodge Resort is designed to be your home in Islamorada while in the upper Florida Keys area. 1 & 2 bedroom suites with beach front sunset views are our specialty. Our resort offers private swimming & sunbathing areas (no pool), with chickee huts, lounges and lagoon. We afford swimmers, sunbathers and kayakers quiet pleasurable hours in the Florida island sun. For scuba divers and snorkelers: beautiful scuba diving, snorkeling, and lobstering in ocean reefs are just minutes away! We custom design island weddings on our Islamorada beach. Come on down as the Florida Keys await you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Lookout Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lookout Hotel Islamorada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lookout Lodge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.