We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel to your Saves list
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3841 North Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Ashford, Kent
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Good hotel service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in March 2013. Hotel is just on Key West but provides an excellent hourly service to Downtown and does drop offs at various locations. Even when this was full they provided us with a taxi. There was excellent commentary in the morning of the sights in Key West. No need to do a tour! The rooms were nicely furnished and the bath was huge. The air-conditioning worked very well. The only problem that I encountered was the gym which did not have good air-conditioning and was stifling hot. The pool was large but it was salt watered which I didn't really like.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    923
    391
    157
    72
    44
See reviews for
299
843
35
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We recently stayed at the Marriott from 3/23-3/27 for my husbands 40th birthday. We could not have been happier from the time we arrived till we left. We booked the 3 bedroom presidential suite, it is pricy but we shared it with another couple and my brother. We weren't sure what to expect from pictures or how much privacy we would have but the room (Suite) was huge, it was perfect. Each couple had their own room/bathroom and we had plenty of privacy, yet we had the communal area of the kitchen/dining/living room. It was great, the staff at check in was knowledgable and super efficient. The hotel was very clean & alll staff was great. The beach is very small, like other reviews, however you don't go to Key West for the beaches. The pool was nice, saltwater & warm. Every time we called for housekeeping, which was at least once a day, they were there in 5 minutes or less with whatever we needed. This hotel is probably as far away from downtown as you can get, but we picked this hotel on purpose for that reason. They do offer a shuttle that runs downtown on the hour until 11pm. It was great for our trips down, most nights we took a cab back because the last shuttle leaves Duval Street at 11:20pm, and we were not ready to go back to the hotel. They also offer a shuttle to/from the airport. A few times we asked the drivers to drop us off at the seaport & Mallory Square and they did which was very nice. It was an amazing trip and we are definitely planning on returning when the next one turns 40 in 18 months.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent 5 nights at this hotel. If you like beaches, this is not the destination for you. There are a few beaches on the island and all are small and man-made, and you can't really get in the water. The Marriott has a small patch of sand in the back that overlooks the water. The hotel itself is nice. I read a review that summed it up really good: your experience 100% depends on the room that you get. The first night we stayed in a regular King bed walkway room. The room was small, dark, no natural light, and no balcony. We were nicely upgraded on our 2nd night to a 1 bedroom suite. You HAVE to have a suite to enjoy this hotel, in my opinion. Not that we spend a lot of time in our room, but it's nice to have the space, kitchen, and balcony. The hotel shuttle to downtown and the airport is convenient. My wife and I travel to a lot of Marriott properties, and this one was nice, as long as you get a good room. We heard the property used to be a timeshare property before Marriott bought it and I can see that. Key West is a fun town, a lot of bars and restaurants!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We had a mixed experience at this hotel.

Pros:
1) Our two bedroom suite was huge with a well stocked kitchen (dishes for 8!).
2) Little bit of noise from the room above (tile floors) but generally a quiet stay.
3) Pool is nice.

Cons:
1) The location is 4 miles from downtown and there is nothing nearby worth walking to (just hotels and strip mall stuff, and it's almost impossible to walk right now because of the road construction out front). They offer a shuttle to get downtown but that was often frustrating. It's only once per hour and the drivers fancy themselves tour guides so they take the small back roads, stop to point out flowers and tell stories. What is already a 15-20 min ride because of traffic and construction was often significantly longer, (which consequently made them late for the downtown pick-up more than once). While some people may enjoy it, we were with our two small children who were often tired and hungry; if we wanted a tour we would have signed up for one of the many tours offered around town, I really just wanted the shuttle to be quick and reliable. When I raised my concerns with the front desk manager she told me I should "take a taxi" if I didn't like it.
2) Service was hit or miss. When we arrived the first night late in the evening (after a missed connection) and needed to get to the supermarket to pick up my son's medicine, the valet arranged to drive my husband over there and pick him up - which was well above and beyond the call of duty (and very much appreciated). But other than that, I was unimpressed. The front desk manager's response to my concerns about the shuttle were unhelpful to say the least, and borderline rude. Also the bellmen are very helpful with bags but speak almost no english, so can't answer even the most basic questions, ("how do we get a taxi").
3) Restaurant / room service food was ok but not great. Again hit or miss (pizzas were good, burger was too greasy, chicken entree way too salty).

Bottom line: I'm not sure I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed in a presidential suite which had more than ample room for four family members. Mom and dad had a separate bedroom while our children (20 & 17) shared the living room pullout sofa. Two bathrooms were appreciated (though only one shower). Little man made beach was perfect for our family (one of the few beaches on the key). We were far enough from the hustle and bustle of Duval, but close enough via hotel tram. Food and drinks were pricey, but there were offsite options. Overall, highly recommended!s

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

If tranquility is what you are looking for, then this Marriott would be fine. The advertisement was misleading implying it was "close" to all the action. Close, if that means a 25-minute shuttle trip to get to downtown and the Duval Street area. (In fairness, the hotel does offer a very reliable service.) This hotel is far from the Key West Express that brought us over. You will be very isolated here. Our "standard" rooms had no view at all.

Room Tip: Better make sure you have a few of something - not the hallway across from you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had a gulf view Presidential suite on the first level and it was great. Very large with fully equipped kitchen, large bedroom, large jetted tub, and easy access to the pool and water. An adjoining bedroom would make this great for a family. The restaurant onsite was excellent for dinner and breakfast. Lunch is served poolside and selections are good.

Service overall was quite good, professional and friendly. The shuttle to and from town was always on time and convenient. Airport shuttle was equally good.

Three cautions: 1.Key West is mostly coral and has few and mostly terrible beaches. This property is no exception. There is a nice sandy area next to the sea wall but the only small bit of beach is where the rental water equipment docks. You won't be playing in the Gulf water at this property. 2.The fitness center is very small and usually busy 3.In high season there is pressure on pool chairs and the hotel says you can only hold chairs for thirty minutes. If you believe that you'll have trouble with getting a chair you want. Towels and books appear on prime chairs early and stay there.

We wanted reliable sun, nice accomodations, and good food and got it. If you want a beach don't go to Key West.

Room Tip: Gulf view rooms are worth the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel

Address: 3841 North Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel is a seven-acre waterfront property with lush tropical gardens, magnificent waterfront swimming pool and a wide variety of unique dining experiences. It is a blend of island ambiance and contemporary elegance, set on the southernmost point of one of the world's most storied travel destinations.129 one, two and three bedroom suites plus 93 king standard rooms. Each suite has a gourmet kitchen with sub zero refrigerator freezer, living room, dinning room, spa tub in master bathroom, marble floors, balcony and washer dryer with resort or water views. The standard rooms are much smaller with one king bed and view of an open walkway.Our man made beach is for tanning with limited water access, we do have a water sports concession on property on the beach and a fishing pier.Our new WIFI service is complimentary through out the hotel including rooms and the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Key West
Marriott Beachside Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.