We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not all it was cracked up to be” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Green Turtle Inn

Green Turtle Inn
81219 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33070
305-664-2006
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 83 Restaurants in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Doing business, Bar scene, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations, Takeout
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“not all it was cracked up to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This place came highly recommended by our resort. We booked a table for 7pm, we arrived 15 mins early to be greeted by the most miserable hostess I have ever met. We were told that our table was not available as we were too early, although from the door way I could se at least 3 tables for 2 that were set up and vacant, so we were seated at the bar. There seemed to be a lot of local people in and they seemed quite loud and a bit worse for wear. The food was expensive and the wine was over priced and we did not particularly enjoy the over loud banter and laughter from the bar area which was just a few feet away from our table which only abated when those responsible were eating !
For the money it cost I would have expected much more. So all in all quite disappointing.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    219
    86
    34
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centerville, Ohio
Top Contributor
1,519 reviews 1,519 reviews
1,022 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 221 cities Reviews in 221 cities
3,030 helpful votes 3,030 helpful votes
“Excellent service, dinner, management, and ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

The Green Turtle Inn is classic casual, upscale. We encourage clients to dress in nice slacks and shirts for dinner. We like the dark tables, chairs, and back porch dining area. The Green Turtle Inn features a neat dark bar with full spirits, and beer and wine.

The Green Turtle Inn is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. So where are the turtle steaks? Actually, the last turtle steaks were served in the 1950’s, and the turtle chowder is made from farm raised turtles. Do request the pepper sherry to add to the turtle chowder.

We order the tuna, and a Chardonnay.

Excellent service, dinner, management, and ambience. In fact, the ambience provides romance, and The Green Turtle Inn may be great for a special occasion. The tariff is appropriate for the fare.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maysville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great prime rib!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stopped in on our way to our resort. I enjoyed the prime rib and my husband had the Triple Tail special. Very good food and loved our Creme Brûlée! Staff was great considering how busy it was for a Saturday night and in season. We will go back again that's for sure!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Dorset
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Mediocre and over priced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant had been very highly recommended to us, not only by other travellers, but by the resort we were staying in. So we were disappointed not to enjoy it. It is very attractive inside, (which it needs to be as it's competing with others with very beautiful coastal views. It was too cold though so you need to wear a sweater. We ordered the tacos with skirt steak as an appetiser - it was good but took 20 minutes to arrive. We were sitting at the bar so it was particularly annoying to see others order later than us and get served first. I thought we could have been given bread - but nothing. The mains arrived too quick! We had not really finished the 1st course. I had the ahi tuna which is a dish I've had many times. The outside was seared well but it was unevenly cooked so there were cold spots in it. It was served with a mix of vegetables which include cabbage I didn't think that was very complementary with the tuna. My husband had chicken which was served with what was described as 'bread pudding' it was disgusting. Even the waiter said he didn't like it - so why not take it off the menu! Some of the desserts sounded good but we weren't going to risk our money! It was the most expensive meal we've had in two weeks in the Keys and the worst.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamorada, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

A little more cost, but you get way more for what you pay. Just a great experience and good service. I like the conch and egg's

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Turtle Inn also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Green Turtle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Turtle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.