We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Matecumbe Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Matecumbe Resort
Save
You added Matecumbe Resort to your Saves list
76261 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036   |  
Hotel amenities
Fairburn, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“We would stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

The experience was nice. Price was low, people working there were the nicest anywhere on the keys. Pool was clean. This is an older place but was clean, well furnished, and free of bugs ! Like most all of the keys, the beach is not desireable for swimming, however, over by the boat ramp the kids and I found it quite a great place to swim. This place is on the ocean side of the island and is suitable for Sunset pics. Housekeeping was really pleasant lady.

Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    11
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

I was doubtful that we would find a clean, comfortable room with a kitchen in the Keys for an affordable price and we did at Matecumbe Resort.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

This is a very "Keysie" timeshare condo that also rents out rooms for the owners on a daily ( sometimes) and weekly basis. It is a converted motel, and the accommodations are adequate, small bathrooms, reasonable air conditioning, a great but small swimming pool, and a fun place to be.

There are 5 buildings, ranging from a two story wing on the waterfront, a one story wing( with the largest rooms facing the ocean, and three other wings with second floor condos and in one building, some first floor studios.

There is not reataurant - but turn left and head down the road two miles and on the left you will find the cleanest restaurant you have ever eaten in during your life. it's a Cuban place at Caloosa Cove, and the name dows not come to mind, but it is fabulous.

Beaches - if you came to the Keys for swimming beaches, you came to the wrong place. but there is a nice one five miles down at Anne's Beach Park.

Food - lots of area restaurants - some excellenet ( Lazy Days and Green Turtle), some known for sunsets, and others for great breakfasts. Gene Hackman has a home there and can regularlyu be found having breakfast at one place, but I'm keeping his spot to myself, yo have to ask round.

Great place to ralax, wireless internet is available as well as a unit in the office, and you will really enjoy it. if you are looking for a pool with a swim up bar - try Key West and add $200 per night.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, AL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Matecumbe Resort is a great, no frills place for people interested in the natural attractions of the Keys. Accomodations are basic but clean and roomy. The staff is helpful and friendly.

This is not a property for someone interested in resort style amenties but is best suited for someone that will spend most of their time enjoying the ocean and the bay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Royalton, Ohio
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

My wife and I stayed at this resort last week and had a wonderful time. If you need someone to hold you by the hand and walk you through each day, this isn't the place for you. If you can use the Internet to find places of interest and places to eat you will love this place. The staff will gladly suggest places to you also but there are no resort planned activities.
We had a large one bedroom unit with central air, island furniture , and a small but adequate kitchen. HD TV in the living room, a large patio, and a nice quiet atmosphere.
There is a boat launching ramp and if you have a boat, you get dock space with your unit. There is a nice pool where we spent a lot of time and charcoal grills and picnic tables.
There was no messy lot at the entrance as suggested by other reviews. There are private homes next door but all are neat and attractive. The resort itself is well kept up and attractive. It is small and quiet and what a location!!
The lack of a decent swimming beach was the only drawback but there is a public beach just down the road.
The resort has bicycles for guests use and there is a six mile bike path across the street.
I had trouble finding their website but it is www.matecumberesort.net.
If you want a beautiful quiet setting to relax and enjoy the keys, this is the place. If you need someone to wait on you hand and foot, find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

We stayed at the Matecumbe Resort and I have to admit that I was a little nervous after reading some of the reviews. First off the photos on the website are not exactly objective.
Throughout the Island there are million dollar homes with less than desirable neighbors; it's hard to control your neighbors. We stayed in unit 105 and had a sunrise every morning. We were also greeted by "George" the local bird who stood at our patio window. This is a fishing town and not much to do. But that is okay, Key West is only 75 miles south if you are looking for nightlife. I really liked staying here. We spent one day at Anne's Beach which was only 1 mile down the street. There were nice paths for walking and the Sunset from the bridge (not to mention the giant seaturtle and manate we saw)was better than the one we say in Key West. As for the hotel, the rooms were clean and the bathrooms looked as though they were recently remodeled. The bed and living room furniture were new. The decor was a little dated, but I wasn't there to stare at the pictures on the wall. The staff was pleasant and accomodating. It was a great trip.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

Matecumbe is a low-key, friendly spot tucked away in the Keys. It is not an ostentatious expensive resort. The Chica Lodge is nearby and more that style.

It isn't "a dump"; it's a timeshare with predominantly owners who have been using it for years. It's not meant to be a place that caters to every whim and it doesn't purport to be. It is great for families and a good base for exploring the area.

While it does not provide boating, snorkeling, etc. those are available up and down the Keys for those with a little initiative.

I would recommend it to those who are self-sufficient and can entertain themselves. It would be a let-down to someone expecting a glamourous spot where one is waited on hand and foot!

It does not take pets.

  • Liked — Quiet, low-key
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Matecumbe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matecumbe Resort

Address: 76261 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Islamorada
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Matecumbe Hotel Islamorada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matecumbe Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.