We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saint Mary Star of the Sea

Saint Mary Star of the Sea
1010 Windsor Ln, Key West, Key West, FL 33040
+1 305-294-1018
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 151 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Palmyra Maine USA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was our first stop in Key West (we normally seek out the Catholic Churches when we travel). Open to everyone and noticed that many people stopped to use the rest room...seems like they keep it open for the public, which is very, very nice. Lit candles, prayed and admired the beautiful insides. Visited the church gift shop and had a lovely chat with the lady running it, filled us in on the history and shared love of our faith. Purchased a few items, including a crucifix. One evening we stopped at the 24 hour open Adoration Chapel attached to the lovely grounds for silent prayer. How wonderful to have a place like that to stop and pray while traveling.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pwherman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Prettiest church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I have travelled all over the world and this is the prettiest church I have ever seen. Simple beauty without the ornate (and often gaudy) decorations of other Catholic Churches. I wandered in during the week and was alone in the sanctuary. The shuttered doors on both sides of the church were open and the site was quite amazing. If you are looking for gold, jewels, bronze etc, you will not be impressed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eurogirl00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washingtondc
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Never take a vacation from God”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We enjoyed Mass on the Sunday we visited - loved the padded pews...nice grounds...mini Grotto of Lourdes, etc The sides have shuttered windows that are opened in daytime.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank petesgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“r and r”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

spectacular! gardens and grottos next door , really nice.
small chapel past the grottos, beautiful. statuary all around was quite moving.... must see while you are there.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank lillysross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sant Mary Star of the Sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I loved the Grotto. The church is beautiful and so are the grounds. A lovely place to visit. Took many photos and plan to go there on my next visit to Key West. Great history.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank sojourner0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saint Mary Star of the Sea also viewed

 

Been to Saint Mary Star of the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing