We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GRACIOUS STAFF AND DELICIOUS FOOD” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Martin's

Martin's
917 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040-7407
+1 305-295-0111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Martin's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #124 of 367 Restaurants in Key West
Price range: $15 - $48
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: no Public Transit Stops
Description: Martin's surprises the guest with a classic and tropical mix. As soon as one arrives, one feels surrounded by European sophistication with a touch of the playfulness of the tropics-just like our menu. All sections-formal dining area, lounge and garden are flexible as are our menus from formal classic European cuisine to informal/ tropically inspired tapas, appetizers and desserts. In addition to a full complement of imported champagnes and imported and USA wines, the bar provides a complete range of tropical and classic cocktails. The clarity and quality of style that surrounds you in Martin's reflects the menu's flexibility and quality from a Martini to a weekend brunch to a formal dinner to a banquet or evening of dancing in a chic, cosmopolitan setting. As soon as one arrives in Martin's, one feels surrounded by European sophistication with a touch of the playfulness of the tropics-just like our menu!
winnipeg canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“GRACIOUS STAFF AND DELICIOUS FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

strolling down Duval in search of a seafood soup we were invited to check out their menu by the lovely hostess who suggested the lobster bisque and various other menu items to whet our appetite....we were not disappointed on any level, enjoying the dinner, the ambiance and the gracious staff...many thanks to them for our romantic evening

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    96
    40
    19
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had not planned to eat at this restaurant – but there was a lady outside enticing us in! We were only looking for a small dinner since we had eaten a large lunch. The menu showed “tapas” which we thought would be sufficient for us. We were advised that “tapas” in this case meant smaller versions of items from the main menu.
Good enough for us. We went inside and were shown to a table in a room to the side of the main restaurant. We were served with water and menus and then we waited and waited… Eventually I approached the lady who had enticed us in and asked if someone would take our order. The lady who took our order did not appear to be a regular member of the waiting staff but she took our order.
The food arrived – initially we had order pork skewers and a mushroom dish which we decided to share. The mushrooms were delicious as was the pork until I cut into a larger piece of pork which was not cooked.
We called the waitress who looked at the pork and seemed surprised that we had complained suggesting that this had never happened before. She apologised and said it would be removed from the bill. The second part of our order was very good. We thought that the pork and mushrooms would be re-presented but they were not!
We were very surprised that we were not offered a coffee or pudding as recompense for our bad experience.
Regret we did not leave a tip!
The general feeling we had, after speaking to some local people, this restaurant had formerly been in a different place and much smaller. It seems that they cannot yet cope with larger premises.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndhurst, New Jersey
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The atmosphere here is rather elegant, though no special attire is required. After the waiter described the lobster as already being partially removed from the shell, my partner and I decided to indulge in the surf and turf. The locally caught lobster was very good and the filet mignon with a blue cheese sauce was very good. They had a very nice wine selection and my partner got a free glass of champagne using the coupon available near the door. The waiter and hostess were both very helpful and nice. I was surprised to find the gratuity was already included in the bill since it was only two of us, but since the service was so good it didn't bother me.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Overpriced!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This was by far the most expensive restuarant we visited during a 2 week trip to Florida but it was certainly not the best for food. I can not complain about the service but to automaticaaly add 18% service is not acceptable. Even more annoyingly I paid it - something I would never have done in the UK.
Don't bother to go!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Quite spot on Duval”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Great spot on Duval with a great menu and wine selection. We had terrific meals, my wife enjoyed the shrimp in pastry and I Wiener Schnitzel (best I've had this side of Munich). Our server Denis was excellent, gave us great recommendations for dinner and spots around town.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martin's also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Martin's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martin's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.