We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older But a Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Islamorada Resort

Save Saved
You added The Islamorada Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Islamorada Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   80001 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036 (Formerly Hampton Inn and Suites Islamorada)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #7 of 20 hotels in Islamorada
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Older But a Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had come back to the Keys for a second time - last year we stayed at the Hampton Key Largo but no rooms were available so we found this one - we like the Hampton Inn Hotels - on the way to Key West we stayed one night in a standard room which was a good size, clean the bed was comfortable and had a shoreline view parking lot and ocean - saw a beautiful sun rise - on the way back to Miami we stayed two nights - we had requested an upgrade when leaving on the Sunday for the following Thursday but were advised rooms were assigned that day - so when we checked in asked about an upgrade and were advised that we had been upgraded to a two bedroom suite for standard rate - how great - the suite was large and furniture had been recently replaced and the breakfast area had also been redone. We learned the hotel is 44 year old and had gone through several owners until Hampton took it over. The staff were friendly, pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was common to all Hamptons. The room was clean, large and bright. At night the pool area was relatively quiet, pool warm and having an Outback Steakhouse with outside daytime bar - lunch area very convenient. Even ground staff were friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. If we go back to the Keys next year we will definitely try to stay at this hotel. The beach area was man made but large and well maintained there were more than enough loungers and they were in good repair. The shower bath tub had plenty of hot water and reasonable water pressure. The hot tub was a little too hot for our liking but it is November so maybe they crank up the temperature - all in all for the price we felt it was great value and even though an older building it had character and the guest laundry was on floor two to four which was very convenient and there was a gift shop on site - we enjoyed our stay and maybe next year will extend the number of days we spend there as there is lots to do in the area.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms had options of suites - suites are great for families and both standard and suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    303
    222
    75
    32
    21
See reviews for
228
230
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This particular Hampton property is not exciting nor luxurious as I expect of a Hampton yet it is certainly adequate. The rooms do not meet what I consider Hampton standards....they are older and in need of upkeep. Our view was awful....we had a deck if we wanted to sit on it and view the extremely ugly roof of the Outback Restaurant connected to the property. The breakfast area is kind of nice and updated...the grounds are also okay. There is an outside bar with entertainment that could make your stay nicer if that appealed to you. There is a little beach side sandy area that is pretty yet small but it was nice to have some water. The property is clean but I would not get too excited about the overall feel of this hotel. The other reviews led me to believe that this would be an oasis and that was not the case through my perspective but it was nice enough overall. The staff was accommodating. Overall the property is nice with rooms that need updating.

Room Tip: Ask about the view that they intend to give you or you could end up with the view that we had of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central NJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

this hotel was perfect for my family's needs. The room was huge, two bedroom, two bath and full kitchen. The deck overlooks the pool and ocean. The pool was heated and wonderful! Breakfast every morning is so convenient. There are many choices for breakfast, anyone can find something to eat. With discounts, we only paid $134 a night. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Front desk....A+
Room, as mentioned. Very clean, not the newest feel but very adequate. Bed was great. We had oceanfront suite, highly recommend this as other rooms look at the parking lot.
Grounds were relaxing and well kept, you will not be disappointed. Pool nice as was the secluded hot tub. In case you are blind and have missed this detail.....there is no beach!!!!!
Tiki bar and Outback are a great addition. Bartenders at he tiki bar were fun. Will come back.
Jessica the on duty mgr was awesome!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Hotel is old and dated.
The beds are average at best.
There is an OUTBACK Restaraunt in the Hotel, but that is no great attraction for me.
The Beach has a sea wall and ladder to enter the water :-(
Breakfast is included, but no great shakes.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Breeze
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Tonyia and staff made our daughter's wedding perfect and stress-free. As mother-of-the-bride, I recommend to other mother's, call Tonyia!!!! The decorations and reception were exactly what we wanted. The staff were exceptionally courteous and helpful. The setting at the Hampton was beautiful. All of our family and friends thoroughly enjoyed themselves. The food from the "Outback" was delicious. It was nice having the bar and restaurant on-site. Thank you Tonyia for making 10/13/12 Perfect!!!!

Room Tip: The rooms are spacious. We love 1st floor on the poolside. You can walk right out to the pool from y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Effingham, Illinois
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

From the moment we walked into the hotel, we were treated extremely well, and we noticed that others were treated well, too. The hotel was easily located on the main road (US1) through the keys. With an Outback Steakhouse attached, finding it was no problem. We walked into the front entrance and were immediately greeted by the front desk attendant who was cheerful, smiling and one of those people who just seemed to love her job. Each day, they choose one guest and give them a free upgrade to a suite. We were surprised to find that one of the girls in our party of 3 happened to have her name on the front board as receiving the upgrade. It just made our day and gave us a great start to our trip! The front desk clerks gave us great tips for activities and restaurants, and they never ceased to ask us if we needed anything. Free breakfast was good each day, plus we could have cooked in our room with our full kitchenette. The location on the hotel on the water made for some beautiful sunsets from the hammocks near the pool and tiki bar. We really enjoyed our stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Islamorada.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Islamorada Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Islamorada Resort

Address: 80001 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036 (Formerly Hampton Inn and Suites Islamorada)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Islamorada Resort 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Islamorada Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Islamorada Hotel Islamorada
Hampton Inn Islamorada
Islamorada Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Islamorada Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.