We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel - Great Rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel to your Saves list
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3841 North Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Key West
Orlando
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel - Great Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

The hotel itself is quite nice. The rooms are very well done and clean. My only complaint would be that the location is only so so. You can't walk to anything from this location - either cab or your own car. There is a hotel shuttle, but that was not real convenient for me. Overall a good experience. The hotel restaurant is top notch.

Room Tip: The ocean view are the best. Get the A side of the lock-off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyBoeckman, Manager at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are located about 4 miles from all the "action". Some guests prefer this as they are not disturbed with all of the noise from Duval Street. Others prefer the convenience of walking to all the hustle and bustle. We hope you stay with us on your next visit to Key West!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,033
    433
    171
    82
    51
See reviews for
335
931
38
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater, Virginia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We shared a 2-bedroom suite with another couple. All rooms were spacious. The suite had a full kitchen, which would be nice for a full vacation. The bed is one of the most comfortable I've slept on. Bath was great - double sinks, separate whirlpool tub and shower allows everyone to get ready at the same time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyBoeckman, Manager at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Thank you for your review. We hope you stay with us on your next visit to Key West!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We just spent two days in the Keys at Mariott Beachside. We had a Presidential suite. The main room was fine as well as the bath room. The second room was much smaller altough allright. But the second batromm was rather small. The room service was not good at all. We had to call two or three times to get a bottle of water! The swimming pool is far too small compared with the number of rooms. And the beach is just a joke. Tiny piece of sand - smelling, noisy ( just on the side of the main road) and for sure I wouldn't have a swim in this water.
After we left I discovered that I had left a few clothes in the drawer of my room. I immediately called the hotel - which put me through with the lost &found. Guess? Nobody had found anything ... I insisted and asked them to check again but they kept saying they hadn't found anything . Everything has disapeared.
I am really disappointed ... Marriott ? May be not tomorrow.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyBoeckman, Manager at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Thank you for your review. We do try to make it very clear on our website and all others that our beach is only a sunbathing beach. It is 100 feet long actually and sits on a seawall. We do hope you have contacted the hotel directly and have spoken to a Manager or someone that could address the problems that occurred while you were here and after you left. We pride ourselves on a great property and service, however are realistic in knowing that to achieve this takes constant attention and training. Both our good comments and our poor comments are appreciated and help us improve our four star hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

A week in May provided an excellent site for the Coconut Castaways to team with local members to raise money for kids with cancer. The hotel was welcoming and gracious, with suggestions for activities, dining and nearby events.
The Marriott family of properties is one on which I can count for a predictably superior level of comfort. The Beachside was no exception.

Room Tip: If a small or large group, consider the suites. More room, great views and affordable for two couple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyBoeckman, Manager at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Thank you for your review. We hope you stay with us on your next visit to Key West!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPB
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We had a problem at check-in but Robert (Manager) did a great job accomidating us and I would highly recommend his hotel and I will be back to visit soon. This is a beautiful hotel with GREAT ROOMS and a FANTASTIC restruant. I travel all the time as I am a Platinum Marriott rewards member. They also are one of the few level 7 hotels that do happy hour at the Pool Side Bar. Cant wait to go back!! Thanks again Robert and staff.

Room Tip: Get a suit they are huge and top of the line. Other rooms are very nice but small
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyBoeckman, Manager at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Thank you for your review. We hope you stay with us on your next visit to Key West!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, CT
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

So we were debating between Key West and Puerto RIco and decided on Key West. The Marriott Beachside is a nice hotel (my wife is VERY picky). the 1 bedroom suite we were in was great. sub-zero kitchen appliances, marble countertops, plenty of space, pull out couch for the kids. Lovely lovely room. The pool is nice and we had several fun days at the pool. WEnt to the hotel restrauant (Tavern 'n Town) for breakfast and it was great (although it was $63 + tip for 3 orders of pancakes and 1 omlette!!). The staff is nice and helpful.

However, the hotel is on the other end of the island from most of the action or activities. It is a small island and they do have a shuttle (although in my opinion it wasn't convenient). The road to/from Duval Street is always backed up and slow. Parking is a bit of a hassle downtown.

Overall I am a little bit disappointed with Key West. Not such a nice island and not "built up" well. Upscale amenities are lacking. There is a good amount of fine dining here and the watersports (fishing, sailing, parasailing, etc) are a big thing here. But beaches are definately lacking here. The Marriott Beachside is somewhat comical in that the beach can't be more than 20 yards wide and you cant go in the water here. The "big" beaches on the island also arent very "big" and they dont compare to some of the more well known beaches in the caribbean. also, key west is very pricey for dinning. I can't help but feel that Key West was not the best choice of summer vacation spots and that I should have gone to puerto rico instead.

Room Tip: casa marina and marriott beachside seem to be the only real choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyBoeckman, Manager at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed our hotel. Key West is not the ideal location for everyone as all travelers have different needs on vacation. We are acutally surrounded by one of the largest reefs in the world which is why there are no natural beaches (no waves). If you ever do return to Key West, we hope you choose to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

On arriving I went to check in to be told your room is over there and handed a map so no bag handlers to be seen. After walking around trying to find the room which from the outside looked like an old apartment block instead of the president suite as it was sold to me. Inside its an apartment with full kitchen etc there again not a suite as I would call it, but i must say the room was clean. The pool looked small and old with pool side menu the usual crap but drinks etc over priced. They charge you for everything including 17.50 for parking your car but there is a free shuttle and there again do not be shocked if it does not pick you up for your return journey $20 in a cab from the action. The guys at the jet ski hire on the beach are cool they work hard. would I stay there again a big NO! My back ground very well traveled guy been all around the world a few times. Marriott card holder, 48 years old with 35 year old girlfriend. Sorry forgot to mention the air force jets that make a nice noise buzzing over your heads while trying to relax by the pool.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyBoeckman, Manager at Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are truly sorry that your stay with us was not an acceptable one. We do hope you have contacted the hotel directly and have spoken to a Manager or someone that could address the problems that occurred while you were here. We pride ourselves on a great property and service, however are realistic in knowing that to achieve this takes constant attention and training. Both our good comments and our poor comments are appreciated and help us improve our four star hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel

Address: 3841 North Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel is a seven-acre waterfront property with lush tropical gardens, magnificent waterfront swimming pool and a wide variety of unique dining experiences. It is a blend of island ambiance and contemporary elegance, set on the southernmost point of one of the world's most storied travel destinations.129 one, two and three bedroom suites plus 93 king standard rooms. Each suite has a gourmet kitchen with sub zero refrigerator freezer, living room, dinning room, spa tub in master bathroom, marble floors, balcony and washer dryer with resort or water views. The standard rooms are much smaller with one king bed and view of an open walkway.Our man made beach is for tanning with limited water access, we do have a water sports concession on property on the beach and a fishing pier.Our new WIFI service is complimentary through out the hotel including rooms and the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Key West
Marriott Beachside Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.