We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Wedding/Honeymoon stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Moorings Village and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Moorings Village and Spa to your Saves list
The Moorings Village and Spa
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   123 Beach Rd, Islamorada, FL 33036   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Islamorada
Delray Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Perfect Wedding/Honeymoon stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

WOW is the first word that comes to mind when I describe this place. It's romantic, super quiet and secluded. All of the homes are private, charming and very well kept. The staff is extremely helpful and pleasant. Most of the guests are 'regulars' and visit often. It really is a hidden gem - which is why we love it. We were married across the street at Pierre's and I booked The Orchid House - which I want to move into and stay forever - for 2 nights. We had friends staying in The Treehouse - which is another beautiful cottage. There is no restaurant or room service - but you have a fully equipted kitchen - should you need it. We loved sitting on the porch, in our robes, sipping coffee in the morning. This is the place where you go to write a book, rekindle a flame, fall in love, etc. I didn't use the spa but, I've spoken with them a few times and have had friends use the facilities and they raved about it. They were able to find me a hairdresser for my wedding, last minute too! I could keep writing but, you will see from all the reviews that this place is very, very special. I can't wait to go back..thankfully its just a drive away to this paradise.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    14
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
93
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Romantic, quiet and secluded get away. We celebrated our 25 year anniversary. Walking distance to galleries and great restaurants. All of the houses and cottages are charming and nestled under a canopy of trees. Nice pool for laps. The few guests we did encounter had been here ten or more times! We plan to be back too.

Room Tip: We stayed in the lodge north and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

From the moment we turned down Beach Road into the secluded haven known as The Moorings Village we knew this was a special place. As others have noted, if you are looking for quiet, total relaxation, respectful guests, natural beauty - this is the spot. You will be smitten within 24 hours, or less. Great lap pool (no screaming children), decent tennis court (raquets/balls provided if you forgot to pack yours), pristine/peaceful beach, hammocks in the palm trees dot the beachfront and in a final nod to land - one hammock swings in the breeze at the end of the main dock. We had a small problem with hot water in our cottage and the management could not have been more understanding and generous in dealing with it. Wonderful spa, too! When the apocolypse comes,I'll gladly head to the Moorings to ride out the rest of my days. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colts Neck, New Jersey
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Had the pleasure of spending 5 nights at The Moorings and can't wait to return... we arrived in Islamorada mid day & was invited to come early & check in... Our first 2 night we satyed at the Orchard cottage & was beautiful, then on Easter Sunday moved to The Honeymoon Cottage; we were so happy with the Orchard that we didn't want to move until Thomas said " Trust me " and boy was he correct...Blew Us Away...amazing cottage with wrap around porch & ocean front views... When you read about privacy here it is so true, right next store to the Chico Lodge but could be 1,000 miles away... Secluded beach with kyayks to go for a ride when every you see fit... just remember this is not the place if you want to have a pool boy asking you if you want a cocktail; it doesn't exist... it is totally secluded... Full kitchen in every cottage, we made a run up the street for some wine & beer... very happy folks on the beach... the staff are so helpful if you need them & if not they blend into the hundreds of palm treees on the property... If you have any request it is taken care of right away... Thomas & his staff is AWESOME !!!

Room Tip: HONEYMOON COTTAGE... will be a honeymoon all over again !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

My wife and I came here for our honeymoon. What a great spot! We stayed at the Sifca House the first three nights, and then the South Lodge the last 2 nights. It took us forever to decide on a place to go, but we came across the Moorings and are so glad that we pulled the trigger on this one. It was an extremely relaxing place to visit. Beach, hammocks, pool, and very quiet. We were supposedly there during peak season, but barely saw anybody else on the property. The grounds were well maintained, it felt like we were in a well manicured palm tree jungle, with a gorgeous beach. It's the perfect place to travel with your significant other, as it is a quiet, romantic, and very relaxing place.

The Sifca house was great. It was clean, secluded, and had a gorgeous porch to eat breakfast on, drink mimosas on, or just hang out on. The South Lodge was not comparable to the Sifca house, but wasn't bad. I would totally recommend staying in the "higher end" cottages for at least the first couple nights, it's worth the money. You certainly get what you pay for.

Overall, if you're looking for a great place to relax and getaway with a beautiful beach as your disposal, then this is your place. Might I add, the 2 restaurants across the street (Morada Bay and Pierre's) are excellent. Fresh seafood and great atmosphere. Loved it all.

PS- While the beach is gorgeous, I should mention that the the water is pretty shallow with a "marshy" feel to it (sea grass etc yet crystal clear). No waves, and you wouldn't want to sit in the water either because of the "muddy" feel to it. It's not dirty, but the nature of the area (florida keys) just has rather marshy shores. However, there is a dock that goes out to about 5 feet of water that you can swim around with crystal clear water. This didn't bother me or my wife at all though, we still swam off the dock - plus there is really nice pool close to the beach. There are also kayaks on the shore that you can take out. Great touch.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

This was an amazing holiday in this wonderful old world property on a beach amongst coconut palms. We stayed in a honeymoon cottage and would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a low key break. There were hardly any people on the beach or at the pool despite nearly all cottages being occupied. There are kitchen facilities and you can walk within a short distance to convenience store and half a dozen very good restaurants. I'm not sure if you can swim in the ocean as it seemed very shallow but the beach was truly amazing and picturesque. We would definitely like to be back with bias towards honeymoon cottage. We looked at some two bedroom properties and they nice but not as nice as this cottage.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

My Husband and I stayed at the Moorings a few weeks ago as a part of our Honeymoon, It's true the beach is spectacular as are the accommodations and grounds...however....while we were there, there had to have been about 3 different photo shoots, with large crews dragging their equipment back and forth past our beach loungers time and again. Many of them were loud, and on their cell phones, behavior that the Moorings prohibits for their guests but apparently not for the photo crews. What we were looking forward to most was the peace and quiet we thought the Moorings would offer....and for the cost...I expected a little more serenity while on the beach. Perhaps we were unlucky timing wise with there being so many crews, but unfortunately that's the luck of the draw there I suppose. The staff was wonderful however, and very accommodating.

Room Tip: We Stayed in the Sifca House and it was amazing. slight ocean view, lots of light and available to r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Moorings Village and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings Village and Spa

Address: 123 Beach Rd, Islamorada, FL 33036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Moorings Village and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a coconut plantation, The Moorings Village Resort offers one, two and three bedroom villas, cottages and plantation houses with wraparound verandas, colorful Bahamian-style shutters and cypress interiors, each uniquely decorated. Hidden in delightful seclusion under coconut palms are the resort’s magnificent natural white sand beach, heated pool, tennis court and Island Body and Sol Spa, which offers beachfront massage treatments. The Moorings Village offers guests absolute privacy and tranquility with all the comforts of home, including well-equipped kitchens and laundry in most houses, individual dining rooms and living room areas, air conditioning and ceiling fans. Luxury amenities include large screen televisions, elegant hand-painted tiles, oversized soaking tubs and shower stalls, as well as plantation-style porches overlooking the ocean or views of the lushly landscaped grounds. Guests may enjoy dining at the resort's two Zagat-rated restaurants, Pierre's Restaurant and Morada Bay Beach Cafe, located just across the road. The restaurants share a private beach and are the site of the monthly Full Moon Party. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Moorings Village and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moorings Village Hotel Islamorada
Moorings Islamorada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Moorings Village and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.