We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Asked Where Locals Eat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rusty Anchor Fisheries

Rusty Anchor Fisheries
5501 5TH Ave, Key West, FL 33040-6042
(305) 294-5369
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #245 of 356 restaurants in Key West
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Dessert
Hebron, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Asked Where Locals Eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My wife and I were at a local attraction and met a couple who live in key west. I asked them where they go for good food and they recommended the Rusty Anchor on stock key, it adjoins key west. So off we went nice place we hade the fritters and the fresh catch which was yellow fin. Both of these were very good. As we sat there we heard the waitress say to numerous patron will it be the usual, so no doubt locals go here. If you like to eat outside or with a lot of key west atmosphere (whatever that is) you won't like this restaurant but for food it's excellent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    67
    45
    21
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Come for conch fritters & pie and leave. If at all.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Conch fritters were really great. It was our first time trying them and we wish we got the full dozen instead of 1/2.
We came for lunch so got the fish with fries. I picked Mahi Mahi, which the waitress suggested to get blackened, but I would've liked it grilled better. The fries are nothing special and neither was the cole slaw.
The key lime pie was homemade and delicious. Very well made.
It's a dark and grimy place but at least some of the food was good. The waitress was not welcoming and rushed us through our meal. She brought the check before we were even done eating and then when we asked for dessert, she plopped it on the table with the new check before while we were STILL eating our main entre. We will never go back.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food from friendly folk!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Were told that this was "the best" in Key West - where all the locals go to eat. We were not disappointed! Wonderful, fresh fish - right off the boat - served with delicious sides - baked whole sweet potato (or other choices) and delicious sauteed spinach to accompany our wonderful pan fried fish! Attentive service by John was great! In fact we are returning there for dinner for a second time this trip! Nice friendly atmosphere - and out of the "crush" of tourists on Duval Street! After a busy day of touring or shopping - this is truly a welcome "oasis"!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A local's place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We were told to eat here by our hotel bartender and it did not disappoint. Pat the owner is very friendly and hands on. She made our meal a very nice evening. We ate the Porgy and the Yellow Snapper and it was very good. Good cole slaw, fresh fish and a warm, friendly atmosphere with less than Duvall St. prices. Easy to find just off Key West on Stony Island.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“going downhill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have been coming here for decades and it seems like they have been slipping for decades. Service has always been mediocre, the place was always a little grimy but the food was excellent. Now not so much. They simply bread and fry most of their stuff and do not seem to have any local flair left in them.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rusty Anchor Fisheries also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Rusty Anchor Fisheries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rusty Anchor Fisheries, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.