We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only Catholic Church in KW” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saint Mary Star of the Sea

Saint Mary Star of the Sea
1010 Windsor Lane, Key West, Key West, FL 33040
3052941018
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 83 attractions in Key West
Type: Churches/ Cathedrals
Attraction Details
Pensacola, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Only Catholic Church in KW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I'm a church goer and the Basilica is an amazing place. If you have a car and would like to attend mass parking spots are at the back of the church . This place is a must go for visitors as well. The church is located along Truman Avenue.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    47
    11
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Church and grounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We attended Easter Mass at St. Marys. Had to get their early in order to get seats in this colorful, inviting church. Childrens choir was amazing. The grotto outside and the rosary walk were crowded that morning as they are special places to be on a beautiful sun-filled morning.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A nice addition of history and peach to an early morning Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

One April morning I took a walk on Truman Avenue from the intersection of Simonton Street and stumbled on Saint Mary Star of the Sea on the opposite side of the avenue. Although I don't practice any religion, the church building drew me in. The building had all of its doors wide open with bright and inviting rays of the sun beaming out of them. After learning the brief history of the church from the plaque I toured in and around the building. I felt more fond of Key West as a result of my visit to the church.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful to SEA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Another wonderful story about those who love and protect Key West and its residents from natural disasters. A beautiful grotto where you find a moment of quiet contemplation and appreciate the beautiful story started ages ago and prevailing to date.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algonac, MI
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful basilica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Love the convenience of several masses on the weekend and an extra daily mass at noon during lent! I felt welcome during mass and even acknowledged by the priest when asked how many visitors were in attendance.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saint Mary Star of the Sea also viewed

 

Been to Saint Mary Star of the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint Mary Star of the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.