We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Wait to go Back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel to your Saves list
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3841 North Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Key West
nj
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Can't Wait to go Back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

Stayed for 11 days - booked a suit because I knew it was going to be a busy time and did not want to chance availability for an upgrade. I am so glad we did. The rooms were great - comfortable, clean and had everything we needed.
Did not have a problem with the pool being crowded - we were out most of the day and used the pool after 4pm when most quests were getting ready to go out.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    921
    390
    156
    72
    44
See reviews for
299
841
35
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2009

My wife and 8 month old recently did a long weekend at this Marriott. It was clean and beautiful with a nice pool and private beach. Not on the west side by Duval Street, but almost better: 1/2 mile from airport and around the corner from US 1...if you plan on traveling north to other Keys at some point. We were upgraded to a suite facing the pool as we are Platinum members. The rooms are clean and spacious. The staff was helpful in every way. The breakfast at Tavern N Town was excellent. The pool area was large with plenty of space for all. Marriott recently bought this hotel which used to be privately owned, so it feels like an upgraded regular "city" Marriott. (It is a Category 6). This was a great trip for us and our infant loved the pool!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. petersburg, fl
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

Hotel was great. Went with my 18-year-old sister. Parking is covered so left car there and took the free shuttle to Duval St. Room was fantastic. Everything was great except for poolside service - drinks not good and COULD NOT get a staff person's attention to order food, which is overpriced. When I did go to bar to order food bartender 'forgot' to put order in when I came back 45 mins later to check on order and she kind of blamed me and didn't even apologize. SO - pool service left a lot to be desired. Also another downer- no fridge in standard room. Had to order ice everyday for the cooler bc there is no ice machine either. One more downer room service forgot a few things when we ordered bfast in. But I guess that can happen anywhere. So everything except for pool service and the lack of fridge was great. Room prices are great considering it's a luxury hotel. Hotel is just as pictured in the photos which is a plus. We didn't want to get out of that comfy marriot bed which they're known for. I looked at a million places it seemed before deciding on the marriot and am happy with the vacation. This place is for you if you're looking to relax during the day and take a short ride to Duval street to party and shop.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

As with some of the previous reviewers, we were given an upgrade at check-in. Even so, when we walked in I thought there had to be some mistake. This was not a hotel suite - it was a condo, and it was gorgeous. Everything was done in travertine tile, huge rooms, looked to be brand-new appliances in the full kitchen, including a stainless steel sub-zero fridge, beautiful furnishings, I could go on an on.

I viewed the location being away from Old Town as a plus, considering it took no more than 10 minutes to get there from the hotel, and you didn't have to worry about any noise from Duval St. As other reviewers mentioned, we experienced issues with the pool area. We went down at 9:45 am and every chair was already being used. It's not that the pool area is tiny; it's just that since Key West is not particularly known for its beaches, people are making use of the pool. The private beach at the Marriott is nothing to write home about...it has a nice view of a landfill across the water. (But if you want to try a beach in Key West, try the one at Zachary Taylor State Park - very nice, but take some water shoes, the coastline is rocky).

Staff couldn't have been nicer, and we were given a card to get a free buffet breakfast during each day of our stay, which was great. The free parking underneath our building was also a very nice unexpected perk, because their website mentioned a $20 per day parking fee.

We are already making plans to go back sometime before the end of summer, I really want to do a snorkeling trip. Sunset at Mallory Square is all it was hyped up to be. And when we go back, we're determined to get the same room we stayed at the first time.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US Traveler
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

This was one of the nicest suites I have ever stayed in - very modern, clean, open, and beautifully decorated. The location was a bit off the beaten path (Mallory Sq/Duvall St), but we had a car, and the Key is only 2x4 miles, so not a problem. Also, the taxis weren't expensive and more fun that getting a DUI! I never used the free bus, but saw that many folks did.

The beach is not really a swimming beach - but, as stated in other reviews, KW is not known for beaches, so - good try Marriott. The pool was small and a bit crowded, but the staff was excellent.

The suites need just a few items to make them perfect - paper towels, salt&pepper, sponge, coffee maker (that makes more than 1 cup at a time), and a broom. I was surprised to see there was no Key West Tourist book, like in almost all other hotels. There is a great FREE publication that would have been helpful - "Walking/Biking Tours of Key West" by Sharon Wells that we picked up at an art gallery.

Every staff member, from check-in to housekeeping was nice, smiling and helpful. The workout room was very nice and I liked the fresh fruit! All in all, it turned out to be even better than I had thought.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

We just returned from staying at the Marriott Beachside. As other reviewers indicate, the suites are gorgeous! Very new and high end fixtures. We used Marriott points and were clearly given the worst location (right next to very busy Rte 1) and smallest suite (only room for lamp on one side of bed so one of us couldn't read) - but the soundproofing when the sliders were closed was great. And we had stairs off balcony to the beach area. Our one real issue was that the full kitchen only had a coffee maker that could make one cup at a time with those prefilled filters. We inquired about a regular coffeemaker and were told they were removed when Marriott took over. We love a couple of cups of coffee in the morning (and had brought some with us) so this was a nuisance. We trekked over to the restaurant each morning to get 3 cups of takeout and were given the impression at the front desk that it was complimentary. The first couple of mornings the staff were friendly and helpful. After that they were less so and two mornings wanted to charge us. The last morning they insisted on charging - $8 for the 3 cups of takeout! Not the kind of service we've experienced at many other Marriotts. We also didn't have housekeeping one day. I guess they overlooked us in the corner. One note for older travelers - there were two full bathrooms (a real treat!) but the tub sides are quite high. One is a jacuzzi which is nice. All in all, we really enjoyed the setup and the comfortable seating in the livingroom and on the balcony. Just hope they solve the coffee issue - we heard others complaining about this as well.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, LA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

We were upgraded to a suite/full-blown condo because it was our 5 year anniversary. FREE Parking! Really nice pool area and bar. Small beach area that now includes a swimming area not previously available at this hotel according to other reviewers. Not in the middle of Duval Street so you can get away from all the noise. Would not suggest eating at the restaurant as it was overpriced and there are lots of better alternatives. Otherwise, everything else was great.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel

Address: 3841 North Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel is a seven-acre waterfront property with lush tropical gardens, magnificent waterfront swimming pool and a wide variety of unique dining experiences. It is a blend of island ambiance and contemporary elegance, set on the southernmost point of one of the world's most storied travel destinations.129 one, two and three bedroom suites plus 93 king standard rooms. Each suite has a gourmet kitchen with sub zero refrigerator freezer, living room, dinning room, spa tub in master bathroom, marble floors, balcony and washer dryer with resort or water views. The standard rooms are much smaller with one king bed and view of an open walkway.Our man made beach is for tanning with limited water access, we do have a water sports concession on property on the beach and a fishing pier.Our new WIFI service is complimentary through out the hotel including rooms and the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Key West
Marriott Beachside Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.