We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY nice place !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amara Cay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Amara Cay Resort to your Saves list
Amara Cay Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   80001 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036 (Formerly The Islamorada Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Islamorada
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“VERY nice place !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We only stayed one night but the folks there couldn't have been friendlier. This is a beautiful hotel, very clean with a wonderful tiki bar out back and an Outback out front ! The pool was immaculate and the hot tub was too !! Thanks for making us feel welcome...great place to stop on the way to Key West !!

Room Tip: ocean-front is well worth the little extra cost !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    275
    88
    34
    27
See reviews for
274
286
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at lots of Hamptons. This is the best ever, a 'one off'. Much better than Hilton Key Largo just down the road and much more expensive. Special location. Great views. Happy, helpful staff. The steak restaurant / bar on the same site is owned and run by a different company but offers great value for money and good service. There is a liquor store ( Sid and Roxy's) about 2 miles back, on the same side of the road, towards Largo, so you can avoid hotel drink prices. Enjoy, we did!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Soto, Missouri
Level Contributor
277 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here with our 2 young boys. Checkin was a breeze and we were given an upgrade to a 2 bedroom suite on the 5th floor (513), which was wonderful! The room was large with a kitchenette, balcony overlooking the beach and pool, 2 large bedrooms with 2 bathrooms and was spotless. The beds were very comfortable. The couple of things in the room needed repair, but they were minor and did not affect our experience. The pool was large, crystal clear and warm. The waterfront had a sandy lounge area, with a seawall and stairs leading to the water which was good for snorkelling. Outback steakhouse is onsite. There was entertainment at night around the Tikki bar. Breakfast in the morning was standard, with waffles, breads, cereals, fruits, scrambled eggs and potatoes. The only downside was the oatmeal was runny, and the orange juice very dilute. Otherwise was filling and a nice amenity. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and we highly recommend this hotel. We will definitely stay here again when back in the Keys!

Room Tip: Highly recommend Hilton Honors program!! The suites are wonderful!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The hotel is in a great position, is pleasantly appointed and overall we enjoyed our stay. The one thing that let this hotel down was the cleanliness of the floors in our room. We arrived gone midnight on the Friday and noticed the carpet in the living room, bedroom and closet and the tiles in bathroom had a significant amount of debris on them (mainly around the edges but nevertheless they needed a good vacuum). We didn't bring this to the attention on the front desk at the time (given the hour) and assumed it would be cleaned up during housekeping's visit on the Saturday morning. This was not the case neither was it the case on the Sunday either. I raised this with the front desk on Sunday afternoon, where the issue was dealt with by a very professional and helpful young lady. The response from the housekeeping manager was that the room has been fully serviced that morning. I went on to list each area of the floors that was dirty and returned to our room to find the carpets and part of the bathroom floor had been dealt with. Unfortunately this didn't last as crumbs dropped on the floor beneath a chair under the kitchen counter/dining area Sunday night were still there when we checked out on Tuesday morning. Get it together housekeeping!
On a more positive note the beds were lovely, as were the linens, pillows, hot tub area, pool and "beach". The free breakfast hit the spot, as did the free wi-if. I must stress that everything else, without exception, was very clean.

Room Tip: I'd go for a suite over a standard room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altoona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Nice beach hotel with very friendly staff. The pool was clean and cool after a hot day in the sun. Make sure you meet Kymone, Brittany and LaChondra (AKA - Charlie's Angels). They made our vacation very special.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

BIG room, nice staff, clean hotel. The Outback restaurant was great!!! Best steak & lobster ever!! Breakfast was fantastic, omletes and sweets superb. The sunrise view was wonderful!
But the best is pool and beach area, breeze, hammocks under palm trees... peaceful and beautiful!!! Loved it!! Unfortunately, only one day... Hope to be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
177 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is your typical beach hotel in need from some updating.

The service was great, treated us well and upgraded our standard room upon check in due to our Hilton Honors status. The room was huge! Small kitchen, large bathroom, two queen beds (not the usual Hampton Cloud Nine soft beds). Rooms facing the Atlantic, perfect for sunrises. Convenient to pretty much everything. Robbie's is about 2 miles away, Annie's Beach 3 miles, Marathon 20 miles, Key Largo 20 miles.

I can only rate this hotel as average because I've stayed at nicer places. The room smelled clean, however there were several spots of rust/mold on the ceiling and corners of the room (probably from previous water damage). I'm a person with allergies and although I was a little "grossed out" by the spots, I had no reactions. I understand this is a high humidity, water driven area, but I still don't feel mold is okay. But it would not prevent me from staying here again.

Breakfast was well stocked, omelets and toast, everything was kept hot and plentiful.

There is a safe in the room. I would use it. Although we did not have an incidence, I did witness the housekeeping staff opening multiple rooms and leaving the door ajar down the hallway. It would be very easy to "sneak" in any of these rooms at anytime. Also, utilize the "Do Not Disturb" signs, the housekeeping staff are very quick to open the door...


Small man-made beach on the Atlantic Edge with a ladder to the ocean. Hammocks for hotel guests. Parking as free and we didn't have a problem finding a spot.

Overall a very nice stay, just wish it was a little more updated.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milemarker80, Manager at Amara Cay Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We are glad you chose our hotel during your recent stay in the area and we apologize for the rust and mold problems you experienced. The health and safety of our guests is a top priority so we will offer extra trainings to ensure strict housekeeping protocols are met. This also includes extra precautions for keeping rooms secure while our staff is servicing them. We hope you will give us another chance if you visit this area in the future.

Tonyia Rounds
Assistant General Manager
305-664-0073
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
21.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#3 of 18 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 stars 2,296 reviews
4.7 mi away
Coconut Cove Resort and Marina
4.2 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#9 of 20 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 stars 2,139 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Moorings Village and Spa
The Moorings Village and Spa
#1 of 20 in Islamorada
5.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
4.4 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort Marina Hotel Islamorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amara Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Cay Resort

Address: 80001 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036 (Formerly The Islamorada Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amara Cay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly majorly renovated resort. Oceanfront in picturesque Islamoda, Amara cay is the perfect setting for our guests to unwind, connect with the sea, and make lasting memories. The story of Amara Cay is compelling and distinct. Our guests are inspired by the authentic experiences we provide. Each member of our diverse staff is a local expert empowered to provide amazing and unexpected service. We emotionally connect with our guests by crafting a story that is compelling and extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Amara Cay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Islamorada Hotel Islamorada
Hampton Inn Islamorada
Islamorada Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amara Cay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.