We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Resort!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Matecumbe Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Matecumbe Resort
76261 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036   |  
Hotel amenities
florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not a Resort!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This place has alot of nerve calling itself a resort. There are no amenities to speak of. Rec. hall consists of a lob sided fooseball table and a beat up ping pong table. Beach smelled like rotten eggs. Room was clean. Great view of ocean. Nice pool. Very relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

When we travel, we are looking for value, comfort, and cleanliness. Matecumbe Resort delivers on all three. The rooms are extremely clean, the beds are very comfortable, kitchens are well-stocked, and the atmosphere is laid back and welcoming. We come here to relax by the pool, play a little shuffleboard, ride the bikes provided on the bike path, and drive to restaurants for the fresh fish in the area. The location is central to Key Largo and Key West and their attractions. The manager, Vicki, is very accommodating and helpful, and keeps updating the rooms which is very noticeable. We look forward to visiting this little oasis on a regular basis.

Room Tip: Lower level by the pool convenient to everything or the more spacious rooms over the office with sep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We had a great visit at the Matecumbe Resort. Got there after the office closed, but they opened the office for us to check in. The room was perfect for us as it had a kitchen, coffee maker, etc. They are across the street from a walking or riding path. Close to Robbie's Marina where to a boat trip to 2 State Parks. Robbie's has a great grouper dinner. If you have a boat up to 20 ft. you get dock space.

Room Tip: Rooms in the second building on 2nd floor have balconies overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Britain, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We travelled to the Keys in July of 2011 and booked Matecumbe thru our time share. Our unit was roomy and clean with a private balcony. This is a "no frills" quiet place to stay yet has all the comforts of home. The staff are very friendly and dedicated to insuring that your stay with them is comfortable and fun. As guests of the resort we were given free passes to attend the local 4th of July celebration at Founder's Park and enjoyed the entertainment and beautiful fireworks. Pool was clean and refreshing. Private beach was a great place to just sit by the ocean with a lovely sea breeze and enjoy the peace and serenity. Plenty of picnic tables and BBQ set ups made for the perfect summer experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

stayed here actually in May of 2010 - and had a very relaxing week of vacation.

the room was clean, had a patio, galley kitchen and anything you would need to cook and live like tyou would at home.

The pool was relaxed, clean and the perfect mix of sun and shade, clean bathrooms in pool house area.

Support staff was there business hours and was exactly that - supportive.

I believe this place would be great for fishermen/women with own boat as there is a launch on site. the beach was craggy and nice for a visit, not for building sand castles or jogging. However, the Keys are not short on fantastic beaches and many parks are quite near.

A small playground, indoor recreation amenities and charcoal grills round out this nice place for an affordable Florida Keys getaway.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairburn, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

The experience was nice. Price was low, people working there were the nicest anywhere on the keys. Pool was clean. This is an older place but was clean, well furnished, and free of bugs ! Like most all of the keys, the beach is not desireable for swimming, however, over by the boat ramp the kids and I found it quite a great place to swim. This place is on the ocean side of the island and is suitable for Sunset pics. Housekeeping was really pleasant lady.

Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

I was doubtful that we would find a clean, comfortable room with a kitchen in the Keys for an affordable price and we did at Matecumbe Resort.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Matecumbe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matecumbe Resort

Address: 76261 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty lodging in Islamorada
Also Known As:
Matecumbe Hotel Islamorada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matecumbe Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Matecumbe Resort to your Saves list