We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for basic accomodations on the water” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Matecumbe Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Matecumbe Resort
Save
You added Matecumbe Resort to your Saves list
76261 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036   |  
Hotel amenities
Huntsville, AL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great value for basic accomodations on the water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Matecumbe Resort is a great, no frills place for people interested in the natural attractions of the Keys. Accomodations are basic but clean and roomy. The staff is helpful and friendly.

This is not a property for someone interested in resort style amenties but is best suited for someone that will spend most of their time enjoying the ocean and the bay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    12
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Royalton, Ohio
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

My wife and I stayed at this resort last week and had a wonderful time. If you need someone to hold you by the hand and walk you through each day, this isn't the place for you. If you can use the Internet to find places of interest and places to eat you will love this place. The staff will gladly suggest places to you also but there are no resort planned activities.
We had a large one bedroom unit with central air, island furniture , and a small but adequate kitchen. HD TV in the living room, a large patio, and a nice quiet atmosphere.
There is a boat launching ramp and if you have a boat, you get dock space with your unit. There is a nice pool where we spent a lot of time and charcoal grills and picnic tables.
There was no messy lot at the entrance as suggested by other reviews. There are private homes next door but all are neat and attractive. The resort itself is well kept up and attractive. It is small and quiet and what a location!!
The lack of a decent swimming beach was the only drawback but there is a public beach just down the road.
The resort has bicycles for guests use and there is a six mile bike path across the street.
I had trouble finding their website but it is www.matecumberesort.net.
If you want a beautiful quiet setting to relax and enjoy the keys, this is the place. If you need someone to wait on you hand and foot, find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

We stayed at the Matecumbe Resort and I have to admit that I was a little nervous after reading some of the reviews. First off the photos on the website are not exactly objective.
Throughout the Island there are million dollar homes with less than desirable neighbors; it's hard to control your neighbors. We stayed in unit 105 and had a sunrise every morning. We were also greeted by "George" the local bird who stood at our patio window. This is a fishing town and not much to do. But that is okay, Key West is only 75 miles south if you are looking for nightlife. I really liked staying here. We spent one day at Anne's Beach which was only 1 mile down the street. There were nice paths for walking and the Sunset from the bridge (not to mention the giant seaturtle and manate we saw)was better than the one we say in Key West. As for the hotel, the rooms were clean and the bathrooms looked as though they were recently remodeled. The bed and living room furniture were new. The decor was a little dated, but I wasn't there to stare at the pictures on the wall. The staff was pleasant and accomodating. It was a great trip.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

Matecumbe is a low-key, friendly spot tucked away in the Keys. It is not an ostentatious expensive resort. The Chica Lodge is nearby and more that style.

It isn't "a dump"; it's a timeshare with predominantly owners who have been using it for years. It's not meant to be a place that caters to every whim and it doesn't purport to be. It is great for families and a good base for exploring the area.

While it does not provide boating, snorkeling, etc. those are available up and down the Keys for those with a little initiative.

I would recommend it to those who are self-sufficient and can entertain themselves. It would be a let-down to someone expecting a glamourous spot where one is waited on hand and foot!

It does not take pets.

  • Liked — Quiet, low-key
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2008

I must admit its not a 5 star resort and yes we were a little disappointed when we arrived. The rooms are pretty basic and not particularly big but overall we had a comfortable stay. The air conditioning units are very noisy and can wake you up when they kick in. Our apartment overlooked the sea and what a great view that is to wake up to. Unfortunately seaweed gets washed up onto the man made beach and after a while does produce a bit of a smell. I spoke to a couple of people who own timeshares at that resort and it is their main gripe.
The swimming pool was clean (its part saltwater filled) and you can make use of free bikes to go on the cycle path across the road. A pair of ospreys were nesting in the trees and great egrets and ibis regularly landed on the lawns.
If you are used to top of the range then you will be disappointed. But if you are happy with a somewhere thats comfortable that provides a base and know what to expect then I'm sure you will be fine.

  • Liked — Views of the sea
  • Disliked — Noisy air conditioner unit
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

This place has nerve calling themselves a resort. It is disgusting. The outside appearance is that of a run down, abandoned motel. The "private beach" was dirty, unkept. There are NO resort amenities whatsoever. I should have figured it was a dump when I couldn't find any photos of the "resort" online. A horrible, horrible place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2008

Since other people have inquired about the Matecumbe Resort and there seems to be no information on the web, I thought I should write of our unfortunate experience. The fact that there is NO information on the resort should have been our first clue. We were excited to be exchanging our wonderful timeshare in Cabo San Lucas for a week at the Matecumbe Resort in the beautiful Florida Keys for a change of pace. While we have had several wonderful vacations through other exchanges that did not compare to our timeshare in Cabo, this exchange was in no way a fair exchange and, in fact, our trading company is going to compensate us after reviewing our complaint with pictures.

The Matecumbe Resort, with a mailing address in Islamorada but actually located on Lower Matecumbe Key, is an old-style motel-type timeshare that also rents rooms nightly. It is difficult to find when approaching on the Overseas Highway and a dangerous entry with no turn lane to make a left turn off the highway into the resort. There is a private house next to the resort driveway which is littered with junk and looks rather creepy. The office closes at 5 p.m. The ocean (while beautiful) is not swimmable due to weeds and gunk that appear everyday when the tide goes out (most of the day). The draw for the Matecumbe is for fishermen, most from Florida by looking at the truck license plates, who can launch and dock their boats right at the Matecumbe Resort (but there is only a small boat ramp, no marina - just canal docking). They fish everyday and come back at the end of their day with ice chests full of fish to be BBQd for dinner. While this looked like great fun for them, being served dinner at our timeshare resort restaurant and being served a drink on the private beach or at the swim-up bar is more our style! Since we didn't have a boat, we found ourselves pretty much reading books and driving around looking for entertainment and places to eat (nothing close). We paid extra to spend a night at a hotel in Key West just to have a little excitement on our trip.

The upside is that the scenic drive through the Florida Keys is beautiful! Anne's Beach a little ways up the road has a nice beach with picnic areas. Our one-bedroom unit was clean (although the walls need cleaning or paint), the bed was comfortable (the pillows were not), the kitchen is well-equipped, the oceanview from our window and deck was nice, the small pool appeared to be kept clean (we didn't use it), the man-made beach was raked every morning and kept clean, and a newspaper was delivered to our door daily.

The downside is that the air conditioning units are right outside the bedroom window and made so much noise it woke us up during the middle of the night when it came on, and you have to turn up the sound on the TV when it is running. The ceiling fan in the living room shook so bad we thought it would fall to the floor (or on our heads). The bathroom is extremely small with not much storage for toiletries. There is no housekeeping service provided; no linen change during a week-long stay, and you must exchange your towels at the housekeeping room and empty your trash.

If you are looking for a fishing experience or just a place to relax, read, and cook your own meals in an older facility, this might be the place for you. Be sure to pick up your groceries in the Key Largo area on your way to the resort as there aren't any grocery stores nearby.

If you are looking for a nice resort with special amenities such as restaurants/bars on site, large swimming pools with swim-up bars, nice beaches with ocean swimming, activities director, and housekeeping service, you might want to look around. There are many "resorts" along the Florida Keys highway that appear to be as described above.

  • Liked — It is in the Florida Keys; oceanview.
  • Disliked — Couldn't even dip feet in the ocean due to weeds and gunk; no restaurant, grocery stores or entertainment in close proximity.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Matecumbe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matecumbe Resort

Address: 76261 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Islamorada
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Matecumbe Hotel Islamorada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matecumbe Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.