We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and friendly church” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saint Mary Star of the Sea

Saint Mary Star of the Sea
1010 Windsor Ln, Key West, Key West, FL 33040
+1 305-294-1018
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 69 Attractions in Key West
Type: Churches/ Cathedrals, Cultural
Attraction details
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Beautiful and friendly church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Lovely church, very friendly parishioners. Enjoyed the priests' homilies during daily mass. Very convenient to our B&B!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    58
    13
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Lovely church, all decorated for the Christmas Holidays. A nice respite amid the KW experience.
Awesome grounds, elementary school and Gift Shop.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Richmond, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great spiritual experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Father John Baker is such a joy. His smile warms your heart not to mention his religious message. The church is historically breathtakingly beautiful! Stop by to visit the chapel and grotto too.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“You have to go, beautiful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We are Catholic and I was really looking forward to Mass at this Church, the history is wonderful and it is a beautiful expereince. If you are not Catholic, do not let that deter you - visit - it is beautiful!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GERMANTOWN
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“If you need a place to go to mass, this is a good place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

As Catholics, weekly mass is not optional. We were in Key West for a wedding/vacation. The wedding was on Saturday afternoon, so we couldn't make the vigil mass as we do when we're home.

Sunday morning was beautiful. A perfect church morning. One of the priests came into the back of the church snapping his fingers. I was hooked.

As it turned out, he did not deliver the homily, but the priest who did was good. He was a fast talker, but he had a nifty message.

After church, the finger-snapping priest was outside greeting the parishioners. I waited my turn and snapped my fingers at him. He cracked up. Good service.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saint Mary Star of the Sea also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Saint Mary Star of the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint Mary Star of the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.