We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sandwiches at a reasonable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Hall Cafe

City Hall Cafe
88511 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33070
305 852-3354
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 84 Restaurants in Islamorada
Price range: $0 - $24
Cuisines: Italian, Sandwiches, Bistro, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Delivery
New Egypt, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stopped in for a late lunch with my wife and son and was really impressed with the food and service. Would highly recommend for a quick bite!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    18
    10
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Collinsville, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This place is smaller than most closets, with only 5 tables inside and an outside patio. But don't be fooled. Food and service are terrific. I had a meatloaf sub and my wife had a grilled chicken sandwich, both with onion rings. One of the best sandwiches i've ever had. Although very busy, the lady running the counter was very pleasant and efficient. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamorada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best honey mustard!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I go here regularly and it's always consistent! Good food and service and the best honey mustard ever! Great locals place but a little pricey! Will always go back though!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewartstown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Small in appearance but delivers big!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Service was awesome. Food was great with large portions! Appropriate prices. Good Variety in the menu. Even got tips on good fishing in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food, terrible service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

My husband says this was the best meal he had the entire time we were in the Keys. He had a mahi-mahi cooked rare and said it was perfection! My son had the Chicken Alfredo which was amazing. I had their homemade chicken vegetable soup that was delicious and definitely homemade. The issue was the service. The waitress had her husband and kids at a table and spent more time taking care of them then paying attention to us. We were asked if we wanted bread by 3 different people and each time we said "yes", but we never received the bread. My husband had one beer, but was never offered another. We had 3 different people who greeted us, seated us and took our orders, etc and never had any follow-up with any of them. It's really too bad, because the chef is turning out some amazing food. I hope they can get the front of the house figured out. We also had the Key Lime pie that was so good, we came back 2 others times for pie "to go". Both of the other times we stopped in they were very friendly and competent. It appears they do a lot of carry out orders and that keeps them hoping, my too many to take care of their eat-in costumers.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Hall Cafe also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to City Hall Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Hall Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.