We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spiritual experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saint Mary Star of the Sea

Saint Mary Star of the Sea
1010 Windsor Lane, Key West, Key West, FL 33040
3052941018
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 84 attractions in Key West
Type: Churches/ Cathedrals
Attraction Details
New Richmond, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great spiritual experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Father John Baker is such a joy. His smile warms your heart not to mention his religious message. The church is historically breathtakingly beautiful! Stop by to visit the chapel and grotto too.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    46
    10
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“You have to go, beautiful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We are Catholic and I was really looking forward to Mass at this Church, the history is wonderful and it is a beautiful expereince. If you are not Catholic, do not let that deter you - visit - it is beautiful!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GERMANTOWN
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“If you need a place to go to mass, this is a good place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

As Catholics, weekly mass is not optional. We were in Key West for a wedding/vacation. The wedding was on Saturday afternoon, so we couldn't make the vigil mass as we do when we're home.

Sunday morning was beautiful. A perfect church morning. One of the priests came into the back of the church snapping his fingers. I was hooked.

As it turned out, he did not deliver the homily, but the priest who did was good. He was a fast talker, but he had a nifty message.

After church, the finger-snapping priest was outside greeting the parishioners. I waited my turn and snapped my fingers at him. He cracked up. Good service.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Saint Mary Star of the Sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Saint Mary's is the only Catholic Chrch that I know of on the island. The church is an older style church - which is great and has a big pipe organ. They have a 5:00 Saturday vigil and Sunday masses in English and one in Spanish at noon. The Church is located on Truman (US1) just northeast of Duval Street.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate, NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“beautiful and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Husb & I attended 2 masses here, 1 year apart, and have each time been welcomed by the regulars. Kids participate in the choir & mass, and its very clean & open-air. Love it here.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saint Mary Star of the Sea also viewed

 

Been to Saint Mary Star of the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint Mary Star of the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Saint Mary Star of the Sea to your Saves list