We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Group well taken care of!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amara Cay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Amara Cay Resort to your Saves list
Amara Cay Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   80001 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036 (Formerly The Islamorada Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Merritt Island, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Wedding Group well taken care of!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

This hotel did a top notch job of caring for all our guests who stayed for our daughters wedding. The hotel is clean, the rooms are large and the atmosphere is awesome! We were able to rent jet skiis right there at the hotel. The breakfast was good with plenty of choices for everyone. The pool was clean and warm. The bar pool side was very nice and Outback Steakhouse is right there too. No need to travel all over the place for food, fun and sun. The wedding photographer took lots of pictures on the grounds. It's very pretty there. The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful. The gift shop has lots of neat stuff and the prices are friendly too!
Thanks Hampton Inn Islamorada for making our daughters' wedding so special! :D

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milemarker80, General Manager at Amara Cay Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2010
Thank you so much for your kind note and on behalf of all of us here at the hotel please accept congratulations to you daughter on her recent wedding. We would love to have you guys come back and visit soon so please let us know if you are ever in the area again.

Warm Wishes,
Hampton Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    243
    76
    33
    24
See reviews for
241
249
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

I have been staying at the Hampton Inn in Islamorada for years and it has always been my favorite place to stay in the Keys. I just returned from a 3 night stay and for the very first time, I have been not 100 % happy with the hotel. I called months ahead to request a specific room, but upon arrival, the room I requested was given away. We had constant problems with our room keys, which mysteriously " expired " daily, and trecking up and down from the 5th Floor to the front desk became an annoying routine. The TV in one of the bedrooms did not work, and neither did the light in the bedroom. I am all for saving water - but the trickle that comes out of the low flow showers requires you to stay in the shower 3 times longer - which would defeat the purpose of saving water. The scrambled eggs which were served for breakfast every day had a terrible , artificial taste and one of the 2 toasters did not work.
Having said all that - it is still a great place to stay and i will certainly be back. The gorgeous sunrises from the dock to the nice lounges around the pool and the beach area, the view and the cleanliness of the hotel is hard to beat in Islamorada. I still love you ,Hampton Inn, but for the first time i see some room for improvement but no trouble in paradise yet.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

I was very happy with recent stay at Hampton Inn, Islamorada Fl. After reading many reviews of hotels in the Florida Keys, I was pleasantly surprised! We stayed in room 417, it was a corner room. The cleaning supply closet was in our corner,some may find that a bother, but we were usually on our way out when maid service was being provided. At night it was nice and quiet in that corner with no foot traffic. Hotel provides a typical hot breakfasts...no complaints. The internet service was slow, but I didn't come here to be on my computer. Islamorada is very laid back, if your looking for a vacation that includes outlet malls this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

We have just returned from a six noght stay at The Hampton Inn and Suites. First and foremost, their web pictures are very misleading. There is NO Beach! It is a fake man made sand like area at the bulkhead. You have to go down steps to go in the water.
The room two bedroom room was ok overall. I was kept awake most nights from the loud people upstairs. This room was not soundproof. Certainly not worth the money they charge per night. Housekeeping was horrible. They pretty much slamed the bedspread on and left towels, no vacum no effort. They Took the extra blanket and did not replace it for the pull out bed. The hotel staff at the desk and Tiki Bar were great. Very pleasant. Captin Ted was veryt heplful if we needed pillows.
The pool was nice, but small. A great feature of this hotel is the Outback Steakhouse they have inside. My teenager was bored to death here though. Outside of the pool and the bar there is nothing doing here. The onsite jetski rental is way overpriced. We found a great rental in Key Largo which was significantly less.
I would not stay here again, unless it was $100.00 per night.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

We were here for one night during spring break, and enjoyed a 2 bedroom, 2 bath suite with kitchen and living room. The space was great for a family of 4, and we had a porch door right on the pool area. This was great during the day, but a drag at night when some kids were still hollering at the pool at 10 pm. Pull out coach mattress was awful. Other beds were great. And it was nice to have a mini kitchen and refrigerator. Front desk was very nice, and helpful. Outback was not as good as normal, but we couldn't beat the drive home from dinner! It was nice to have poolside massage, and shuffleboard, hammocks, and a small beach on property. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

Stayed here for one night on the way to Key West using Honors points. Upon check-in they upgraded us to a full suite on the ocean front. We found the hotel to be very comfortable, the bed was amazingly comfortable, and our suite had more than enough room for just the two of us. Other reviews had negative things to say about their experience here, but maybe the hotel has been remodeled since then. Since we were just using this as a stopover on our way to Key West we didn't really have time use the pool or hot tub. The breakfast was typical and well stocked for Hampton Inns, the beach area was relaxing and we would definitely return for a stay. It was nice also to be able to walk to Lazy Days restaurant after spending a day in an airplane and driving from Miami.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

When we arrived they had no record of our Expedia booking. We had the paperwork which showed we clearly had a reservation but we had to wait while they sorted it out with Expedia. I suppose this could have happened anywhere and the staff did their best and managed to resolve it but it was a bit of a stressful start.

We then went to our room which was described as shoreline. Maybe naively we had expected this to have a full seaview but it was actually a side sea view with a view of the car park if you looked directly down.

The room was massive but with very little in it. We were very surprised not to even have a fridge. We had just left the absolutely wonderful Santa Maria Suites in Key West where for the same price we had so much more so the complete contrast didn't help.

On a positive note, I got up to see the sunrise from the "beach" and that was wonderful. Also the breakfast was good and they did have free internet.. I just think it was all a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amara Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Cay Resort

Address: 80001 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036 (Formerly The Islamorada Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amara Cay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly majorly renovated resort. Oceanfront in picturesque Islamoda, Amara cay is the perfect setting for our guests to unwind, connect with the sea, and make lasting memories. The story of Amara Cay is compelling and distinct. Our guests are inspired by the authentic experiences we provide. Each member of our diverse staff is a local expert empowered to provide amazing and unexpected service. We emotionally connect with our guests by crafting a story that is compelling and extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Amara Cay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Islamorada Hotel Islamorada
Hampton Inn Islamorada
Islamorada Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amara Cay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.