We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelmed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ziggy's & Mad Dog's

Ziggy's & Mad Dog's
83000 Overseas Hwy., Islamorada, FL 33036
(305) 664-3391
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 82 restaurants in Islamorada
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Plantation, Florida
1 review
“Underwhelmed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Although the food was a decent departure from the typical local fare, the overall was a disappointment. Many tables were empty but we were told we could sit at a high top in the bar or wait 30 minutes. Our waitress seemed uneducated about the menu and how dishes were prepared. Food was decent but not worth the price even at south Florida standards.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    163
    47
    22
    11
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Melt in the mouth steak and wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I we're recommended to try Ziggy's due to it's reputation for the best steaks in Islamorada and it certainly lived up to the expectation.

The food was absolutely delicious and the staff very friendly and happy to advise on wines and menu.

As we are late eaters they even let us settle our bill and relax and enjoy the rest of our wine on the patio. As they locked up we were lucky enough to meet the Chef Ben who we enjoyed a nice chat with and he even topped up our wine glasses before he left :-) now that's service !

Thank you for a lovely and memorable dining experience - we had a wonderful night and would love to come back.

Andrew and Shar xx

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lobster Mac & Cheese!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This place is a little different from your usual Keys spot. The vibe is relaxed, but the food is special. The Florida Keys have some of the best seafood I have ever had, even in the worst restaurant. However, Ziggy's menu is very different from the usual. The food is fresh and the interpretations of the meals are as well. I had the absolutely best lobster mac & cheese I have ever had and the presentation was so beautiful! My boyfriend ordered a deliciously well-cooked steak, and my aunt was able to order something yummy despite her gluten intolerance. Do not hesitate to stop in and send my regards to the chef!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Over-priced and not good value”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We went there based on reviews and were extremely disappointed. Quite frankly, its a rip-off and I hate to have to say that about any business, but it is. It's no 'Up-market' place. Very ordinary decor in a tatty building. Service was OK. Not outstanding, but not terrible either.

Most importantly, here's the rundown on the food. I ordered the pork chop. That's exact.y what I got!!! A pork chop on a plate. No salad, no potato, no veges. Just a pork chop on a plate. Disgusting. So I then ordered a side of fries. Chop and fries......$36. Even a basic hamburger and fries will cost you $24.

Put this place on your 'Must Do' list for Florida Keys and Islamorada. Meaning, Must Stay Away. There's plenty of other good places to eat there, but Ziggy's is not one of them. 2 other tables around us were also complaining about the price being a rip off.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Service was really good yet Lobster Bisque to start a disappointment. Ambiance decent, it was dusk and all blinds in the restaurant were closed making it feel less like we were in the keys and more like any crowded room in anywhere USA. Flavors were understated especially in Shrimp Mayalina and creamed spinach somewhat bland. Mixed green salad delicious and Sirloin Burger cooked to proper temperature.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ziggy's & Mad Dog's also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Ziggy's & Mad Dog's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ziggy's & Mad Dog's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.