We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lackluster yet adequate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Islamorada Resort

Save Saved
You added The Islamorada Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Islamorada Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   80001 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036 (Formerly Hampton Inn and Suites Islamorada)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #7 of 20 hotels in Islamorada
Somerset, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lackluster yet adequate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This particular Hampton property is not exciting nor luxurious as I expect of a Hampton yet it is certainly adequate. The rooms do not meet what I consider Hampton standards....they are older and in need of upkeep. Our view was awful....we had a deck if we wanted to sit on it and view the extremely ugly roof of the Outback Restaurant connected to the property. The breakfast area is kind of nice and updated...the grounds are also okay. There is an outside bar with entertainment that could make your stay nicer if that appealed to you. There is a little beach side sandy area that is pretty yet small but it was nice to have some water. The property is clean but I would not get too excited about the overall feel of this hotel. The other reviews led me to believe that this would be an oasis and that was not the case through my perspective but it was nice enough overall. The staff was accommodating. Overall the property is nice with rooms that need updating.

Room Tip: Ask about the view that they intend to give you or you could end up with the view that we had of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    303
    222
    75
    32
    21
See reviews for
228
230
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central NJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

this hotel was perfect for my family's needs. The room was huge, two bedroom, two bath and full kitchen. The deck overlooks the pool and ocean. The pool was heated and wonderful! Breakfast every morning is so convenient. There are many choices for breakfast, anyone can find something to eat. With discounts, we only paid $134 a night. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Front desk....A+
Room, as mentioned. Very clean, not the newest feel but very adequate. Bed was great. We had oceanfront suite, highly recommend this as other rooms look at the parking lot.
Grounds were relaxing and well kept, you will not be disappointed. Pool nice as was the secluded hot tub. In case you are blind and have missed this detail.....there is no beach!!!!!
Tiki bar and Outback are a great addition. Bartenders at he tiki bar were fun. Will come back.
Jessica the on duty mgr was awesome!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Hotel is old and dated.
The beds are average at best.
There is an OUTBACK Restaraunt in the Hotel, but that is no great attraction for me.
The Beach has a sea wall and ladder to enter the water :-(
Breakfast is included, but no great shakes.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Breeze
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Tonyia and staff made our daughter's wedding perfect and stress-free. As mother-of-the-bride, I recommend to other mother's, call Tonyia!!!! The decorations and reception were exactly what we wanted. The staff were exceptionally courteous and helpful. The setting at the Hampton was beautiful. All of our family and friends thoroughly enjoyed themselves. The food from the "Outback" was delicious. It was nice having the bar and restaurant on-site. Thank you Tonyia for making 10/13/12 Perfect!!!!

Room Tip: The rooms are spacious. We love 1st floor on the poolside. You can walk right out to the pool from y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Effingham, Illinois
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

From the moment we walked into the hotel, we were treated extremely well, and we noticed that others were treated well, too. The hotel was easily located on the main road (US1) through the keys. With an Outback Steakhouse attached, finding it was no problem. We walked into the front entrance and were immediately greeted by the front desk attendant who was cheerful, smiling and one of those people who just seemed to love her job. Each day, they choose one guest and give them a free upgrade to a suite. We were surprised to find that one of the girls in our party of 3 happened to have her name on the front board as receiving the upgrade. It just made our day and gave us a great start to our trip! The front desk clerks gave us great tips for activities and restaurants, and they never ceased to ask us if we needed anything. Free breakfast was good each day, plus we could have cooked in our room with our full kitchenette. The location on the hotel on the water made for some beautiful sunsets from the hammocks near the pool and tiki bar. We really enjoyed our stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Islamorada.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

It’s 1:50 AM and I’m writing this review from the comfort of a very nice Holiday Inn hotel 30 miles away from where I actually intended to stay, The Hilton-Hotels’ Hampton Inn in Islamorada. I wanted to stay at the Hampton because I planned on diving with a nearby dive shop.

After a very long day, I showed up at the hotel shortly before midnight, and the woman at the front desk was so intent on up-selling me a suite that even when I got a confirmed reservation online afterwards for the lesser priced room, she found a way to not accommodate me and rather see me turned me away a very irate customer! Thanks lady…. You single handedly turned me off all Hilton branded hotels! So much for the Hilton Promise to – “ensure every Guest feels cared for, valued and respected”.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milemarker80, Manager at The Islamorada Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
I appreciate the review of your recent experience at our hotel. I'm sorry that you received a poor level of service; this is not the Hampton norm as our goal is Satisfaction Guaranteed. I can assure you, I have addressed these issues with our staff. Please feel free to contact me if you would like to discuss this further and I apologize for the inconvenience.

Sincerely,

Tonyia Rounds
Assistant General Manager
305-664-0073
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Islamorada Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Islamorada Resort

Address: 80001 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036 (Formerly Hampton Inn and Suites Islamorada)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Islamorada Resort 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Islamorada Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Islamorada Hotel Islamorada
Hampton Inn Islamorada
Islamorada Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Islamorada Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.