We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saint Mary Star of the Sea

Saint Mary Star of the Sea
1010 Windsor Lane, Key West, Key West, FL 33040
3052941018
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 84 attractions in Key West
Type: Churches/ Cathedrals
Attraction Details
Palmyra Maine USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was our first stop in Key West (we normally seek out the Catholic Churches when we travel). Open to everyone and noticed that many people stopped to use the rest room...seems like they keep it open for the public, which is very, very nice. Lit candles, prayed and admired the beautiful insides. Visited the church gift shop and had a lovely chat with the lady running it, filled us in on the history and shared love of our faith. Purchased a few items, including a crucifix. One evening we stopped at the 24 hour open Adoration Chapel attached to the lovely grounds for silent prayer. How wonderful to have a place like that to stop and pray while traveling.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    46
    10
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Prettiest church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I have travelled all over the world and this is the prettiest church I have ever seen. Simple beauty without the ornate (and often gaudy) decorations of other Catholic Churches. I wandered in during the week and was alone in the sanctuary. The shuttered doors on both sides of the church were open and the site was quite amazing. If you are looking for gold, jewels, bronze etc, you will not be impressed.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washingtondc
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Never take a vacation from God”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We enjoyed Mass on the Sunday we visited - loved the padded pews...nice grounds...mini Grotto of Lourdes, etc The sides have shuttered windows that are opened in daytime.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“r and r”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

spectacular! gardens and grottos next door , really nice.
small chapel past the grottos, beautiful. statuary all around was quite moving.... must see while you are there.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Sant Mary Star of the Sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I loved the Grotto. The church is beautiful and so are the grounds. A lovely place to visit. Took many photos and plan to go there on my next visit to Key West. Great history.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saint Mary Star of the Sea also viewed

 

Been to Saint Mary Star of the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint Mary Star of the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Saint Mary Star of the Sea to your Saves list