We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STOP HERE FOR BREAKFAST!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hungry Tarpon

Hungry Tarpon
77522 Overseas Highway, Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036
+1 305-664-0535
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 80 Restaurants in Islamorada
Price range: $5 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
provincetown
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“STOP HERE FOR BREAKFAST!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Wow! I loved the menu! Everything was delicious. I want to go back but we're leaving the keys. We were on our way back to Miami and stopped for lunch and to feed the tarpon. Such a nice way to end the vacation!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    190
    73
    39
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Starkville, Mississippi
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food island style!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We visit the keys once a year, usually in February and this place was recommended by a friend. An island flare place, laid back with great food. For lunch, we ordered the specials of lobster tacos and the mahi rueben. The 3 tacos were loaded with sweet, juicy lobster...we should have split it! I was skeptical of the rueben, but it did not disappoint, very tasty. We could have shared either one and not been so stuffed. Service was prompt and courteous. We later fed the tarpon...a quick 3 bucks, but hey...you're in the keys!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful and Eclectic Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We went there to rent jet skiis and fell in love with the whole place. There are neat vendors there, fishing and sunset trips, boat rentals, outside bar and restaurant. We loved it so much we went back a day later for our anniversary dinner. We will be sure to go back each year we go back the Keys.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

So this is our second time to the area and on this specific trip we ate here twice. There regular menu was great both times. The first afternoon here he had shrimp tacos blackened (yum) and smoked fish dip to start (yum). I found out online a few days later that they served breakfast and I'm sad I didn't know about it sooner. I had the lobster frittata, my husband had lobster crepes with eggs and hollondaise sauce and my father- in-law had the diablo breakfast burrito. If you are not in a big hurry and want great food with awesome scenery, go here!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“So good we visited twice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Food was awesome and sitting at the outdoor bar has the perfect Keys feel. We had fish sandwiches and tacos that were affordable and delicious. My only suggestion, have lunch before noon, once it gets busy it fills up fast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungry Tarpon also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Hungry Tarpon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hungry Tarpon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.