We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love, love, love” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Turtle Inn

Green Turtle Inn
81219 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33070
305-664-2006
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 84 Restaurants in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations, Takeout
Key Biscayne, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Love, love, love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Love for breakfast. Love for lunch. Love for dinner. All the food is "comfort food" with a subtly sophisticated french cuisine aspect. The hollandaise sauce on the Eggs Benedict is addictive, ask for extra. The potato hash casserole is perfect with anything and the creamy grits are done the right, good ole southern way. The sticky buns are ridiculously good. Then there's the superb lamb shank which was just as fork tender with hints of wine in the sauce as you would find in any great french bistro. The steak with pomme frittes served in a paper cone is another fav. A long time institution that we look forward to in every trip to the Keys.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    219
    86
    34
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Jam night at the Green Turtle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Went only for cocktails and music to the Open jam. The guitarist who runs it is excellent. As with any jam,it can go downhill with unknown people OR rally and be a wonderful surprise to the ears and senses. Best to give newbies one shot...then ask them up again if they are pleasing to listen to. Some people mistakenly think they can sing Because they have sung karaoke at bars like at least 2 young ladies last evening. But that is what makes open jam a chance...!you may have a really great musician surprise vacationing in the area or home for the holidays.
Butch and Diane were attentive and efficient bartenders and kept the place flowing with good libations. Did not sample food but from reviews, am thinking its a good bet.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Poor breakfast, rude server, irregular hours”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

I first tried coming here at 3pm, when they claim to be open and had a big "restaurant open" sign hanging out front. Turned out sometimes they only serve bar snacks in the afternoon.
At breakfast the next morning, everything our party of three offered came out bland. An 8 dollar french toast with captain morgans, bananas, and toasted coconut came out as dry, unflavored french toast with a few strawberry slices. Our server refused to take it back and defensively pointed out a sprinkling of shaved coconut under the toast, and said "I put strawberries cos we're out of bananas, there are only like three slices of that anyway". Eggs were either not raw on the inside or tough and dry. Won't be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“good food but special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

ate here our first night on Islamorada. No problem with getting reservation, food was good but not special. Probably a good place on weekend night with lots of people at the bar; was very quiet the night we were there

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Aaaaaamazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

We go to islamorada about once a year. Not sure why we never tried green turtle inn until this visit, but I am sure we will go every trip from now on. This is one of those restaurants I wish I could have by my home so I could go once a week! We went for breakfast and everything was phenomenal. The staff was super sweet and attentive.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Turtle Inn also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Green Turtle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Turtle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.