We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for fishing trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lookout Lodge Resort

Save Saved
You added Lookout Lodge Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lookout Lodge Resort
2.5 of 5 Ranch   |   87770 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Perfect for fishing trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Seven of us went to Islamorada for a five day fishing trip. Lookout Lodge was a perfect home base. We had two rooms, each with a full kitchen and living room and two bedrooms. Everyone had their own bed and it cost us each about $60/night. Rooms are clean. There are also gas grills where we cooked our catch. Nice little beach and great sunsets. Plus, Marker 88 restaurant and bar is right next door. Overall, nothing fancy, but exactly what we needed and a great value.

Room Tip: Room 206 gives you a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    21
    5
    7
    6
See reviews for
18
34
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Torrington, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Spent a few nights with three friends at Lookout Lodge in the past week or so. Not a real fancy place, but friendly, very comfortable and homey (just right). The rooms were very clean and well stocked with everything we needed to cook and prepare picnic lunches. The grounds were fantastic - quiet, private and beautiful sunsets. Coffee in the early morning sitting on the beach was "the best". We enjoyed using the gas grills for evening meals after days of swimming, snorkeling, and buying "fresh" at the fish markets. I would recommend Lookout Lodge to anyone and would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach Shores, Florida, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

My boyfriend and I really liked the Lookout Lodge. It's a great location in Islamorada and had a nice cozy feel to it. We booked the mini suite and were upgraded to a 2 bedroom. It was very roomy and clean and had a lot of the comforts of home. The grounds were beautiful. I just wish we could have enjoyed a few sunsets but the weather was not agreeing with us that weekend. I would definately go back though. Unless you're Miss Priss and would freak out at the sight of a few ants or something (this is FL on the water) you will love this place. I personally don't need 5 star accommodations. I prefer the smaller, quaint and friendly places like this. Oh and I called the morning of check out and asked if we could check out a little late (we got sooooo sea sick the night before at Robbie's Marina night fishing) and she was so great about it. Thanks again, you have no idea how much we needed a couple more hours before the long drive home!!!

Room Tip: I booked online and got an email a few hours later notifying me I was upgraded. I was grateful for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammond, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Just left the Lookout Lodge resort located at Mile marker 88 in Florida keys bayside and let me tell you, I was very impressed. For a smaller hotel resort, this place has got to be the best value for the atomsphere in the area. Booked online based on reviews, and when we got there it lived up to the billing! Great rooms, very well appointed furnishings including the very comfortable bed, private beach area with one awesome sunset view. The owner came out at sunset with comp wine and cheese for us too! We stayed in a waterfront suite on second floor with a big screened porch overlooking the water for 3 nights and spent $200+ a night. Full immenities including small kitchen with full size refrig made it nice during the day to snack, etc. Has a small deep water boat basin that we kept our 21ft boat in, and was nice and protected dockage. Very quiet and private. Located next door is a 5-Star resturant with one awesome "tiki bar" right on waters edge. Outside dining under the stars was fantastic. I read another review posted here on trip advisor from someone calling themself "AG1619", and he/she must of gotten their hotels mixed up when they posted because I've got to tell you, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THE LOOKOUT LODGE RESORT in Islamorada if you are staying in this region. This place is quality, quiet, private, and has a great resturant with outside seating/bar right on the water. No pool, but has swimming and snorkeling area right off their private sandy beach. Have been staying here since 2008, and is our #1 choice in area by far.

Room Tip: Try and stay as close to the water as you can. The main building is right off main highway and 1st r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I travel extensively, and this is the 2nd-worst hotel in which I've ever stayed. Unfortunately I made my reservation at the Lookout Lodge based on favorable reviews on hotels.com. I don't know how anyone who stayed at this place could rate it favorably.

The property is old and in horrible shape. The room is not just 'dated,' it's ancient and in poor condition. Further, the floors were filthy and there were ant-like bugs in the bathroom. If we had not prepaid we would not have stayed. The beds were old and uncomfortable, the appliances noisy, and the room smelled.

This hotel was outrageously priced given its awful condition. Stay away unless you want to be sorely disappointed.

Room Tip: Stay with a national chain, and check more than one review site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

We stayed at Lookout lodge 12/22- 12/26. The lodge is located at Mile marker 88 (right next to the restaurant of the same name). We stayed in room 102 which had 2 queen beds and a kitchenette. We paid $149 a night, plus tax. We had a very enjoyable stay. The room was clean and the place was quiet. There is no pool but you have a man made beach/patio area that is right on the water with water access.The hotel is located on the Florida Bay side. So, you can swim and snorkel right in front of the hotel. The water is clean and clear. We snorkeled several times and I was surprised at the aquatic plants, coral, and fish that we saw. If you own a boat they have a small protected harbor and there is a public boat ramp about a block away. We kayaked along the shoreline and over to Snake Creek inlet then went out into the ocean and also kayaked further south at Long Key state park a few days later. We bought fish from a local seafood market down the road and cooked several meals on the hotel gas grills. The hotel personnel were friendly, knowledgeable, and seemed to go out of their way to make our stay nice. We will return!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Clean comfortable rooms with kitchen. Great sunset / ocean views from grounds.
Boat dock / no ramp. No Pool / No Beach.

Room Tip: Not great for kids since theres no pool or beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lookout Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lookout Lodge Resort

Address: 87770 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty lodging in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lookout Lodge Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lookout Lodge Resort is designed to be your home in Islamorada while in the upper Florida Keys area. 1 & 2 bedroom suites with beach front sunset views are our specialty. Our resort offers private swimming & sunbathing areas (no pool), with chickee huts, lounges and lagoon. We afford swimmers, sunbathers and kayakers quiet pleasurable hours in the Florida island sun. For scuba divers and snorkelers: beautiful scuba diving, snorkeling, and lobstering in ocean reefs are just minutes away! We custom design island weddings on our Islamorada beach. Come on down as the Florida Keys await you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Lookout Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lookout Hotel Islamorada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lookout Lodge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.