We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take the kids for a great day!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Theater of the Sea

Theater of the Sea
84721 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 84.5, Islamorada, FL 33036
305 664 2431
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 17 Attractions in Islamorada
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Parks, Aquariums, Theaters & Stadiums
Activities: Swimming with dolphins
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A park where children age 13 and older can swim with dolphins.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Islamorada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Take the kids for a great day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Unbelievable dolphin show - and you are really up close and personal... not like Miami or Orlando. It takes about 2 hours to do all the shows... dolphin, sea lion, parrot, short boat ride, and a tour through the lovely grounds seeing all sorts of marine life and hearing their stories. You can swim with the dolphin though the cost is hefty. I haven't, but everyone says the experience is like nothing you could ever imagine.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    501
    270
    66
    25
    40
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

I know its obvious when you drive by on US1 but this is really a hidden gem.

Very small and quaint but has a lot to offer. You can swim with dolphins, play with sea lions, and feed turtles. If you don't want to do that they have small intimate shows.

We really enjoyed our time

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Lots of interactions!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

My family of four and our three friends stopped during our tour of the keys. We all had a great time! The kids all got to hold a parrot, toss rings on the sealions, and interact with the dolphins. The trainers seemed to truly love the animals. The only complaint was the strong smell of cats in the gift shop.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great Family Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My wife and son went and I watched the videos. They really had a great time. The place is intimate enough to make you feel a part of the show. If you like cats, you will also like this place.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beyond our Expectations!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We knew we wanted to see a dolphin show and Theater of the Sea was recommended by our hotel in Key Largo. Being January there wasn't a big crowd, which was very nice! We started with the parrot show and it was fantastic! The birds are such characters and our girls were able to participate by calling our numbers. Then there was a little time after to hold a parrot if you wanted, with the small crowd, our girls were right in line!! We then saw the dolphin show, and it was just amazing!! We sat in the front row, it was like the show was just for us, and the dolphins were beautiful and the trainers were great. then came the part in the show were they ask for volunteers, i didn't think both our girls would get called but they did!! Our daughters dreams came true!! It was amazing!! All the trainers were very knowledgable, friendly and very enthusiastic!!! The same story with the sea lion show! It was such a great experience for our girls, a day they will never forget!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Theater of the Sea also viewed

Key Largo, Florida Keys
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to Theater of the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Theater of the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.